HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 17, 2012, 10:47 PM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
San Francisco
Joined May 2009
1,097 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasscherrer View Post
Randy, what is the voltage with ALL other units on the plane OFF ?
and try to take out the antenna too ?
and offcourse turn off the LRS TX
CaliDave's post prompted me to finally check the voltages as you asked for. Here are the results:

All components connected except for the Vid Tx

LRS On: 3.31v
LRS Off: 2.15v

Vid Cam, ESC and Vid Tx off

LRS On: 3.31v
LRS Off: 1.75v

Vid Cam & Vid Tx off

LRS On: 3.34v
LRS Off: 1.75v

ESC & Vid Tx off

LRS On: 3.33v
LRS Off:2.00v

With the LRS off, the voltage bounced around, so I picked the average. It varied about .10v. Taking the antenna off didn't make any difference in the voltage.

So, the voltage never drops anywhere near the .5v that it's suppose to. I think I still have a defective unit. Again, my original V6 had the missing IC chip and this is a replacement. What is the fix for this?
rsowder is offline Find More Posts by rsowder
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:27 PM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Feb 2012
652 Posts
My fix so far is make sure my rth or failsafe works... I have yet to out fly tslrs but with my new zephyr and helical vid antenna i would like to get a signal indication. Does it work on rvosd
elliott000 is offline Find More Posts by elliott000
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 12:38 AM
Registered User
CaliDave's Avatar
Bay Area
Joined Dec 2010
2,376 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsowder View Post
CaliDave's post prompted me to finally check the voltages as you asked for. Here are the results:

All components connected except for the Vid Tx

LRS On: 3.31v
LRS Off: 2.15v

Vid Cam, ESC and Vid Tx off

LRS On: 3.31v
LRS Off: 1.75v

Vid Cam & Vid Tx off

LRS On: 3.34v
LRS Off: 1.75v

ESC & Vid Tx off

LRS On: 3.33v
LRS Off:2.00v

With the LRS off, the voltage bounced around, so I picked the average. It varied about .10v. Taking the antenna off didn't make any difference in the voltage.

So, the voltage never drops anywhere near the .5v that it's suppose to. I think I still have a defective unit. Again, my original V6 had the missing IC chip and this is a replacement. What is the fix for this?

And I too just tested both my V4 and V6 units back to back:

All components connected except for the Vid Tx (v6)
LRS On: 3.23v
LRS Off: 1.9v (voltage swinging some lower)

Vid Cam, ESC and Vid Tx off (v6)
LRS On: 3.27v
LRS Off: 1.3v (voltage swinging some lower)

Vid Cam & Vid Tx off (v6)
LRS On: 3.27v
LRS Off: 1.3v (voltage swinging some lower)

All components on (v6)
LRS On: 3.26v
LRS Off:1.89v



So that's 2 for 2 regardless of the components that are showing a voltage from around:

1.8v - 3.26v --- NOT 0.5 - 3.3v a you say it should be.

While my V4 shows 0.5v - 1.04 on it's test with the rx alone... as advertised.

The v6 rx seem to not be going down to 0.5v on our testing.

CAN ANYONE ELSE WITH A V6 TEST THIS AND POST BACK HERE PLEASE!

You just need to touch a volt meter + (Red) to the RSSI pin and the - (Ground = Black) to the ground pin on any rx channel and see if you're v6 is going down to 0.5v when nothing is connected and the tx turned off but the rx powered? It will be good to show others are also seeing this on the v6 units.

Now is this our problem? I have no idea and maybe Thomas you can check.

ALSO, not sure if this matters but I use a v4 tx and not a v6 tx.



