Old Sep 24, 2008, 01:54 PM
Castle's Chaos Corner
Olathe, KS (next to the Castle)
Joined Jun 2001
1,649 Posts
Discussion
Ian Asked: brushed with reverse vs. high power brushed

Dear Bernie,
While we are on the subject, can you tell me what exactly the difference is between brushed with revers v.s high power brushed? I know the motors are connected to the ESC differently but does the high power brushed give more power to the motor? In the manual it does not say. Other than reverse, why would you use one over the other?
btw I have my mamba monster setup with brushed with reverse even though I am not using reverse (option 1 proportional forward brake w/o reverse) should I use a high power brushed then>
Your help is gratefully appreciated.
ian

Answer:

There is a persistent myth that a speed controller somehow affects the power a motor can put out rather than its real function of just controlling the motor’s speed. The motor draws current from the battery and the battery determines how much power the motor has. The only specification in an ESC that affects how much power a motor gets from the battery is the ESCS internal resistance. The lower the resistance the more power the motor can get from the batteries. A higher amp rated ESC will not allow the motor to get more battery power. A lower resistance ESC will. There is a second function the ESC performs that relates only to three phase brushless motors. This is how well the ESC runs the motor. There is a wide variance on how well and ESC runs a brushless motor, but this has no affect on brushed motors.