HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 04, 2012, 05:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
Set reciever failsafe to Throttle trimmed down as far as it will go.

then when you run the servo analysis wizzard, you set the motor off position to throttle trimmed down as far as it will go,

your cruise throttle position to the position that you would normally cruise.

set your climb position to the position that you would normally use to climb.
If you over power the climb, then sometimes it works against you.


Hope this helps.
Is it as easy as it sound? What is rocketman friend doing wrong?
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 04, 2012, 07:34 AM
KJ4YYJ
EugeneFlorida's Avatar
Saint Petersburg FL
Joined Jun 2009
763 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmint View Post
Is it as easy as it sound? What is rocketman friend doing wrong?
You might want to try this: turn everything on ..have some one hold the plane (so it does not take off) stay clear of prop

turn off transmitter. what happens
That All I Got
EugeneFlorida is offline Find More Posts by EugeneFlorida
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 10:42 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,406 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmint View Post
Is it as easy as it sound? What is rocketman friend doing wrong?
My normal Throttle trim is 10 clicks up from center point.

When I arm the esc, I click down 5 clicks, and then back up 5 clicks.



If I go 10 clicks down to center point, then RTH engages.


I'm sure that I could do something with sub trims, but that is the way it is.

Hope this helps...
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 10:57 AM
KF7JBN
Jhondra's Avatar
United States, ID, Nampa
Joined Nov 2008
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
My normal Throttle trim is 10 clicks up from center point.

When I arm the esc, I click down 5 clicks, and then back up 5 clicks.



If I go 10 clicks down to center point, then RTH engages.


I'm sure that I could do something with sub trims, but that is the way it is.

Hope this helps...
You should also be able to program a throttle cut off (depending on Tx) that just drops the throttle for like gas powered shut off. Make that setting your Fail Safe, and use it when running the servo wizard for RTH, so now, the throttle cut puts it into RTH, and so does radio off (FS). Saves monkeying with trims...
Jhondra is offline Find More Posts by Jhondra
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 10:58 AM
Registered User
yzguy's Avatar
Florida
Joined Mar 2007
989 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketman1092 View Post
Hey guys,

I'm having some issues configuring RTH to engage via the throttle trim method. I set the receiver failsafe with the throttle trimmed to about -25%, then completed the wizard on the OSD Pro. When the throttle trim is reduced, RTH activates properly, but throttle increases by about 25%. Then, when the trim is returned to zero, the throttle stays at the ~25% speed. It's as though the ESC (Thunderbird 36) adapted itself to the negative trim as the new zero throttle endpoint. Any thoughts?

Note: I'm actually describing a friend's airplane here. I have a nearly identical setup, though with a HobbyWing ESC instead of the Thunderbird 36, that I'll be testing shortly.
I did have one ESC (not thunderbird) that did not like the trim going below what it thought was off. Durring operation it would relearn what minimum was, then when I trimmed back up what should have been off, the motor keept going. I swaped ESC's and it started working normally.
yzguy is online now Find More Posts by yzguy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: wing wing z-84 fpv setup
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 11:00 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,406 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhondra View Post
You should also be able to program a throttle cut off (depending on Tx) that just drops the throttle for like gas powered shut off. Make that setting your Fail Safe, and use it when running the servo wizard for RTH, so now, the throttle cut puts it into RTH, and so does radio off (FS). Saves monkeying with trims...
Good point J. I was thinking about putting stability on a switch, I need to study that because I haven't entertained the thought until last night.


but the issue is that people can't get the RTH throttle to work.
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 11:03 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,406 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
My normal Throttle trim is 10 clicks up from center point.

When I arm the esc, I click down 5 clicks, and then back up 5 clicks.



If I go 10 clicks down to center point, then RTH engages.


I'm sure that I could do something with sub trims, but that is the way it is.

Hope this helps...
I should also state that If I go 12 clicks up from center point, then the motor runs.


Hope this helps.
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 11:07 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,406 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmint View Post
Is it as easy as it sound? What is rocketman friend doing wrong?