Timeline for your customers trying to solve this issue:

Here's another post where two other users pointed this out in this thread (Oct 24th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10787

And another user pointing this out even earlier (Oct 8th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10728

Those came in after out previous attempts to solve this with you and post measurements in September... here we are almost in December same issue (Sept 26th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10709

Another user realized there's an issue with the v6 and ETOSD (Sept 18th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10676

You are bothered by us trying to figure out why the RSSI isn't working stating "come on, I can not know all about all OSD types,
and I can not help with how to read the manual about how to read out RSSI on many OSD types..
" (Aug 21):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10591

My last attempt after trying initially and having you be rude about this (Aug 16th.):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10582

I finally receive the IC chip fix for the v6 rx and realize the RSSI isn't acting the same and ask initially here (July 30th) and post a number of times from July to Aug 16th:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10495

Hopefully you get the point and can help us now.
CaliDave is online now Find More Posts by CaliDave
Last edited by CaliDave; Nov 18, 2012 at 01:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 01:23 AM
Registered User
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Feb 2012
652 Posts
I can measure when i get my tx back, maybe a week
elliott000 is offline Find More Posts by elliott000
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 02:37 AM
Work less, fly more!
Australia, WA, Broome
Joined Aug 2012
450 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliDave View Post
And I too just tested both my V4 and V6 units back to back:

All components connected except for the Vid Tx (v6)
LRS On: 3.23v
LRS Off: 1.9v (voltage swinging some lower)

Vid Cam, ESC and Vid Tx off (v6)
LRS On: 3.27v
LRS Off: 1.3v (voltage swinging some lower)

Vid Cam & Vid Tx off (v6)
LRS On: 3.27v
LRS Off: 1.3v (voltage swinging some lower)

All components on (v6)
LRS On: 3.26v
LRS Off:1.89v



So that's 2 for 2 regardless of the components that are showing a voltage from around:

1.8v - 3.26v --- NOT 0.5 - 3.3v a you say it should be.

While my V4 shows 0.5v - 1.04 on it's test with the rx alone... as advertised.

The v6 rx seem to not be going down to 0.5v on our testing.

CAN ANYONE ELSE WITH A V6 TEST THIS AND POST BACK HERE PLEASE!

You just need to touch a volt meter + (Red) to the RSSI pin and the - (Ground = Black) to the ground pin on any rx channel and see if you're v6 is going down to 0.5v when nothing is connected and the tx turned off but the rx powered? It will be good to show others are also seeing this on the v6 units.

Now is this our problem? I have no idea and maybe Thomas you can check.

ALSO, not sure if this matters but I use a v4 tx and not a v6 tx.



Timeline for your customers trying to solve this issue:

Here's another post where two other users pointed this out in this thread (Oct 24th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10787

And another user pointing this out even earlier (Oct 8th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10728

Those came in after out previous attempts to solve this with you and post measurements in September... here we are almost in December same issue (Sept 26th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10709

Another user realized there's an issue with the v6 and ETOSD (Sept 18th):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10676

You are bothered by us trying to figure out why the RSSI isn't working stating "come on, I can not know all about all OSD types,
and I can not help with how to read the manual about how to read out RSSI on many OSD types..
" (Aug 21):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10591

My last attempt after trying initially and having you be rude about this (Aug 16th.):
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10582

I finally receive the IC chip fix for the v6 rx and realize the RSSI isn't acting the same and ask initially here (July 30th) and post a number of times from July to Aug 16th:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...ostcount=10495

Hopefully you get the point and can help us now.
will do tonight with long range receiver and long range power boost receiver tonight
angry is offline Find More Posts by angry
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 05:22 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,207 Posts
it is actually really geniously to use the rssi value as noise measurements on your plane,
in search mode, the RX will scann the whole radio band, and rssi is a filtered avarage
of the background noise in the band, if this level rise, when you turn on stuff on your plane,
that item generates noise.
with ALL units OFF, and try also to take out the RX antennas, that is the ZERO value,
offcourse when you put in the antennas, the background noise will rise a bit
or alot even if your plane is compleetly shut down,
radio stations and TV stations and such nearby will rise the level, how ever your TX will be VERY much stronger, and on the exact channel as the RX is listen on, this way it is a bit different issue, like much better signal to noise ratio, when you look at it over time,
since it is a wide band frequency hopper.

