HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 23, 2008, 03:42 PM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
I have got this message all time I try to run program .
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 23, 2008, 07:58 PM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by remzibi
I have got this message all time I try to run program .
You could try this . When you open the program before you select anything
first select File then Open then Load Grid Picture. choose FPV.jpg or
your picture your want from the pop up window . That will correct the
path to the Grid Picture.

If that don't work try this.
You need to delete the new OSDsettings.dat file or replace it with the old
Dat file. It doesn't have the path in it to point to the picture file.

After you get the picture to show up on the program don't forget to exit
via the EXIT button to save the settings.

Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 01:24 PM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
Charles - it didn't helped . This error become immidate I doubleclick program file .exe and then i can not do anything .

Also finished firmware for MAX7456 characters table update by .mcm file from factory program .
It is very easy using hyperterminal , probably in next version of software will be integrated with OSD firmware - so no more playing with bootloaders .
Now the step by step instruction will translate for english and as usually put here - http://rc-cam.info/viewforum.php?f=25
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 06:32 PM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
program error

I've made is to works even if you haven't loaded or assigned a picture
to the picture box. Now the picture is an option not a requirement.

Sorry !

Just added for user selectable 16 or 12 rows of text.

Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Last edited by Charles B; Nov 24, 2008 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 06:52 PM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
A try with new custom graphic characters table :

MAX7456 custom character table testing (0 min 18 sec)


The eyes indicate frequency of GPS update - this case 5Hz .
When satellite are find - eyes are replaced by satelite no .
What is I must say that everyone can design his character shape - big , small , fat, thin - what you like , then program OSD chip .
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Last edited by remzibi; Nov 24, 2008 at 07:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2008, 08:02 PM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
new program update

We have just updated the program . Added for 16 or 12 row option.
use the download from two messages ago.

Did you know when your editing the text if the picture box. There is a
short cut to move text. Just move the mouse cursor to the front of the
text the do a right click. That puts it into move mode. Then just put the
text where you want it and do a left click to place the text.

Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2008, 07:59 AM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
Working much better now .
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2008, 08:29 AM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
writing to EEPROM form my program

I think I have found how to write to the EEPROM area via my program
I will not know for sure until I try it when I get my board.

Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2008, 06:18 AM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
Here is first relase of fully custom configurable layout and graphics as usually avaliable to download from http://rc-cam.info/viewtopic.php?p=1873#1873

There are 3 files

for MeagaLoad :
- flash - OSDv1_20
- eeprom - eeprom.hex

for MAX7456 character table :
- file.mcm

In OSD software is integrated part for update max7456 character table - so any custom grafical defintions are possible .
This how looks default screen layout .


v1_10 (3 files for flash , eeprom and max7456)
- all function from previouse version avaliable
- custom configurable character shape(2 tables) and screen location for each value
- course to home showed by arrow or any other graphical symbol (can have maximum 16 positions) or standard text bar
- defintion of value symbos like kM/h , M/s in max7456 character table
- Any possible definition of geaphical symbols for any value showed on sreen

v1_20 (3 files for flash , eeprom and max7456)
- function of showing actual charactel table from max7456 , that is when you press and hold pressed button and connect the power
- integrated software for update max7456 character table by .mcm file using hyperterminal program set for 38400 baud , run hyperterminal - connect TX RX from USB cable press and hold pressed button and power OSD - in hyperterminal use send as text file and choose yourfile.mcm to send

The program for edition of character named factory_character.rar added .

The logo screen info is also possible to custom write - in this case is " OSD READY for sky conquer "

In detailed configuration of eeprom Charles already know - so probably will made his program for config or explain in english better then me .
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 03, 2008, 04:39 PM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
The charter file for the Max7456

I have found out how the mi_1_7 popr1_1.mcm Charter font file for the
Max7456 works. I now can generate the charters in my program. That
will allow me to let the user select the charters for the OSD
or they can use just plain text . This will go into the Hex file.

Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2008, 05:21 AM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
Wow , Charles - you surprised me a lot . Is that character box is possible to show chars straight from .mcm file ?
I add the .mcm file what will use in next software version .
In next soft will add variometer and aim sign in middle of screen - off course configurable - you want it to show or not .
Testing in air was prooved that GPS 5Hz with WAAS system showing altidude so good (-/+1m) - that vario is possible to add , in both graphical and digital form - also configurable to show or not , only graph or only graph and digit value .
Sorry for not send yet the final eeprom layout but is still not finished - new functions and ideas are in my head .
The last thing I have is some part of eeprom data trasmition with your program and alarms set for altitude , distance , time , batt and anythig else ?
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2008, 06:54 AM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by remzibi
Wow , Charles - you surprised me a lot . Is that character box is possible to show chars straight from .mcm file ?
Yes that is where I'm get it from. It took me one full day to
find out its internal layout. and test it.

