HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 13, 2008, 01:30 AM
Pedal Power!
the lake
Joined Oct 2002
1,095 Posts
Discussion
Simple Linux question

I've been using various versions of Linux for years but I'm still a beginner it seems. All my Linux systems have been single disk setups till now.

The latest box has a Raptor boot drive (small/fast) and a 1TB storage drive for movies/shows. I installed Sabayon to the the boot drive and then used Gparted to format the big drive with the XFS file system.

When I try to copy a file to the big drive the operation fails. I believe that the reason is because the big drive has "root" ownership and the normal login it "sabayonuser" (not root).

I've been advised not to login as "root" so how can I write to the big drive?

Can I change the ownership?

I don't want to have to go to SU every time I want to copy a file.

What is the best way to have EASY write access to the big drive?
lakedude is offline Find More Posts by lakedude
Old Sep 13, 2008, 01:39 AM
College Park, MD
Joined Sep 2002
4,714 Posts
As root:
chmod -R ug+rwx dirname
chown -R username dirname
for some directory you want to be able to write to as a particular user. Avoid doing this for the standard system folders like /, /usr, /etc, /var, /boot, etc. It's best to create a subfolder in say, the /usr folder or whatever partition has a lot of disk space for user data files. You can also mount a partition in an empty folder you create like /data and run the commands I listed above on the folder once mounted.

mount /dev/hdb1 /data

in /etc/fstab:

/dev/hdb1 /data ext3 defaults
thunder1 is offline Find More Posts by thunder1
Old Sep 13, 2008, 02:09 AM
Pedal Power!
the lake
Joined Oct 2002
1,095 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunder1
As root:
chmod -R ug+rwx dirname
chown -R username dirname