HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 03, 2008, 02:15 PM
Got shenpa?
Los Angeles
Joined May 2004
10,940 Posts
Discussion
Autonomous fully aerobatic RC helicopters!

I've been saying for a few years that it would not be long before someone started selling RC planes that were fully autonomous - the "pilot" will only have to push a button or two and the model will take off, perform aerobatics, and land itself. Rather like those toy guitars that play a complex guitar lick at the push of a button, requiring no skill at all on the part of the "guitarist".

Well, we're one step closer to this happening: Stanford researchers have demonstrated a fully autonomous 3D helicopter that is not only able to perform complex aerobatics like tic-toc's, but also able to learn new moves by "watching" another helicopter flown by a human pilot.

Apparently the autonomous helicopter is already flying better than the very talented human pilot. Here's a quote:
Quote:
...the researchers had Oku and other pilots fly entire airshow routines while every movement of the helicopter was recorded. As Oku repeated a maneuver several times, the trajectory of the helicopter inevitably varied slightly with each flight. But the learning algorithms created by Ng's team were able to discern the ideal trajectory the pilot was seeking. Thus the autonomous helicopter learned to fly the routine better—and more consistently—than Oku himself.
Here's the story:
http://news-service.stanford.edu/new...er-091008.html

-Flieslikeabeagle
flieslikeabeagle is offline Find More Posts by flieslikeabeagle
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 03, 2008, 02:21 PM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
12,439 Posts
It brings a new meaning to RTF.

I'll stick with building and flying.
eflightray is online now Find More Posts by eflightray
Old Sep 03, 2008, 02:45 PM
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
USA, KY, Hebron
Joined Dec 2005
2,679 Posts