HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 28, 2008, 02:32 PM
USA, Eastern Ohio
Joined Jan 2005
975 Posts
Discussion
Trex450 and Multiplex Royal Evo 9 setup Q's

Is anyone flying their Trex on a Royal Evo 9? What sort of pitch curves are you using? I keep seeing 5 point curves but this thing has 6 and it's giving me fits!!!

Any other setup tips? I'm pretty new to helis and not too sure about what I'm doing to setup this radio. I don't have any problems with gliders and planks.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Tag1260 is offline Find More Posts by Tag1260
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 07, 2008, 03:55 PM
Joined Oct 2008
2 Posts
hi Tag.
I just set up a micro heli on my royal evo9. Getting a heli set up is very different from a soarer or plank.
I wasted about 10 hours by missing steps out of the programming process. In the end I started again after reading the Multiplex manual sections one word at a time - and then, following the steps deliberately very, very slowly to ensure I didn't deviate or miss anything out, I had the basics programmed in about 30 minutes!
Some tips I came across:
First, select e-ccpm as your swashplate type, not mechanical swash. Then...
1. if your aileron channels are reversed, DON'T try to reverse the servos. Instead, swap the two channels the servos use. If you try to reverse any of the servos you'll muddle the controls and end up thinking your mode2 setup is more like mode 3. The whole swash will completely go out of sync.
2. if your pitch servo is at the rear of the swash, set your swash setting to minus 120 degrees (royal evo default is plus 120 deg. This should avoid the problems with 1, above.
3. The swash setup on mine was massively over-driving the servos and they were stalling at about 30% stick movement. I cut my swash max throws down to about 40% of full available mechanical throw. Check the model's instructions and set to its recommended throws to get you the blade pitch angles (and buy a pitch gauge - most useful).