HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 24, 2012, 10:37 PM
Registered User
mentony32's Avatar
Australia
Joined Jun 2010
224 Posts
Hotdog,

I have a ZII with the ET setup and it returns to home no problem. Your ZII looks like its on the edge of stalling on RTH. Is it fairly stable in a glide (motor off), because it needs to be when RTH is activated above the cruise altitude window ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog1 View Post
well I finally have all my video issues worked out and now I am trying to get the RTH working below is a short video of what happens when I engage RTH The plane is a Ritewing ZII

Any input would be greatly appretiated

Thanks !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KfEuL...ature=youtu.be
mentony32 is offline Find More Posts by mentony32
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 25, 2012, 06:45 AM
Registered User
pavn's Avatar
Czech Republic, Olomouc
Joined Sep 2010
572 Posts
Do not want to offend you here. But I asked here a lot of questions which helped me with the decision probably the most suitable for me.
(Not necessary for every one, just my opinion.)

It took me long time to decide what I will buy or select to have fully working easily extendable autopilot and OSD and stabilization solution with regular firmware updates and new features. But I think I will do good decision.

I am the most probably going to select some open source auto pilot, OSD and stabilization fully working UAV solution, instead of EagleTree OSD PRO or Dragon OSD.

Thinking about ArduPilot 2.5 mega with MinimOSD.
pavn is offline Find More Posts by pavn
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:11 AM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentony32 View Post
Hotdog,

I have a ZII with the ET setup and it returns to home no problem. Your ZII looks like its on the edge of stalling on RTH. Is it fairly stable in a glide (motor off), because it needs to be when RTH is activated above the cruise altitude window ?

Yes it is trimmed out and the cg is spot on. It glides pretty good
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:31 AM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
Holy Crap hotdog; are you running a guardian?


Also:

it will help if you post your config file.
Yes I am running a guardian

Quote:
Originally Posted by kstmark View Post
It seems that you have too much turn propotional gain. Post your configuration file or post your settings.

