HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 04, 2008, 08:09 AM
Airplane crasher
USA, CT, Shelton
Joined Jan 2008
2,732 Posts
Discussion
80.5" Vultee XP-54 Swoose goose design revision

I have been working out the design for this plane now for about two months and have decided to build and enter it in the build-off. She will have a 40" span with either static gear or retracts. I am undecided at this point which it will be. I have most of the design drawn and will attempt to recreate her as close as possiable. Maybe even the pilots elevator ejection seat . If I can get that far into her before the end of the contest. We shall see what happens here as I get into building her. There is just something about a gull wing that makes me smile, and this one hasn't really been done yet.

New information. I have had to rescale this plane in order to get it to the size needed for the rotating retracts that are available now.
CapMike is offline Find More Posts by CapMike
Last edited by CapMike; Dec 30, 2009 at 09:36 AM. Reason: New scale size
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 04, 2008, 08:56 AM
Airplane crasher
USA, CT, Shelton
Joined Jan 2008
2,732 Posts
Thought I would add pics of the subject at hand.
Old Sep 04, 2008, 10:06 AM
Or current resident
USA, FL, Tampa
Joined Jul 2002
4,832 Posts
Cool. Could be a challenge to get the CG correct with that long nose hanging out there.
Glenn
glewis is offline Find More Posts by glewis
Old Sep 04, 2008, 10:30 AM
Airplane crasher
USA, CT, Shelton
Joined Jan 2008
2,732 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by glewis
Cool. Could be a challenge to get the CG correct with that long nose hanging out there.
Glenn
Yeah I know and the length of the tail booms too. I think I am up to the challenge
Old Sep 05, 2008, 07:39 AM
Airplane crasher
USA, CT, Shelton
Joined Jan 2008
2,732 Posts
Redraw