HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 15, 2008, 10:27 PM
Valid8r
Boston and Belgium
Joined Jul 2004
943 Posts
Discussion
Super Skids on a HBFP??? (not happy)

I'm new to heli's (not RC) and my HBFP is my first heli. I've spent a few days now busting up the stock skids and decided to buy a set of Super Skids. What I am disappointed in is the attachment of the skid to the stock HBFP chassis. The supplied screws are too short and the actual attachment point is not molded correctly to match up with the frame (at the point of where the screws attach.

Is it just me?

Thanks,
Jon
Valid8r is offline Find More Posts by Valid8r
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 15, 2008, 10:47 PM
innocent victim
Houston TX
Joined May 2007
6,034 Posts
yes it is just you, you probably have th SSkids mounts turned around backwards so they dont line up. did you take off the stock skid mounts that are screwed to the frame? you need to do that and screw the SSkid mount to the frame.
Blade_Killer is offline Find More Posts by Blade_Killer
Old Aug 15, 2008, 10:52 PM
United States, IL, Carbondale
Joined Jun 2005
443 Posts
They worked for me as well. If you're using the 3d version (i.e. without the boom support, I think it's called a knighthead?), make sure you reinforce the spot where the boom goes into the frame (search for picts on this site). Mine broke there, I was practicing my hard landing technique when it snapped (yeah that's it)

Berardino
baratta930 is offline Find More Posts by baratta930
Old Aug 15, 2008, 10:53 PM
Valid8r
Boston and Belgium
Joined Jul 2004
943 Posts
Probably right, but I did remove the stock skids and am screwing the new skids directly to the frame. I also turned them around so they are pointing forward. What bothers me is that I had to use the long screws to 'reach' the frame and that results in a gap between the frame and the SS attachment. It's as if the frame is 'suspended' between the SS attachment via the long screws...

Does this make sense?

Thanks,
Jon