I haven't found out how to put the graphics on my layout screen
yet . So It don't matter how you change that file you'll be able.
to choose a single graphics charter from it.

Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 04, 2008, 06:41 PM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
I got my board and things from you today.

It looks really GOOD. Thanks. We haven't powered them up yet.

The OSD board is a lot smaller than I though.

Pat your self on the back ! A job well done !

Today I was able to put on the text labels and just one of the Graphics fonts
at a time on the display layout screen of my program. We can select
other objects that have different fonts and show then all , so the problem
is I can only show one graphics charter at a time with all the text labels.
We can move the text/Graphtics around on the screen and store there positions.

I found my error in the program for the Intel Hex format file. The CRC
number are now correct.

Getting there slowly.

Charles.
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2008, 05:48 AM
Registered User
remzibi's Avatar
Poland
Joined Sep 2004
834 Posts
I am glad you recived the set .
Please try to connect it to TV , try to change software and write your impression what you think about all .
If you have any problems or difficulitys please write , any problems with usb drivers ? .
To change the video mode PAL NTSC use the botton .
Depends from software version it change in short or in last rev. long (1sec) press button .
After first save home - the selected video system will remain in memory .
Is GPS woking OK ? fixing quick ? - usually shold fix position within 40sec for about 9-11 satelites .

here is a test of one betatester who made some experiments with custom layout , but by mistake he wrote wrong file .mcm to max7456 . Now he have all Ok with corrected pictograms .
2008-11-30 Chudoby - Test OSD Remzibi v1_20 (9 min 21 sec)


However this test shows how well altitude is indicated . In my opinion save home should be pressed after 30 sec later when all satelites are stabilized - so the altitude will shows even better .
Day was very very windy - plane fly back direction - however is showed well on course to home . When plane have his own speed even 5-8 km/h direction shows very well , when speed is 0 at that moment diorections are lost for moments . The direction to home pictogram is his custom graphics made for 16 positions istead of default arrow 12 position .

O one more thing , in next version aim sign will add - eeprom address 24,25,26 (x,y,picture) , usually if X=0 then no aim sign on screen , also as you live in USA - for speed will to choose metric km/h or imperial mph , speed system carry 7th bit of Y location of spped - so Y location - metric , Y+0x80 - imperial speed shows .

Here is another flying platform - look at bad placed video TX (1000mW) , very risky to jaming GPS unit - distance is too close .




Here the problem is fixed - now the video transmitter is much better placed .
Is a heavy platform anyway - lot of video staff but looks good .
I'd like to see that HDTV movie from it .



http://rc-cam.info/viewtopic.php?t=178
remzibi is offline Find More Posts by remzibi
Last edited by remzibi; Dec 06, 2008 at 08:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 06, 2008, 12:33 PM
Old retired Electronics Fart
Charles B's Avatar
United States, OH, Centerburg
Joined Mar 2007
426 Posts
Here is my update on the OSD board.
I can use the megaload program and change the flash on the program and
update the eeprom. All so I can do the Max7456 download.

An update on my program . I got it, to do any Graphics fonts
one or two wide. I can display all 15 and move them around in the program.
I'm now working on the display of the Graphics and text digital readout
to align up. Then I'll start work on saving the data in hex/bin files.
Make sure the layout section is good to go.

Then I'll work on checking if I can replace the terminal program and
do it in my program. Then I'll try the eeprom update. They will only be able
to be done with the USB interface .

On your video transmitter I see your using a rubber duckie antenna.
if you would add three or four short ground wires to the ground of that
antenna it would help in it operation. Less dead spots.





Charles
Charles B is offline Find More Posts by Charles B
Last edited by Charles B; Dec 06, 2008 at 12:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poor Man's Heat Shrink for Homemade Battery Packs... flytowner Parkflyers 28 Mar 12, 2010 11:45 PM
Poor man's Helistar Iain Micro Helis 25 Dec 01, 2005 06:15 AM
What to do? W/lb of poor man's F5B (long post) 96S14 High Performance 14 Sep 29, 2003 03:02 PM
Poor man's Super Slow Stick fun flyer? uglyplane Parkflyers 1 Jul 03, 2003 11:54 AM
Kyosho 180 Poor Man's Power Fix??? Don Sims Electric Plane Talk 41 May 12, 2001 09:23 PM