HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 10, 2008, 02:00 PM
Sleaford
Joined Sep 2007
4 Posts
Question
How to connect elevators and ailerons to servos

Hi all, hope somebody can give me some guidance on this. I am mid way through building the 'crash e' which came as a free plan in one of the mags. This is my first build from balsa and I cant work out the best way to mount the servos-either in the fuselage or wings. Do I need a servo for each aileron or just one? How do I connect the servos to the ailerons and elevators-theres so much stuff on the market I dont know what to get. Also how do I seal the gaps in the ailerons? I will be using a small brushless outrunner and will be using solarfilm to cover it-once Ive found out how to use it. Any help will be much appreciated, thanks
ricky41 is offline Find More Posts by ricky41
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 10, 2008, 02:38 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,764 Posts
Crash-E, RC Model World Oct 08

I hope you can already fly RC and fly quite well, as that is not a beginners/trainer model.

The plan shows two aileron servos, (installed in a pretty awful way). You could install just one and either run snakes or bell cranks and push rods.

The elevator again could be a snake or a push rod.

Trying to build from a plan as your first balsa build is a tricky way to go.
Often free plan designers assume the builder is already experienced so they tend to leave some of the assembly open to the builders ideas.

Unless you have a local model shop where you can go and get bits and pieces, (and advice), you are really going to struggle to get individual bits and pieces.

Sorry to put you off, but if you really want to build a balsa RC model you would be better off to buy a kit that includes all the bits and pieces. All you would have to add would be the RC, motor, ESC, prop, and probably the covering.