SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 28, 2008, 03:00 PM
Registered User
foxsavage's Avatar
Castro Valley, CA
Joined Nov 2007
168 Posts
Help!
Can I run 2 brushless motors on one esc?

I'm building an A-10 with dual edf-30's. I'm using the mighty midget 10-3-20's and I was wondering if I need one esc for each or if I can just make a y connector to hook both to one? Also, if I do need two esc's can I use one battery for both? Do I hook them both to the same channel? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike
foxsavage is offline Find More Posts by foxsavage
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 28, 2008, 03:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2006
179 Posts
try it if it works then ok. sometimes it works
I have two planes that i flew with 2 CD rom motors and they did great. Make shure that you have a big enough (amp ) esc
I also had a twin with 2 20 amp brushless and it worked.
but these three planes worked BUT
the last one i tried would not work no matter what i tried

hope this helps
chem teacher2 is offline Find More Posts by chem teacher2
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 04:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
52 Posts
A brushless ESC not only drives the motor, it also senses its position. If both motors attached to the same ESC are able to run exactly in sync (i.e. the are no forces that wants to make one go slower than the other, e.g. due to slightly different propellers, housing, or even just changing direction in flight), then it should work. One way to increase your chances is to use smaller props, so that the load on the motors is smaller.
yrn1 is offline Find More Posts by yrn1
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2008, 11:49 PM
Registered User
foxsavage's Avatar
Castro Valley, CA
Joined Nov 2007
168 Posts
I tried a 6 amp fiago and a 6 amp turnigy plush, they both turned only one of the motors and the motors got hot really fast.
foxsavage is offline Find More Posts by foxsavage
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can you run 2 brushless motors from 1 ESC??? SGTalon Power Systems 1 Jun 30, 2006 09:20 AM
Discussion 2 Brushless motors on one ESC! Rwarner1976 Foamies (Kits) 6 Mar 20, 2006 11:57 AM
2 Brushless motors on one ESC? ToddL Castle Creations 4 Aug 04, 2004 11:31 PM
can you run 2 brushless motors off of one esc? jeff262 Power Systems 4 May 30, 2004 11:39 PM
Can you run 2 brushless motors off of one ESC nikolaus_c Power Systems 1 Jul 05, 2003 11:44 AM