here is my settings

" OnscreenSetupVersion="2
" PermitRTHLowAlt="0
" FirstFeatureOffset="15800
" NumberOfFeatures="71
" PageSwitchInterval="0
" DisplayMax="0
" NumSatsForInit="0
" Require3DFix="1
" MinHDOPx10="99
" IntervalAfterGPSFix="0
" Flags="2
" ProStringsOffset="9470
" ShortStringsOffset="8870
" MenuDataOffset="5494
" ElevonCenterMicroseconds="1500
" TotalMAHCapacity="8000
" ProFlags="2
" SerialType="0
" CheckValid="3
" ZeroCurrents="2043,0,0
" ADPCMOffset="19851
" WordInfoArrayOffset="5062
" ADPCMVersion="6
" VoiceIsMuted="0
" VoiceVolume="2
" ExternalIsMuted="1
" ExternalVolume="1
" VarioIsMuted="1
" VarioVolume="1
" ShowAirspeedLadder="1
" ShowAltitudeLadder="1
" ShowCompass="63
" ShowBatteryGraphA="63
" ShowRADAR="63
" XOffset="50
" YOffset="30
" XSize="0
" SamplesPerSecond="10
" SafetyWizRun="1
" LatLonDisplay="4
" RadarUpDegrees="0
" RADARRange="5000
" InterventionMode="2
" FailsafeType="1
" RXType="1
" FlightSim="0
" RTHTestMode="0
" RTHMaxSpeed="0
" UsePitotForRTHSpeed="0
" MaxRTHDeltaAlt="25
" RTHAltitudeGain="0
" UseBaroForRTHAlt="1
" RTHAltitude="150
" ThrottleFailsafe="2012
" RTHThrottleCruise="3025
" RTHThrottleClimb="3611
" RTHThrottleDescend="2559
" AileronFailsafe="3071
" RTHAileronCruise="3072
" RTHAileronLeft="2719
" RTHElevatorLeft="2864
" ElevatorFailsafe="2865
" RTHElevatorUp="3209
" RTHElevatorCruise="2864
" RTHTurnIntegralGain="50
" RTHTurnDerivativeGain="50
" RTHTurnProportionalLimit="40
" RTHTurnProportionalGain="60
" RTHPitchProportionalGain="75
" RTHPitchDerivativeGain="75
" WhiteLevel="7
" BlackLevel="4
" ShowWaypoints="0
" MainDisplayOn="1
" IsOldCopilot="0
" ShowDeflections="0
" ServoPulseWidth="44857
" JumpToExit="1
" ShowAHI="1
" Stabilize="1
" AHIWizRun="0
" AHILevelPitch="171
" AHIForwardPitch="65535
" AHIBackwardPitch="0
" AHILevelRoll="65508
" AHILeftRoll="0
" AHIRightRoll="0
" FDRPitchOffset="22
" FDRRollOffset="20
" DistanceAsLOS="0
" NarrowScreen="0
" OSDConfigSize="130215
" Lat="0,0,0
" Lon="0,0,0
" OnOffWithSelect="0
" ShowCrosshairs="63
" SendTelemetry="1
" AltitudeUnits="1
" SpeedUnits="1
" DistanceUnits="1
" UseTemp1ForRSSI="1
" ModelControlType="1
" RTHAileronUp="3047
" VarioOffAmps="0
" DisableInverse="0
" RSSIOn="3656
" RSSIOff="3656
" AverageTicks="5,10,30,5,5,5,0,5,5,0,0,0
" EEConfig="1,0,114,0,5,1,3,3,0,127
" UseTempForVolt="0,0
" VoltMinX10="100,100
" VoltMaxX10="111,111
" ShowBatteryGraph="0,0
" PanZeroFieldAngle="285
" PanCCWAngle="123
" PanCWAngle="219
" PresentPanCal="1
" PanAnglePWM="932,968,1002,891,858,837,1017,945,909
" TiltLowAngle="0
" TiltHighAngle="90
" TiltLowestPWM="849
" TiltHighestPWM="321
" ForcedPanAngle="0
" ForcedTiltAngle="0
" ForcePanTiltAngles="0
" PanTestPosition="0
" TiltTestPosition="0
" MinPanTiltRadius="239
" ShowFlightTimer="1
" ButtonMode="1
" PitchGainStab="5
" RollGainStab="5
" OverallGainStab="8
" PitchMaxNormalStab="50
" RollMaxNormalStab="50
" PitchMaxSafetyStab="40
" RollMaxSafetyStab="40
" ProportionalStab="0
" DerivativeStab="0
" StabResponsiveness="7
" RTHMinGPSSpeed="0
" HomeRTHAltMode="0
" RTHHomeAltitude="150
" HomeAltRadius="400
" TurnGainStab="5
" StabilizeCenterOnly="0
" CenterStickTolerance="7
" HeadingHold="0
"/>
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 11:38 AM
Kostas
kstmark's Avatar
Greece
Joined Sep 2008
232 Posts
Wings stalls easily so you must have a RTHMinGPSpeed >40. It is possible that it didn't have enough speed during turn. If this one do not solve your problem then decrease RTHPitchProportionalGain to 60 and RTHPitchDerivativeGain to 60
kstmark is offline Find More Posts by kstmark
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 12:07 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
249 Posts
Thanks for taking the time to view clips, made them to long i know.
Just a couple of things that i have noticed?It seems to over shoot home position sometimes, (turn past home position) especially when rth is engauged when you are out quite a ways. Didn't know if that was norm? I have noticed at times plane will make turn toward home and will fly a circle say when it is still out 1400 ft or so and then continue on towards home. I don't think that part was shown in clips. At least it is coming home
Thanks for your help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
I watched half of your video, and it looks like it is performing nicely.