The V6 to V4 rssi MODIFICATION
Remove R40 and R41, be sure no shorts are left on the pads,
now rssi level will be from 0.5 to 1.0 V like your V4 receivers
and then no problems with setting up the OSD
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:01 AM
Work less, fly more!
Australia, WA, Broome
Joined Aug 2012
450 Posts
hello all, these are the voltages for my V6 RSSI.

long range power boost rx 3.19v and bouncing from 0.96 to 2.63v

long range rx 3.19v from 1.47v to 2.76v

this issue has never bothered me as i have never tried to use RSSI, and just rely on autopilot with RTH. i guess i should learn to use it.
angry is offline Find More Posts by angry
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 01:20 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,207 Posts
hello Angry, you can be happy..
looks like your receivers work, and give out a nice rssi voltage change.

the idle voltages, did you check them with antennas off too ?
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 01:35 AM
Work less, fly more!
Australia, WA, Broome
Joined Aug 2012
450 Posts
Hello Thomas, no but I will do. Thanks for the reply, I have 2 complete system's now and both flawless. Thank you
angry is offline Find More Posts by angry
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 02:00 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,207 Posts
even if they work perfectly for you,
it is always nice to know if items on your plane do radiate noise in the critical band,
items must be extreamly clean not to add a little bit noise, and to eat a bit from your margin,
but again, most people can afford a bit taken away from the 100km margin :-)
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 06:10 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
95 Posts
What about my question on the Multiplex Royal Evo 12 being discontinued Thomas? Do you have another favored TX to use with your system? I have asked emailed this question to your company several times, but have not gotten an answer.
UncleMatt is offline Find More Posts by UncleMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 06:37 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,207 Posts
evo 16 works too :-)

besides that I newer really looked for anything else, since my evo 12 still works perfectly.
I am very carefull to advice about what TX unit to purchase, some people like fancy large color screens,
I dont mind much about the screen size, I started to fly with non computer based tx units,
the planes dont mind much too, they dont fly better anyway, infact maybe the other way arround :-)
if the pilot fumble arround with his large touch screen and dials all over the rig, while he fly..
I like the little screen on my evo, I can see the mix results, and curves, and design my own expo and multible rates.
there is a list of PPM approved units on my good old webpage
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Last edited by thomasscherrer; Nov 19, 2012 at 06:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 11:40 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
95 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasscherrer View Post
evo 16 works too :-)

besides that I newer really looked for anything else, since my evo 12 still works perfectly.
I am very carefull to advice about what TX unit to purchase, some people like fancy large color screens,
I dont mind much about the screen size, I started to fly with non computer based tx units,
the planes dont mind much too, they dont fly better anyway, infact maybe the other way arround :-)
if the pilot fumble arround with his large touch screen and dials all over the rig, while he fly..
I like the little screen on my evo, I can see the mix results, and curves, and design my own expo and multible rates.
there is a list of PPM approved units on my good old webpage
Thanks Thomas, I am aware of your list, I was just told by staff at your site that the Multiplex Royal Evo 12 was the preferred Tx. I will see what is available on the 16 channel front, but as near as I can tell, the 12 channel has been discontinued by Mutliplex.
UncleMatt is offline Find More Posts by UncleMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 07:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2006
95 Posts
Thomas, I was informed via email from Multiplex that the Evo 16 is not being made available in the USA, and all older models have been discontinued. Not sure if you were aware of this or not.

And like you, a big screen is not on my must have list at all.
UncleMatt is offline Find More Posts by UncleMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 07:52 PM
Registered User
North vancouver, B.C. Canada
Joined Apr 2008
18,474 Posts
Thomas recommended to me long ago the ego 12

It is great radio

Funny at clubs guys look at my evo 12 and call it old school and old looking etc

Haha hehe little do they know how powerfully my rc tx is

I use digi key knob to tilt the camera
David22 is offline Find More Posts by David22
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Long range flight using new DMD 868Mhz RC equipment tron FPV Talk 500 Feb 25, 2014 02:22 AM
Idea Long Range RC pmarek UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 22 Nov 07, 2011 06:17 PM
Long Range RC Link? cloudy Radios 2 Aug 09, 2008 12:11 PM
long range radio system suggestions?? oracle_9 Thermal 15 Aug 09, 2008 10:44 AM
Discussion Long Range 2.4 Ghz Wireless RC Camera edplane Aerial Photography 8 Apr 18, 2008 08:24 PM