HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 17, 2003, 08:41 PM
Profiled Interfractionalist
William A's Avatar
Tacoma,WA USA
Joined Jun 2001
3,962 Posts
RC-CAM, sorry to keep bothering you, but I'm about to hit the submit order button (2 sets), hows it look ?
William A is offline Find More Posts by William A
Last edited by William A; Mar 03, 2014 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 17, 2003, 09:21 PM
Registered User
Mr.RC-CAM's Avatar
USA
Joined Oct 2001
5,181 Posts
Looks fine to me. But, you might want to ask Yb2Normal if he recommends different caps for his rig.

RC-CAM
Mr.RC-CAM is offline Find More Posts by Mr.RC-CAM
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2003, 12:12 AM
Frequent User
yb2normal's Avatar
Broomfield, CO, USA
Joined Jan 2001
1,172 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr.RC-CAM
Looks fine to me. But, you might want to ask Yb2Normal if he recommends different caps for his rig.
As the guy who originally proposed the PT5041N for our wireless video purposes, and as an owner of one (or more?) of the 100mw transmitters, I suspect that your advice is as good as gold

William, I just used the capacitors recommended on the app notes for the PT5041, although as you can see from the pictures on my website, I used tantalum caps for the two capacitors that bridge input-ground-output:

http://www.yb2normal.com/Spiderback.html

I definitely recommend mounting it directly on the back of the tx. Mounting it remotely as suggested in the rccam3 project invites possible noise issues in your video. Be sure to lift the outer two pins of the PT5041 so they don't short against the case.

If you are interested, I have built and tested converter boards that I can offer you. All the components are stuffed on a custom PCB board, and all you have to do is solder down all the external connections to the convenient pads on the board. Email or PM me if interested.

Bill
yb2normal is offline Find More Posts by yb2normal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2003, 12:38 AM
Flying Free
erashby's Avatar
Utah
Joined Aug 2001
1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by yb2normal
In terms of 5v CCD cameras, I have the Panasonic CX161. This is the camera I use for all my videos.
Bill
The CCD camera that came with the RTF 5omW system was the CX161 running at 5 volts, right? If not the Panasonic CX161, then what brand & model and what operating voltage, or voltage range?

Are the new RTF systems going to have a 5volt CCD camera, too? Or a dc-dc converter?

What is needed to plug the TX/camera into a spare Radio Rx channel for power? How much more interference does one get?

How would my old 50mW Tx/camera run off of C123 3V lithium camera bateries? Would it run on 3 volts or would I need two cells for 6volts? Is 6 Volts going to damage it?

Sorry, for the many questions.
erashby is offline Find More Posts by erashby
Last edited by erashby; Jun 18, 2003 at 12:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2003, 10:00 AM
Frequent User
yb2normal's Avatar
Broomfield, CO, USA
Joined Jan 2001
1,172 Posts
Quote:
The CCD camera that came with the RTF 5omW system was the CX161 running at 5 volts, right?
Correct.
Quote:

Are the new RTF systems going to have a 5volt CCD camera, too? Or a dc-dc converter?
The new systems will continue to use the CX161 camera. The core transmitter is 5v and will therefore not require a dc-dc converter.
Quote:
What is needed to plug the TX/camera into a spare Radio Rx channel for power? How much more interference does one get??
I do not recommend plugging into the RC receiver.
Quote:
How would my old 50mW Tx/camera run off of C123 3V lithium camera bateries? Would it run on 3 volts or would I need two cells for 6volts? Is 6 Volts going to damage it?
2 lithium camera batteries would work great. Input range of the old 50mw system is 5v to 10v.
Quote:
Sorry, for the many questions.
Don't appologize for trying to be an informed consumer.
yb2normal is offline Find More Posts by yb2normal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2003, 10:16 AM
Profiled Interfractionalist
William A's Avatar
Tacoma,WA USA
Joined Jun 2001
3,962 Posts
Thanks for the offer Bill, but I'm going to see how much damage I can do on my own. Looks simple enough.
If it don't work out, I'll drop you a line. (I still need to order that camera)
William A is offline Find More Posts by William A
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2003, 10:24 AM
Profiled Interfractionalist
William A's Avatar
Tacoma,WA USA
Joined Jun 2001
3,962 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr.RC-CAM
different caps for his rig.
What would different caps do ?
Just filters aren't they ? sucking up voltage spikes and such ?
William A is offline Find More Posts by William A
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2003, 11:22 AM
Registered User
Mr.RC-CAM's Avatar
USA
Joined Oct 2001
5,181 Posts
Quote:
What would different caps do?
High frequency applications require carefully selected caps. Low ESR is manditory. Most caps become ineffective filter components after about 100 Khz. Construction methods matter too. All in all, the type of cap and how they are installed really dictates how successful the results will be.