Is there any behavior that you don't like, or are you happy?
mikenc is offline Find More Posts by mikenc
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 01:17 PM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstmark View Post
Wings stalls easily so you must have a RTHMinGPSpeed >40. It is possible that it didn't have enough speed during turn. If this one do not solve your problem then decrease RTHPitchProportionalGain to 60 and RTHPitchDerivativeGain to 60
Ok I changed my Minimum ground speed setting from zero "that is Disable" to 40 and I will test fly it later

Thanks hopefully that does the trick
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Last edited by hotdog1; Oct 25, 2012 at 01:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 01:31 PM
Kostas
kstmark's Avatar
Greece
Joined Sep 2008
232 Posts
I think that will the solution. As I saw it goes down when it is trying to turn. You can also try a softer turn by decreasing the rth roll max from 40 to 30-35
kstmark is offline Find More Posts by kstmark
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 11:00 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,365 Posts
hotdog,

I have to tell you that I am a bit perplexed with the behaviors that you are experiencing.

I have looked at your config files and there are a couple of things that jump out at me. Let me take them one at a time, and break down what I suspect.
* I would need to do some research to determine what I am looking at but I can tell you what I see just off hand.


AHIWizRun="0
" AHILevelPitch="171
" AHIForwardPitch="65535
" AHIBackwardPitch="0
" AHILevelRoll="65508
" AHILeftRoll="0
" AHIRightRoll="0
This line of values makes me suspect that you ran the servo analysis wizzard through the PC, and when it was plugged in to the usb, the guardian was not recognized.
*often you get a message that the guardian is not recognized, when you plug the osd into the pc usb.

I would run servo analysis wizard through your transmitter


RTHTurnIntegralGain="50
" RTHTurnDerivativeGain="50 seems very high for a wing
" RTHTurnProportionalLimit="40
" RTHTurnProportionalGain="60
" RTHPitchProportionalGain="75
" RTHPitchDerivativeGain="75 seems high



" RTHHomeAltitude="150
" HomeAltRadius="400

I usually set my RTH altitude quite high.
I'll give you an example. 30 Mph is 44 feet per second
So it would take you 3.4 seconds to hit the ground from 150 feet at 30mhp.

500 feet will give you 11.36 seconds to react at that same speed.


Home radius is nothing more than a line that you draw in the sky.

it distinguishes between RTH cruise altitude, and RTH home altitude.

When your plane crosses that line, it seeks the respective altitude.

I usually stretch that out to about 1000 feet.




*Note: It's a little difficult for me to get the whole picture, but I have given you a couple of things to look at. I hope it helps.

Let me give you this link.

It will pay to get a solid understanding of the calibration settings.
Why & When to change settings.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1717573

There is a lot of info on this page.
m_beeson is online now Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 05:43 AM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
hotdog,

I have to tell you that I am a bit perplexed with the behaviors that you are experiencing.

I have looked at your config files and there are a couple of things that jump out at me. Let me take them one at a time, and break down what I suspect.
* I would need to do some research to determine what I am looking at but I can tell you what I see just off hand.


AHIWizRun="0
" AHILevelPitch="171
" AHIForwardPitch="65535
" AHIBackwardPitch="0
" AHILevelRoll="65508
" AHILeftRoll="0
" AHIRightRoll="0
This line of values makes me suspect that you ran the servo analysis wizzard through the PC, and when it was plugged in to the usb, the guardian was not recognized.
*often you get a message that the guardian is not recognized, when you plug the osd into the pc usb.

I would run servo analysis wizard through your transmitter


RTHTurnIntegralGain="50
" RTHTurnDerivativeGain="50 seems very high for a wing
" RTHTurnProportionalLimit="40
" RTHTurnProportionalGain="60
" RTHPitchProportionalGain="75
" RTHPitchDerivativeGain="75 seems high



" RTHHomeAltitude="150
" HomeAltRadius="400

I usually set my RTH altitude quite high.
I'll give you an example. 30 Mph is 44 feet per second
So it would take you 3.4 seconds to hit the ground from 150 feet at 30mhp.

