HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 07, 2011, 03:02 AM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
throttlejunkie

the new chassis is extremely stable. i havent had any crashes yet that arent caused by.
small stones/sticks
temporary crashbar design(will be much improved on the next version)
my own lack of ability
my own stupidity

what motor are you running ?
i have a 10250kv on its way.
the 8750kv is ok... but the new chassis can easily cope with more power.

the wobble could be induced by the leaning rider. a small shake could be getting out of control when the rider starts flopping around on top.

try dampening the movement of his arms and legs.
do you still have the weights added to the rider, maybe try without them.


cheers
a
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 07, 2011, 03:04 AM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roofas View Post
Is it a FASST RX Ado ?

pete

yes it is.
r603fs... the big ugly things they are.
... but they do work well
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 03:11 AM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Ado,

Im running the 8750kv am about to order the 10250kv for my honda & your chassis, does that place you are getting yours from have a web site i will get them from there as well.
I have taken the weights out of the rider, & i have now noticed my rear tyre had come unstuck maybe that was causing it as well.

Cheers.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 03:14 AM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
toad rc used to have a website.

but i cant find it anymore. i think he only does evilbay now.
i ordered mine friday night melbourne time.
got the tracking number saturday afternoon

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 03:20 AM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by e_lm_70 View Post
Very nice

But .. maybe too much power

Guess stock motor with 2S lipo is enough.

I would need to copy your "bars" ... stock crash bars are terrible ...

Tchuss

e_lm_70
You can never have too much power

For my bars i used the clear tube off a pull start cord i had laying around, i think its polyurethane but i am having trouble finding more, does anyone know where i can get some from.

Cheers.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 06:01 AM
Me Likee Motorbikee
Lukey B's Avatar
Melbourne Australia
Joined Nov 2009
1,140 Posts
Give us some measurements on your scratch bars... O.D. Tube or bar..? I have to grab some polycarbonate to have a crack at the new fairings, and the same mob has a heap of different stuff... So let me know, and I'll ask the question...

I also just bought me a new esc an motor... Went for the big banger kv... $52 bucks shipped... From toadsrc...
Lukey B is offline Find More Posts by Lukey B
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 06:58 AM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukey B View Post
Give us some measurements on your scratch bars... O.D. Tube or bar..? I have to grab some polycarbonate to have a crack at the new fairings, and the same mob has a heap of different stuff... So let me know, and I'll ask the question...

I also just bought me a new esc an motor... Went for the big banger kv... $52 bucks shipped... From toadsrc...
Hi Luke, the tube im after is 5mm O.D x 2mm I.D it seems to work good it has a little bit of flex but also you can heat it to bend them up & it stays in that shape, i have been looking at using 5mm nylon bolts or screws, or even the 5mm nylon rod, do you know if you can tap a thread in the nylon rod as i would need a way to fix it to the fairing.

Awesome i have been wanting to get the 10250kv for my honda how do you go about getting them from toadsrc if they dont have a web site, that's a good price im after 3 of them.

Cheers m8.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 07:20 AM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
chris(throttlejunkie)

he runs an ebay store
http://stores.ebay.com.au/TOADZ-RC?_rdc=1

i have just ordered a new set of shocks for the 1/12
http://www.thetoyz.com/cart/thetoyz_...RO%204WD%20SCT

these should take the tiny bit of play out of the mounting screws. and they come as a pair, not a set of 4 like the stock losi ones.(cost about the same as 4 stock ones though)

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 07:35 AM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Thanks for that Ado , i will go order them now.
Yeah those shocks look good do you think i should get a set myself or wait to you try them first m8.

Cheers.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 07:48 AM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
the stock shocks are working great.
i am running 25w oil at the moment. seems ok, might try a little heavier.

it gets a little unstable under brakes. the losi esc isnt smooth in the braking area
i have the brake EPA set at 12, otherwise it just lock the wheel.
the heavier oil will hopefully settle the rear a little more with brake applications.
and it does skip the rear a little when pushed hard out of corners.

have revised the temporary crashbars. will test them tomorrow if it stops raining
have gone for carbon rod, with a nylon tip(will fit a roller if i get a chance). mounted out of the lower of the top shock mount holes(unused, the highest is the best).

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 08:08 AM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Yeah the brakes are not very smooth at all especially on my cheap 2.4ghz i don't have any EPA , i try to just touch the brake & let off straight away it seems so touchy.

Carbon rod mmm yummy.

Cheers.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 07, 2011, 04:59 PM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
sounds like you might need to upgrade your radio gear throttle junkie
EPA and EXP are the two functions i use the most on mine.

the carbon looks odd, after seeing so many bikes with nylon.
it is only 1mm rod i am trying to start with, so it should flex, hopefully preventing it catching on the bitumen as much. and very easy to replace if damaged

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2011, 12:23 AM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Yeah m8 i will probably upgrade to the spektrum transmitter as i am using the spektrum micro receiver anyway.
You will have to show us some pics of your bars when finished m8.

Cheers m8.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2011, 01:34 AM
Registered User
ado1974's Avatar
melbourne, australia
Joined Jun 2009
902 Posts
tried the bars out today after work.
the carbon was really nice to ride with on what was a very wet surface.

good feel in the corners, didnt seem to catch much, even with a small nylon tip.
but they did break relatively quickly, the carbon rod splintered and tore the ends off. pitty, was looking and handling good.

was even starting to get some powerslides hapening

definitely needs heavier oil in the shocks, it would kick violently and highside when i hit a slippery patch mid turn with throttle on.

looks like the chassis sent to throttlejunkie is MIAaustral iapost
disappointing... i was looking forward to some feedback.

guess i will have to wait for it to turn up, or will send the next version when it arrives(havent finished drawing it yet)

cheers
a
ado1974 is offline Find More Posts by ado1974
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 08, 2011, 07:47 PM
If u aint 1st your last
Throttlejunkie's Avatar
Sydney, Australia
Joined Mar 2010
1,813 Posts
Ado, my gpm supplier dosnt have the sct shocks in stock but he has these ones for the micro t, the fronts are 28mm long & the rears are 31mm they come in blue, red & silver you think they would be any good.

Cheers m8.
Throttlejunkie is offline Find More Posts by Throttlejunkie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/3 scale Tyco r/c motorcycle! Kmot Motorcycles 158 Dec 05, 2005 07:31 PM
Am I the Only 1/8th R/C Driver? NitroEvolution Large Scale Cars 17 Mar 17, 2005 05:33 AM
Cheap 25mph R/C motorcycle Setup! sithos Cars - Cars and Parts (FS/W) 2 Dec 04, 2003 07:19 AM
Installing brushless on normal 1:10 R/C car. Any experience? risto Electric Power Cars 3 Mar 20, 2002 11:45 AM
Sceince for kids, sub 1 oz R/C planes aeronutz Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 3 Dec 17, 2001 04:23 PM