HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 02, 2012, 08:58 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
Hey Mike,

Thanks for the reply, I understand what I am up aganinst with my PPM reciever, at the moment I am stapped for cash to invest in a PCM reciever, so I am stuck with trying to make this set up I have work and do what I want it to do at the field to start the learning process.

I would like to be able to use all three of the necessary switches but I am limited from what I am reading with my particular set up. So I have to choose which is more important to me to start, I think that is what I am asking. I was already thinking of not using one of my aux channels on my radio to control the master gain knob. But I am not sure where to start with a predetermined setting on my master gain setting. For my preliminary flights should I be concered with ironing out the stabilization system first or the RTH?
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 02, 2012, 08:59 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
Can I use the Carlyle Method with PPM?

Thanks,

Steve S.
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 09:01 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,409 Posts
Yes,

It should work fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo6739615 View Post
Can I use the Carlyle Method with PPM?

Thanks,

Steve S.
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 09:06 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
Ok, great, One quick question, what should I set my "choose reciever type" and my "number of failsafe chans" too? Or am I just going to adjust my radio via the Carlyle Method with the RTH set up, set with the PPM configuration? Thank you for your help Mike.

Steve S.
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 09:07 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
number of failsafe channels to, oopppss!
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 09:09 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
In thinking about it, even if I use the Carlyle Method, I still need another channel on my radio to set it up?

Steve S.
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 09:12 PM
yakum smakum
stevo6739615's Avatar
United States, FL, Naples
Joined Jan 2012
48 Posts
Or is there a way to use the three position switch to do both stick method menu screen controls and activate the RTH and still have my other aux radio channel control the master gain of the stabilization system?

Steve S.
stevo6739615 is offline Find More Posts by stevo6739615
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 10:31 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,409 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo6739615 View Post
Ok, great, One quick question, what should I set my "choose reciever type"
PPM failsafe
and my "number of failsafe chans" too?
I set it to 3 + faisafe channels, and this is why;
if a faisafe is involked, then you can override it by moving your sticks.
If you have it set to 1 failsafe channel, then it will only override by moving the throttle, but if you set it to 3+, then you can move throttle, ailerons, or elevator, and override the failsafe.
In my mind, it is just a better practice

Or am I just going to adjust my radio via the Carlyle Method with the RTH set up, set with the PPM configuration? Thank you for your help Mike.

Steve S.
Steve,

How you involk RTH is your choice.

If you set your switch method to 3 POS (rth), then you can involk it with the
Aux1 (three position switch)

If you choose Aux1 Aux2, then you can adjust guardian gains, but you have to involk RTH via the carlyle method (throttle down and trimmed all of the way down)
The biggest issue with that method is that you have to navigate, and make selections in the menu by using the (Aux1) three position switch only,
and that is cumbersome.

Then there is another selection which I believe is Three position switch.
If I remember correctly.

This would be used if you are lacking in the amount of channels that you can use, and have to function with one switch only. Not recommended, but sometimes necessary...

-Mike
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 02, 2012, 10:32 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,409 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo6739615 View Post
Or is there a way to use the three position switch to do both stick method menu screen controls and activate the RTH and still have my other aux radio channel control the master gain of the stabilization system?

Steve S.
Yes,

Outlined in the previous post.

-Mike
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 12:50 AM
Long Range FPV'er
Joined Feb 2009
575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by billpa View Post
Hi Michael,

I don't see anything unusual in your config file - thanks for posting, though.
Thanks Bill...

I made a big deal over nothing..

To make a long story short.. The switch I use to invoke the Carlyle method was turned "on" setting the Dragonlink failsafe.. And It was left "on" during the servo analysis wizard.. I started over and re-binded the Rx, set the failsafe, ran the wizard, ran the simulator... and paid more attention this time around!.. Everything looks good on the bench.. I'll fly this weekend to make sure..

Michael
Mykro is offline Find More Posts by Mykro
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 01:30 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,409 Posts
If I said that I han't overlooked something, I'd be a liar...


I'm glad you got it figured out.

-Mike


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mykro View Post
Thanks Bill...

I made a big deal over nothing..

To make a long story short.. The switch I use to invoke the Carlyle method was turned "on" setting the Dragonlink failsafe.. And It was left "on" during the servo analysis wizard.. I started over and re-binded the Rx, set the failsafe, ran the wizard, ran the simulator... and paid more attention this time around!.. Everything looks good on the bench.. I'll fly this weekend to make sure..

Michael
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 04:12 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2010
112 Posts
Hi All :-)

after reading the previous posts i got a little bit confused:
im using a turnigy 9x and the receiver has 8 channels
4 channels are used for the usual ailreons/elevator/motor/rudder
3 pos switch is used for 3pos flaps (if understood correcly i might need to change that)
aux 1 and 2 are for the ET menu
now i also have fatshark googles and need 2 channels for the head traking (i thought about only use the letf/right and skip the up down for now)
and the guardian which also needs a channel.

this brings me to 10 channels. (maybe i can bind the flaps to another stick or knob ?)
any ideas on a better configuration? i mean, doesnt a turnigy 9x enough in terms of the num of channels?


Thanks
-guy
guy252 is offline Find More Posts by guy252
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 08:19 AM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,313 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by guy252 View Post
Hi All :-)

after reading the previous posts i got a little bit confused:
im using a turnigy 9x and the receiver has 8 channels
4 channels are used for the usual ailreons/elevator/motor/rudder
3 pos switch is used for 3pos flaps (if understood correcly i might need to change that)
aux 1 and 2 are for the ET menu
now i also have fatshark googles and need 2 channels for the head traking (i thought about only use the letf/right and skip the up down for now)
and the guardian which also needs a channel.

this brings me to 10 channels. (maybe i can bind the flaps to another stick or knob ?)
any ideas on a better configuration? i mean, doesnt a turnigy 9x enough in terms of the num of channels?


Thanks
-guy
hi guy,

i donīt use the turnigy9x and so i canīt give suggestions which switch or dial for what function.
but 9 channels should be o.k for your use

4 channels are used for the usual ailreons/elevator/motor/rudder
1 channel (3 pos switch) on aux1 for osd-menus
1 channel (dial) on aux2 for guardian gain
1 channel (dial) for flaps
2 channel for pan/tilt

cheers thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 08:20 AM
Long Range FPV'er
Joined Feb 2009
575 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
If I said that I han't overlooked something, I'd be a liar...


I'm glad you got it figured out.

-Mike
You were right Mike.. As usual.

It was your list of potential problems that triggered a red flag in my mind on what was wrong.. Just being able to write the problem down helps matters too.. The mere fact this forum exists and getting feed back helped me to step back for a minute and analyze the problem. Thanks again....
Mykro is offline Find More Posts by Mykro
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 03, 2012, 10:49 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,409 Posts
Your posts have helped me on more than one ocasion, I'm just glad to give back to you...

-Mike


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mykro View Post
You were right Mike.. As usual.

It was your list of potential problems that triggered a red flag in my mind on what was wrong.. Just being able to write the problem down helps matters too.. The mere fact this forum exists and getting feed back helped me to step back for a minute and analyze the problem. Thanks again....
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale BRAND New CP Pro/with extra battery stgtech2 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2006 10:35 PM
New eolo pro glitches with cc60 aschen Electric Heli Talk 24 May 20, 2004 09:12 AM
FS New Piccolo Fun with bearing upgrade and HA tail motor Bud Morrison Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2004 07:32 PM
For Sale: NEW Pic Pro rotor head with stiffening mod Eco8gator Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2003 10:16 PM