Lithium Member
Irvine, Calif USA
Joined Feb 1999
12,127 Posts
Discussion
5-year WeMoTec Fan Overhaul

I have been flying the Aeronaut Rafale for about five years now,

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...&page=7&pp=100

it was time for a fan service. The first flight was back in November 2003, and it had been flying continuosly since then ...

In particular I wanted to switch to a more powerful (but slightly heavier) motors.

So did fans, motors and esc's hold up after five years of flying ?

Rafale 2005 video, takeoff at ca. half throttle:

Rafale twin 90mm EDF by Aeronaut (1 min 20 sec)

Herb is offline Find More Posts by Herb
Last edited by Herb; Aug 27, 2008 at 08:30 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 27, 2008, 06:52 PM
Lithium Member
Irvine, Calif USA
Joined Feb 1999
12,127 Posts
So far most of the apparent wear and tear has been in endless tire changes and frequent Springair retract dust cleaning, and of course LiPo batteries which don't last

Otherwise the airframe is in remarkable good condition after five years, the paint has to be regularly re-touched every six months or so.

Old Aug 27, 2008, 06:58 PM
Lithium Member
Irvine, Calif USA
Joined Feb 1999
12,127 Posts
The Aeronaut Rafale is in fact rather easy to service - the back end comes off with a few screws and other retainers, and exposes the fans.

I think this was the first time I opened the back end in five years ...

Old Aug 27, 2008, 07:06 PM
Lithium Member
Irvine, Calif USA
Joined Feb 1999
12,127 Posts
The most recent flight I had with this Rafale was last weekend ... It was flying nicely but I think the Megas were overworked a bit. In the 1000W+ range their efficiency drops a bit and it is noticeable in flight: batteries get hot.

So the plan is to replace them with Hacker B50's

The Megas look like they are in excellent condition, a tribute to the quality of the manufacturer.

On the other hand the duct tape used, besides silicone, to hold the exhausts, has turned to powder!