HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 18, 2011, 03:44 PM
www.shop.trisembly.co.za
rcimports's Avatar
South Africa
Joined Oct 2005
1,583 Posts
Yeah OK, that makes sense..

I think I'll go into nice stable cruise and then do the "Reset Cruise Sticks/Throtl" in menu, should do the trick?

Thanks for the info guys!
rcimports is offline Find More Posts by rcimports
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 18, 2011, 04:37 PM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
8,144 Posts
I'm assuming i'll need to Buffer my RSSI output to work correctly with the eagletree, right?
gundamnitpete is offline Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2011, 11:37 PM
Sam in Virginia
sverlander's Avatar
Hampton Virginia
Joined Jul 2005
597 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete View Post
I'm assuming i'll need to Buffer my RSSI output to work correctly with the eagletree, right?
That was my understanding after doing some searching. I am using a Futaba R149DP 72mhz receiver with the RSSI Buffer Interface from DPC-AV and ground test works great. I haven't tried it in the air yet. You can find a thread where you can build your own buffer but the one from DPC-AV was cheap and ready to go and my receiver was easy to mod for RSSI with the links below.
http://www.rcflighttest.com/home/201...-pcm-receiver/
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/product.p...cat=263&page=1
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...57&postcount=1
sverlander is offline Find More Posts by sverlander
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 12:44 AM
www.shop.trisembly.co.za
rcimports's Avatar
South Africa
Joined Oct 2005
1,583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
No, not home radius.

If you get your home radius too small, then the plane will fly in, and out of the home radius while circling.

This may be a problem if your RTH, and Home altitudes differ.



I would look at "Turn Derivative Gain"

in the Safety configuration Menu.


The plane is given a target. It starts working on a solution for that target. The derivative gain defines how long it takes before it sees an error in its solution.

Too low of a derivative gain and it will never see an error message. I don't know what will happen with too high of a derivative gain. I would assume that it would tighten the turns around the home position.


If your plane is flying past home and doesn't want to turn, then I would start Increasing the Turn Derivative Gain until it responds and circles around home.


-Mike
Mike,

I'm not questing you're knowledge, just want to make sure..

I'm reading the manual and what you are explaining sounds more like "Turn Integral Gain" ??

Thanks
Dion
rcimports is offline Find More Posts by rcimports
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 01:43 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,409 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcimports View Post
Mike,

I'm not questing you're knowledge, just want to make sure..

I'm reading the manual and what you are explaining sounds more like "Turn Integral Gain" ??

Thanks
Dion
if it is heading away from you, and you hit RTH, does it turn around and come back?


If so then the derivative should be fine.


How far did you let it go past you before you intervened.

If it is just cruising on, and not circling home, then you need to look at it again. that doesn't make sense that it would turn and come back, but not circle home.


-Mike
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:02 AM
www.shop.trisembly.co.za
rcimports's Avatar
South Africa
Joined Oct 2005
1,583 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
if it is heading away from you, and you hit RTH, does it turn around and come back?


If so then the derivative should be fine.


How far did you let it go past you before you intervened.

If it is just cruising on, and not circling home, then you need to look at it again. that doesn't make sense that it would turn and come back, but not circle home.


-Mike
When I hit RTH it turns around and comes home, then goes past home and I left it about 200 Meters before canselling RTH, doesn't starting turning at that point yet.

For some reason I think it might circle, but in a VERY large circle..

Thanks for the help!

Dion
rcimports is offline Find More Posts by rcimports
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:11 AM
www.shop.trisembly.co.za
rcimports's Avatar
South Africa
Joined Oct 2005
1,583 Posts
Maybe best will be to set everything on defaults and get a Vid for you with servo deflection enabled, that will probably explain it the best.

