New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 13, 2013, 04:55 PM
Jaspur_x is offline
Find More Posts by Jaspur_x
Registered User
Somerset Pa
Joined Dec 2009
176 Posts
Riht now my son and I are whipping togther a crash test bee loosely based to the COX lazybee utilizing the trashed foam wing one of our COXlazybee`s came with.
Built up wing will come along after the wing getsits final crash and is only good for a wing rib template
Jaspur_x is offline Find More Posts by Jaspur_x
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2013, 09:50 PM
R. Martin is offline
Find More Posts by R. Martin
Buddha
R. Martin's Avatar
United States, PA, Sellersville
Joined Apr 2011
236 Posts
Let us know how it works.

Rick
R. Martin is offline Find More Posts by R. Martin
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 01:39 AM
TheNightowl is offline
Find More Posts by TheNightowl
Torn 'twixt buildin' and flyin
TheNightowl's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2007
7,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Click the Pirate View Post
I am a true bee lover, I have a 60 inch night bee, a 60 in profile bee, some of you may have seen 3D master violate my rudder last year at the grapevine flyin, a 40 in bee as stated above, a stagger bee, and a depron profile bee 40 inch, it needs a new fuse badly.

If you have any questions or need help I am more than happy to assist in any way I can.
Click, did I ever ask you if your Stagger Bee is electric, and if so, what motor/prop/power configuration you're using? (I rescanned the first 12 pages of this thread and didn't see it, and finally decided I'd just ask again, if I did the first time.)

Nightowl
TheNightowl is offline Find More Posts by TheNightowl
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 10:18 AM
78_elky is offline
Find More Posts by 78_elky
Registered User
Portland, OR
Joined Jun 2010
102 Posts
I love that this thread exists! I have quite the hive already (Stagger Bee, Speedy Bee, 60" Big Bee, Yard Bee and a Lady Bug) but I think I am going to try to do a 40" bee next. I also cut out the profiles and ribs for a Micro Bee last night, I'm making it a little larger at 12" length and 12" W.S.
I've never had one of these I don't like; now I just want something a little smaller than the 60" Bee so it can fit in my Camaro. I used to move the planes around with my El Camino and it had tons of room.
Jess
78_elky is offline Find More Posts by 78_elky
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:52 AM
TheNightowl is offline
Find More Posts by TheNightowl
Torn 'twixt buildin' and flyin
TheNightowl's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2007
7,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 78_elky View Post
I love that this thread exists! I have quite the hive already (Stagger Bee, Speedy Bee, 60" Big Bee, Yard Bee and a Lady Bug) ...
Jess
Jess, what are you powering your Stagger Bee with?

Nightowl
TheNightowl is offline Find More Posts by TheNightowl
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:36 PM
Thayer is offline
Find More Posts by Thayer
Owner - Flying Models
United States, CT
Joined Aug 2003
2,453 Posts
Stagger Bee Power.

I used a geared Astro 05 in mine, running on 8 1700mAh nicads. I am guessing it was a 12x6 APC, but don't remember that for sure. Yeah, it was heavy but did fly fine. The sink rate as I turned based to final was pretty impressive, but getting back on the power once I leveled the wings controlled it nicely.

Thayer
Thayer is offline Find More Posts by Thayer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 12:38 AM
TheNightowl is offline
Find More Posts by TheNightowl
Torn 'twixt buildin' and flyin
TheNightowl's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2007
7,274 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thayer View Post
Stagger Bee Power.

I used a geared Astro 05 in mine, running on 8 1700mAh nicads. I am guessing it was a 12x6 APC, but don't remember that for sure. Yeah, it was heavy but did fly fine. The sink rate as I turned based to final was pretty impressive, but getting back on the power once I leveled the wings controlled it nicely.

Thayer
Thanks for the advice!
TheNightowl is offline Find More Posts by TheNightowl
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 06:19 PM
mori55 is offline
Find More Posts by mori55
Registered User
Linwood NJ USA
Joined Oct 2004
1,211 Posts
You really don't want a 12" prop, to little ground clearence, I used a brushless motor with a 10" prop and lipo batteries.
mori55 is offline Find More Posts by mori55
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 10:50 PM
gaexcalibur is offline
Find More Posts by gaexcalibur
Registered User
gaexcalibur's Avatar
Port Orchard Washington
Joined Jul 2009
140 Posts
my bee is running a super tiger 10 brushless motor with a 3 cell lip and an 8x6 prop it works ok it could really use a little more power if i really wanted to do stunts with it but i like the cheep motor a lot use the same setup on my stagger bee. keep those bee's flying
gaexcalibur is offline Find More Posts by gaexcalibur
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 08:02 PM
Rczorro is offline
Find More Posts by Rczorro
Registered User
Joined Dec 2012
113 Posts
Nice so can any body tell me if a lazy bee 40 easy to fly
Rczorro is offline Find More Posts by Rczorro
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2013, 09:22 PM
NEW222 is offline
Find More Posts by NEW222
Registered User
Canada, MB, Oakbank
Joined Dec 2004
710 Posts
Nope, not yet. Just about done the 'bones' stage, then sanding and finishing. But to answer your question, I hear that they can be mild or wild.
NEW222 is offline Find More Posts by NEW222
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 04:14 AM
slipstick is offline
Find More Posts by slipstick
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
11,252 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rczorro View Post
Nice so can any body tell me if a lazy bee 40 easy to fly
With low control throws and not too much power they're pretty easy to fly. I wouldn't recommend one for a first plane but if you've done some flying you should be fine.

Then you can increase the control throws and they get REALLY interesting .

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 08:02 PM
NCRealEstateGuy is offline
Find More Posts by NCRealEstateGuy
I Used To Have More Free Time!
Charlotte, NC
Joined Feb 2011
2,276 Posts
Subbed.
NCRealEstateGuy is offline Find More Posts by NCRealEstateGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 08:14 PM
mthomas is offline
Find More Posts by mthomas
Hi I am Mark & I am an addict
mthomas's Avatar
USA, KY, Louisville
Joined May 2007
795 Posts
RCZorro - the 40 is definately flyable as mentioned above, adding an extra rib would get you a 48 inch wing which is a bit floatier (is that a word?).

Mark
mthomas is offline Find More Posts by mthomas
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 11:04 PM
gaexcalibur is offline
Find More Posts by gaexcalibur
Registered User
gaexcalibur's Avatar
Port Orchard Washington
Joined Jul 2009
140 Posts
floater are you kidding i have gone up with a radian and almost got the same flight time with my extended wing bee totally great fun
gaexcalibur is offline Find More Posts by gaexcalibur
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lazy Bee conversion budborn Electric Plane Talk 4 Jul 23, 2001 10:18 PM
d/f lazy bee flying_pig Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 1 Jun 30, 2001 05:29 PM
Questions about cobalt Zagi Greg Carman Foamies (Kits) 6 Jun 30, 2001 03:29 AM
Questions about Pylon Racers austin9000 High Performance 12 May 20, 2001 11:11 PM
elevrons on lazy bee std wing?? ahab Power Systems 2 May 08, 2001 08:08 AM