500 feet will give you 11.36 seconds to react at that same speed.


Home radius is nothing more than a line that you draw in the sky.

it distinguishes between RTH cruise altitude, and RTH home altitude.

When your plane crosses that line, it seeks the respective altitude.

I usually stretch that out to about 1000 feet.




*Note: It's a little difficult for me to get the whole picture, but I have given you a couple of things to look at. I hope it helps.

Let me give you this link.

It will pay to get a solid understanding of the calibration settings.
Why & When to change settings.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1717573

There is a lot of info on this page.

Ok Thanks , I already changed my min ground speed I am going to test later today. if that dosnt work I will start changing thing one at a time and see what happens.

Thanks alot guys I will let you know what happens
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jan 2008
1,041 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotdog1 View Post
Ok Thanks , I already changed my min ground speed I am going to test later today. if that dosnt work I will start changing thing one at a time and see what happens.

Thanks alot guys I will let you know what happens
Also check the Failsafes as set on your RC Tx.

They need to be set for straight and level flight, not some random position that could be causing your wing to want to turn.
garris2 is offline Find More Posts by garris2
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 10:56 AM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by garris2 View Post
Also check the Failsafes as set on your RC Tx.

They need to be set for straight and level flight, not some random position that could be causing your wing to want to turn.
Thanks, thats one of the first things i do after trimming out the plane after maiden

Damn just went to try and get the RTH working but this huricane is making it windy as hell guess I won't be flying anytime soon
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Last edited by hotdog1; Oct 26, 2012 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 12:53 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,365 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavn View Post
Do not want to offend you here. But I asked here a lot of questions which helped me with the decision probably the most suitable for me.
(Not necessary for every one, just my opinion.)

It took me long time to decide what I will buy or select to have fully working easily extendable autopilot and OSD and stabilization solution with regular firmware updates and new features. But I think I will do good decision.

I am the most probably going to select some open source auto pilot, OSD and stabilization fully working UAV solution, instead of EagleTree OSD PRO or Dragon OSD.

Thinking about ArduPilot 2.5 mega with MinimOSD.
I think you will be in for a surprise.
m_beeson is online now Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 12:59 AM
Registered User
pavn's Avatar
Czech Republic, Olomouc
Joined Sep 2010
572 Posts
Do you think in positive or negative way?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
I think you will be in for a surprise.
pavn is offline Find More Posts by pavn
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 01:50 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,365 Posts
pavn,

No matter which choice you make, you will have to learn how to make the equipment work for you.

Since I don't have a background in programming, then I am glad that I made the choice to go with Eagle Tree.

The equipment is reliable, and the code is already written. You just have to figure out how to calibrate it to your plane.

If you want some of the features that are offered in the Open Source boards, then more power to you, but I just want to fly, with a reliable failsafe...

Everything else is just extra.



*Since there are no two airframes alike, then there is no possible way that someone could make a "plug - n - play" OSD, so no matter which one you choose, you will have to learn it...

I will not disway you from the decision that you have made, I have not followed any progress on the open source boards in at least 6 months, so my knowlege of the progression is limited.

I know that there are a lot of intelligent people who are working on code for those boards, so you may have found a good option.

I am very biased because I love my Eagle Tree equipment. I suppose I wish there were a few things different, but I know how much time and effort the Eagle Tree team spends on behind the scenes support, so I don't complain, I just use the features that I have, and enjoy my FPV.




Quote:
Originally Posted by pavn View Post
Do you think in positive or negative way?
m_beeson is online now Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale BRAND New CP Pro/with extra battery stgtech2 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2006 09:35 PM
New eolo pro glitches with cc60 aschen Electric Heli Talk 24 May 20, 2004 08:12 AM
FS New Piccolo Fun with bearing upgrade and HA tail motor Bud Morrison Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2004 06:32 PM
For Sale: NEW Pic Pro rotor head with stiffening mod Eco8gator Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2003 09:16 PM