The switcher operates at 500KHz and the RF Tx is 2400Mhz. With RF designs, EVERYTHING matters. I've been known to say that over and over again.

Mr. RC-CAM
Mr.RC-CAM is offline Find More Posts by Mr.RC-CAM
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2003, 09:51 PM
Profiled Interfractionalist
William A's Avatar
Tacoma,WA USA
Joined Jun 2001
3,962 Posts
Got my Digikey order today. Just to assure myself before I pull out the solder.
I'm assuming pic 'A' corresponds with pic '1' for pinout ?
William A is offline Find More Posts by William A
Last edited by William A; Mar 03, 2014 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2003, 10:16 PM
Registered User
rtideas's Avatar
wyoming, mi usa
Joined Dec 2000
1,449 Posts
Yup. Thats the way I wired mine.

rt
rtideas is offline Find More Posts by rtideas
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2003, 10:52 PM
Profiled Interfractionalist
William A's Avatar
Tacoma,WA USA
Joined Jun 2001
3,962 Posts
Thanks.

One more, the 100UF cap, which side is positive ?
(I'm used to the positive side being 'tagged')
William A is offline Find More Posts by William A
Last edited by William A; Mar 03, 2014 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2003, 11:57 PM
Flying Free
erashby's Avatar
Utah
Joined Aug 2001
1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by yb2normal

Don't appologize for trying to be an informed consumer.
Trying to be even better informed=more questions.

The new/lighter 50mW Tx that you will soon have needs a different Rx than the old 50mW system. Does the new 200mW system use a different RX also, or can it use the Rx that came with the old 50mW system.

What are the weights of the following Tx's with and without antennae:
1) old 50mW Tx
2) new (soon to arrive) 50mW Tx (Needs new Rx.)
3) old 100mW Tx
4) new (soon to arrive) 100mW Tx (Needs new Rx.)
5) new 200mW Tx is 12.5gm without and 25gm with antenna.

Which of these can use my old system Rx?

I'm trying to decide whether to sell my old 50mW system and buy one of the new systems, or just by the Tx of the new system(s).

Darn this aerial video stuff is fun and addicting. But not fattening, illegal (lic # KD7 UTZ), or immoral.
erashby is offline Find More Posts by erashby
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2003, 02:34 PM
Propellers are cool.
propfan's Avatar
Toronto
Joined Jan 2003
119 Posts
William A - the gold stripe marks the negative pin (that's a slightly funny looking minus sign in the middle).
propfan is offline Find More Posts by propfan
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2003, 06:53 PM
Frequent User
yb2normal's Avatar
Broomfield, CO, USA
Joined Jan 2001
1,172 Posts
Ok, here we go...

Quote:
The new/lighter 50mW Tx that you will soon have needs a different Rx than the old 50mW system.
Correct.
Quote:
Does the new 200mW system use a different RX also, or can it use the Rx that came with the old 50mW system..
Think of it this way: my new 'series' of transmitters will all work with the same receiver. They are incompatible with my 'old' equipment. So my new 50mw, 200mw, and 600mw tx will use the same receiver. My 'old' 50mw,100mw, 1w and 3w transmitters use the 'old' receiver.
Quote:
What are the weights of the following Tx's with and without antennae:.
I've used a digital postal scale to get these readings:
1) old 50mW Tx
0.4 ounces
2) new (soon to arrive) 50mW Tx (Needs new Rx.)
0.2 ounces
3) old 100mW Tx
didn't have one laying around to weigh
4) new (soon to arrive) 100mW Tx (Needs new Rx.)
new 100mw is the exact same unit as the old 100mw=old RX
5) new 200mW Tx is 12.5gm without and 25gm with antenna.
0.4 ounces without antenna 0.8 ounces with the antenna
Quote:
Which of these can use my old system Rx?.
The 100mw transmitter, and all of my 1w and 3w transmitters.
yb2normal is offline Find More Posts by yb2normal
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2003, 08:38 PM
Flying Free
erashby's Avatar
Utah
Joined Aug 2001
1,938 Posts
Thanks for the info.

Looks like a new 200mW Tx and 50mW Tx and new Rx are in my future. Lighter and higher and further...

Guess I'll be selling my current 50mW system to defer the cost.
Anyone interested? I'll post in the for sale area.
erashby is offline Find More Posts by erashby
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Black Widow sells Video Glasses gtxkid Aerial Photography 8 Dec 27, 2006 08:44 PM
Off Site Black Widow wireless equipment, ECt rays89 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Aug 05, 2005 11:09 AM
Sold FS Black Widow Wireless AV system. airmcn_3 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Jun 06, 2005 05:28 PM
Black Widow BWAV200 - How good of a system? RUNVOUS Aerial Photography 2 Nov 20, 2003 01:58 PM
Wireless video from black widow jimbarstow Electric Plane Talk 4 Jul 17, 2002 09:52 PM