Dion
rcimports is offline Find More Posts by rcimports
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:47 AM
ScratchCrasher
sfakias's Avatar
Greece, Central Macedonia, Thessalonika
Joined Jun 2008
579 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sverlander View Post
That was my understanding after doing some searching. I am using a Futaba R149DP 72mhz receiver with the RSSI Buffer Interface from DPC-AV and ground test works great. I haven't tried it in the air yet. You can find a thread where you can build your own buffer but the one from DPC-AV was cheap and ready to go and my receiver was easy to mod for RSSI with the links below.
http://www.rcflighttest.com/home/201...-pcm-receiver/
http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/product.p...cat=263&page=1
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...57&postcount=1
Hello.
I assume that you are talking about this post by BlueAngel2000 about the DIY RSSI buffer, correct? If you know another DIY RSSI buffer post, please share it here.

I did built BlueAngel2000's RSSI buffer and used it for my Turnigy 9X rx. However, the results were not as expected. There was still great fluctuation of the RSSI value.

I planned on doing more tests, and try to find what is happening by asking BlueAngel2000 himself, but I did not had time to do that yet. Maybe someone here has used this DIY RSSI buffer sucessfuly and want to share some details?

Regards.
sfakias is offline Find More Posts by sfakias
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 04:48 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
260 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel0407 View Post
This would be about the only thing that could sway me away from another ET at the moment. Auto waypoints would be awsome. Just site back and enjoy the scenery.
hahaha....
I've been asking Bill for this since 2009. In forums and privately. Along with many other people.
At least the answer is always positive. Yes we will get the function!!

Great...but when???
or better question should be why not?

Bill...I beleive the time has finally come.
The Gaurdian is watching our backs and RTH works flawlessly.

Lets add some waypoints to our trips!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cannonballer is offline Find More Posts by Cannonballer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 07:48 AM
ScratchCrasher
sfakias's Avatar
Greece, Central Macedonia, Thessalonika
Joined Jun 2008
579 Posts
+1 on that.

....Please....



Also, if ET in going into such an important functionality enhancement, please do incorporate both:
1)Ability to fly to waypoins autonomously (like when in RTH mode)
AND
2)Ability to hold pattern above waypoints (circle for aerial photography for example)

sfakias is offline Find More Posts by sfakias
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:09 PM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,313 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcimports View Post
Yeah OK, that makes sense..

I think I'll go into nice stable cruise and then do the "Reset Cruise Sticks/Throtl" in menu, should do the trick?

Thanks for the info guys!
yes! do this and post your success

Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:11 PM
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
United States, MI, Detroit
Joined Feb 2004
9,096 Posts
I THINK there's a liability issue that Bill is trying to skirt around there. That's why he's held off on the auto-waypoint.

Circling would be nice tho.
ashdec87 is offline Find More Posts by ashdec87
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:17 PM
www.shop.trisembly.co.za
rcimports's Avatar
South Africa
Joined Oct 2005
1,583 Posts
I'll sign a waiver for those feratures..
rcimports is offline Find More Posts by rcimports
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 02:23 PM
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
United States, MI, Detroit
Joined Feb 2004
9,096 Posts
If I'm not mistaken there are export issues when it comes to autopilots leaving the US. That's why audopilot makes you sign all sorts of stuff.
ashdec87 is offline Find More Posts by ashdec87
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2011, 03:11 PM
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!
nrg2go's Avatar
Australia, NT, Katherine
Joined Apr 2009
1,193 Posts
Nah I don't think so. I purchased the ARDUPilotMega from the US to Australia and I signed nothing. Look up what it can do.
nrg2go is online now Find More Posts by nrg2go
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale BRAND New CP Pro/with extra battery stgtech2 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2006 10:35 PM
New eolo pro glitches with cc60 aschen Electric Heli Talk 24 May 20, 2004 09:12 AM
FS New Piccolo Fun with bearing upgrade and HA tail motor Bud Morrison Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2004 07:32 PM
For Sale: NEW Pic Pro rotor head with stiffening mod Eco8gator Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2003 10:16 PM