SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:39 AM
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Uppsala, Sweden
Joined Sep 2008
3,640 Posts
Yes, you can shorten the coax all the way to the connector if you want.
boopidoo is online now Find More Posts by boopidoo
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 11, 2013, 05:49 PM
JEZUZ
Joined Jul 2007
3 Posts
Thank you very much Altimat, boopidoo and Thomas!!


I have tried of thousand ways and have not do the binding.

The servos do not work Thomas.

I have looked for solutions and I found this interesting web. Is it true this??

http://www.fpvmanuals.com/2011/03/17...ezuhf-or-tlrs/

Thanks again!
JEZUZ is offline Find More Posts by JEZUZ
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:55 PM
FPV Recon
Altimat's Avatar
United States, TX, Cedar Park
Joined Nov 2005
195 Posts
...
Altimat is offline Find More Posts by Altimat
Last edited by Altimat; Apr 07, 2013 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:03 PM
FPV Recon
Altimat's Avatar
United States, TX, Cedar Park
Joined Nov 2005
195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEZUZ View Post
I have tried of thousand ways and have not do the binding.

The servos do not work Thomas.
You seem to have a problem with PPM output from your RC Tx. It will never bind until you have PPM to the TSLRS Tx. I would start by adding the Tx LED shown here:



It flashes with power on and goes solid with PPM stream. Very nice!
Altimat is offline Find More Posts by Altimat
Last edited by Altimat; Feb 13, 2013 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:10 AM
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Uppsala, Sweden
Joined Sep 2008
3,640 Posts
@Altimat
The antenna makes a U-turn which isn't optimal. It would be better if you let the whole antennas be straight instead.

@JEZUZ
You need to provide a valid PPM-stream into the TX and all radios can't be supported. Your link seem to have some ideas to solve this so I would suggest you might try that. Also the LED modification is very nice indeed.
boopidoo is online now Find More Posts by boopidoo
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:11 PM
Work less, fly more!
Australia, WA, Broome
Joined Aug 2012
460 Posts
Hello all, I know this is a dumb question but l am going to ask it anyway, what is the difference between ppm and pwm. I understand the lrs uses ppm from the transmitter to do its thing, and servos use pwm to operate, but I loose all understanding when it comes to the chanel 12 and rssi output of the rx. When connecting the rssi output to an osd is only one wire used or the 3 wires from channel 12 and the rssi connection.

Thanks for any answers, angry
angry is offline Find More Posts by angry
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:23 AM
FPV Recon
Altimat's Avatar
United States, TX, Cedar Park
Joined Nov 2005
195 Posts
Ask away. I didn't know anything about this stuff only weeks ago.

Here is an excellent PPM-PWM tutorial.

Channel 12 is the channel that can be set up as your Rx PPM output channel and shares nothing with the RSSI output other than proximity. The Rx RSSI output connection is directly behind channel 12 and that is where you want to make the connection to the RSSI input of your OSD.

I soldered on a 2-wire pigtail with connector. You really only need one since ground is common to both components (just like you only need the signal wire to an ESC) but I grabbed a ground from the servo outputs as well to make a better plug connection with a common connector. This then plugs into a mating connector installed on my OSD.
Altimat is offline Find More Posts by Altimat
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:38 AM
Work less, fly more!
Australia, WA, Broome
Joined Aug 2012
460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altimat View Post
Ask away. I didn't know anything about this stuff only weeks ago.

Here is an excellent PPM-PWM tutorial.

Channel 12 is the channel that can be set up as your Rx PPM output channel and shares nothing with the RSSI output other than proximity. The Rx RSSI output connection is directly behind channel 12 and that is where you want to make the connection to the RSSI input of your OSD.

I soldered on a 2-wire pigtail with connector. You really only need one since ground is common to both components (just like you only need the signal wire to an ESC) but I grabbed a ground from the servo outputs as well to make a better plug connection with a common connector. This then plugs into a mating connector installed on my OSD.
Hello Altimat,

thanks for your help
angry
angry is offline Find More Posts by angry
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 02:36 AM
T.ing to put on air 100 models
chiloschista's Avatar
Switzerland
Joined Feb 2008
697 Posts
Hi,
could please someone (Thomas ?) tell me the specs of the PPM12 that comes out of the TS rx when PPM12 is selected (Graupner).
In particular is it a fixed or variable length frame ?
How long ?
Other ?

Thanks !

Ric
chiloschista is online now Find More Posts by chiloschista
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 02:14 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
The PPM from an RX is in phase with data from the TX
The NEW TX firmware sends data at about 30mS constant speed
The old TX firmware sends data in phase with incomming ppm frame.

So the RX PPM frame is ALWAYS constant,
unless it recall failsafe, then it is unlocked ! while it searches the band for a good data signal and lock to it again.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:16 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
all is happy out flying ?
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 08:20 AM
Work less, fly more!
Australia, WA, Broome
Joined Aug 2012
460 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasscherrer View Post
all is happy out flying ?
always happy with TSLRS, it works. Well.
angry is offline Find More Posts by angry
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 02:28 PM
FPV Recon
Altimat's Avatar
United States, TX, Cedar Park
Joined Nov 2005
195 Posts
My NAZA intermittently boots to a flashing red error. Other times it boots fine. I believe that the PPM stream from the TSLRS occasionally establishes itself a split-second too late for the NAZA start sequence, and that delaying NAZA power-up might be a fix. Is this a possible cause and likely fix, and can anyone think of any way to accomplish this? I guess I could test my theory by separately powering up the TSLRS first with a separate battery?? Then I worry about back-feeding power into the NAZA and powering the TSLRS from two sources concurrently.

Obviously power to the TSLRS comes from the NAZA so I don't see a solution other than rebooting until success, and the rate of success is about 50%.
Altimat is offline Find More Posts by Altimat
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 03:58 PM
Registered User
United States, MD, North East
Joined Apr 2011
280 Posts
I got my Tx back from Thomas after having intermittent fail safe issues. These were resolved with a simple firmware upgrade and I have been happily flying for a few weeks now.
chemnut842 is offline Find More Posts by chemnut842
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:18 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
hello Altimat, I dont know what a naza is, so I am sorry no clue how to help.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Long range flight using new DMD 868Mhz RC equipment tron FPV Talk 500 Feb 25, 2014 03:22 AM
Idea Long Range RC pmarek UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 22 Nov 07, 2011 07:17 PM
Long Range RC Link? cloudy Radios 2 Aug 09, 2008 01:11 PM
long range radio system suggestions?? oracle_9 Thermal 15 Aug 09, 2008 11:44 AM
Discussion Long Range 2.4 Ghz Wireless RC Camera edplane Aerial Photography 8 Apr 18, 2008 09:24 PM