Yes it is that easy. If you follow the outline that I have below, then there is no reason for not having proper RTH engagement/disengagement.

If you follow these steps and RTH does not work, then you have something strange going on.




Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
Set reciever failsafe to Throttle trimmed down as far as it will go.

then when you run the servo analysis wizzard, you set the motor off position to throttle trimmed down as far as it will go,

your cruise throttle position to the position that you would normally cruise.

set your climb position to the position that you would normally use to climb.
If you over power the climb, then sometimes it works against you.


Hope this helps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
My normal Throttle trim is 10 clicks up from center point.

When I arm the esc, I click down 5 clicks, and then back up 5 clicks.



If I go 10 clicks down to center point, then RTH engages.


I'm sure that I could do something with sub trims, but that is the way it is.

Hope this helps...
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
I should also state that If I go 12 clicks up from center point, then the motor runs.


Hope this helps.
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 03:46 PM
KJ4YYJ
EugeneFlorida's Avatar
Saint Petersburg FL
Joined Jun 2009
763 Posts
Can this be used with Eagle Tree set up?

R/C Controlled Dual Camera Switch
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/product.p...7&cat=0&page=5

thanks for the help.
EugeneFlorida is offline Find More Posts by EugeneFlorida
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 07:13 PM
Registered User
balsabuster2004's Avatar
Washougal, Washington, United States
Joined Jan 2004
1,390 Posts
That's the one I've been using. Works fine. I believe that's one that was recommended by Billpa.
balsabuster2004 is offline Find More Posts by balsabuster2004
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2012, 09:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2011
399 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhondra View Post
You should also be able to program a throttle cut off (depending on Tx) that just drops the throttle for like gas powered shut off. Make that setting your Fail Safe, and use it when running the servo wizard for RTH, so now, the throttle cut puts it into RTH, and so does radio off (FS). Saves monkeying with trims...
What Tx are you using?
freshmint is offline Find More Posts by freshmint
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 02:25 AM
ScratchCrasher
sfakias's Avatar
Greece, Central Macedonia, Thessalonika
Joined Jun 2008
579 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EugeneFlorida View Post
Can this be used with Eagle Tree set up?

R/C Controlled Dual Camera Switch
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/product.p...7&cat=0&page=5

thanks for the help.
I opted for the cheaper DIY solution for an RC video switch, using this rc controlled switch and a 6V relay switch from the local electronics shop (cost about $1).

I attach the electrical wiring diagram that shows how I connected the two. Note that the OSD info is overlayed only on the 12V FPV cam video, and not on the video from the point and shoot cam. The final result is a little bulkier that the ready made video switch, mainly because of the size of the relay.

It works great!
sfakias is offline Find More Posts by sfakias
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 09:40 AM
KF7JBN
Jhondra's Avatar
United States, ID, Nampa
Joined Nov 2008
845 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freshmint View Post
What Tx are you using?
Futaba 9CAP Super.
Jhondra is offline Find More Posts by Jhondra
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 12:47 PM
Purdue Engineering
Rocketman1092's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Jan 2005
2,649 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzguy View Post
I did have one ESC (not thunderbird) that did not like the trim going below what it thought was off. Durring operation it would relearn what minimum was, then when I trimmed back up what should have been off, the motor keept going. I swaped ESC's and it started working normally.
That looks to be the problem. I tried the same procedure with a HobbyWing ESC instead, and everything works great now. We'll swap out the Thunderbird.

Thanks for the help everyone.
Rocketman1092 is online now Find More Posts by Rocketman1092
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 05, 2012, 10:31 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,406 Posts
I've just about got RTH dialed, on the wing;

it's very close

Flying Wing with RTH (1 min 25 sec)
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale BRAND New CP Pro/with extra battery stgtech2 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2006 10:35 PM
New eolo pro glitches with cc60 aschen Electric Heli Talk 24 May 20, 2004 09:12 AM
FS New Piccolo Fun with bearing upgrade and HA tail motor Bud Morrison Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2004 07:32 PM
For Sale: NEW Pic Pro rotor head with stiffening mod Eco8gator Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2003 10:16 PM