HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 31, 2011, 03:24 AM
Registered User
Italy
Joined May 2009
364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasscherrer View Post
you need a large directional antenna, to be able to seek and find lost stuff,
why not let this antenna be the one you use for video,
and save the money on other things you try not to have any use of anyway.
I found my lost funjet with a patch antenna, the camera on it was disconnected by the impact, I simply pointed to where the fuzzy screen was a little more black, It was 2 km far away, That time I was very very lucky too
http://www.baronerosso.it/forum/atta...8122010184.jpg
http://www.baronerosso.it/forum/atta...8122010183.jpg
http://www.baronerosso.it/forum/atta...8122010185.jpg

I am using a GPS-GSM tracker in my cularis, I have 1260 txv and Thomas 433, I hope GSM doesn't give me problems.
anestetico is offline Find More Posts by anestetico
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2006
361 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastislavko View Post
Thank you very much. You are true, so I'll not try to run both systems. But mostly you don't have video right into the ground. For the first longer flights I'll only use locator buzzer and later I will perhaps order this one and set it to activate after 2 hours - if I will not find my plane up to two hours, any further interferences will not harm it any more... :-)
I highly recommend using a GPS tracker and a beeper. As long as there is GSM coverage at the crash site (and the tracker has not been destroyed in the crash), you will get exact positional information where to look for the plane, right onto your phone. (btw, 446MHz is typically used for cheap PMR radios. So if you want to go this way, it would be a good idea to feed it with encoded GPS derived positional data).
hartwig is offline Find More Posts by hartwig
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:18 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2006
361 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by anestetico View Post
I found my lost funjet with a patch antenna, the camera on it was disconnected by the impact, I simply pointed to where the fuzzy screen was a little more black, It was 2 km far away, That time I was very very lucky too
http://www.baronerosso.it/forum/atta...8122010184.jpg
http://www.baronerosso.it/forum/atta...8122010183.jpg
http://www.baronerosso.it/forum/atta...8122010185.jpg

I am using a GPS-GSM tracker in my cularis, I have 1260 txv and Thomas 433, I hope GSM doesn't give me problems.
I am using these trackers for years now and have not noticed any interference with any LRS system I've used so far.
hartwig is offline Find More Posts by hartwig
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:18 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,213 Posts
>I hope GSM doesn't give me problems

I do nok like when people put words like "hope" into FPV installations..
you must KNOW !!

the problem with GSM devices is they are VERY hard to test for jamming of other units.
you know GSM devices automaticly change band and tx power
depending on where they are located and how they receive from the tower,
this means you can test all to be perfectly fine while on one location
at one time of the day, and maybe NOT while flying, so be very cautions with this.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:21 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,213 Posts
>I am using these trackers for years now and have not noticed any interference
>with any LRS system I've used so far.

that is offcourse very good info,
what mount distance, and mode of opperation of the tracker ?
I always play the VERY safe, and VERY cautions type of game,
I know it is ignoring to listen to all the time, but I prefer people do not have any tech problems
and crash that can be avoided with smart thinking
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:28 AM
Registered User
Italy
Joined May 2009
364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasscherrer View Post
>I hope GSM doesn't give me problems

I do nok like when people put words like "hope" into FPV installations..
you must KNOW !!

the problem with GSM devices is they are VERY hard to test for jamming of other units.
you know GSM devices automaticly change band and tx power
depending on where they are located and how they receive from the tower,
this means you can test all to be perfectly fine while on one location
at one time of the day, and maybe NOT while flying, so be very cautions with this.
Sorry but that's why I said hope, I've tested it on the ground calling with my phone but I can't test it on the whole run without flying it, I've put it near the motor, very far away and I have a very well working RTH.
anestetico is offline Find More Posts by anestetico
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:40 AM
2R Fly Team
smoln1's Avatar
Slovenija, Radovljica, Radovljica
Joined Jul 2009
208 Posts
Hello!

Do you have a possible connection diagram six pin connector Futabo T10cg for LRS Tomas Scherrer? Everything I tried, but it does not work.
smoln1 is offline Find More Posts by smoln1
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 04:59 AM
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jun 2006
748 Posts
Here is the diagram:



The picture is from the connector on radio, so you have to match your trainer plug correctly. You have to bring black wire (PPM signal) to the number 3, red cable (power) to the number 5 and shielding wires (ground) to the number 2.

(source: http://users.belgacom.net/TX2TX/tx2t...h/tx2txgb3.htm)
Rastislavko is offline Find More Posts by Rastislavko
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 06:00 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,213 Posts
be carefull about thrusting the color of the cables of student cables !!
I have seen it mixed a few times !
check and double check, before you connect to LRS TX
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 07:08 AM
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Slovakia, Bratislava Region, Bratislava
Joined Jun 2006
748 Posts
Thomas: You can buy spare futaba square trainer plugs... So no need to bother with cables and their colors... Something like this one: http://www.flytron.com/22-futaba-mini-square-plug.html - you may offer them for customers with futaba radios :-) Even though I prefer module installation...
Rastislavko is offline Find More Posts by Rastislavko
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 09:33 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,213 Posts
I prefer to let customers get their own connectors this way I can focus on things
only I can solve, and this way keep a good quality vs price ratio.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 09:56 AM
Registered User
Hugeone's Avatar
Canada,Quebec
Joined Jan 2005
2,028 Posts
I been offering a futaba adapter in my shop for a while, approx one customer out of two order it. It plug into the trainer port and let you plug a battery, the LRS and a tracker.
It contain a relay that click on when you power the radio, so very little power is drawn from the trainer connection. It then feed the LRS + tracker from the external batt.

I also offer radio integration to those who want to ship their radio.
http://www.truerc.net/canada/shop/lo...f_systems.html

-Hugo
Hugeone is online now Find More Posts by Hugeone
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 10:23 AM
Registered User
PnoT's Avatar
USA, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Jan 2011
430 Posts
I have a DX8 and I'm trying to figure out how I can setup the AIO goggles and the TLRS together. Any ideas?
PnoT is offline Find More Posts by PnoT
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 11:04 AM
Registered User
Hugeone's Avatar
Canada,Quebec
Joined Jan 2005
2,028 Posts
I think the DX8 cannot output and input PPM at the same time.
You will need some kind of mixers, I know FMkit here sell such device, I ordered some, but they never worked properly.

-Hugo
Hugeone is online now Find More Posts by Hugeone
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2011, 12:14 PM
Registered User
PnoT's Avatar
USA, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Jan 2011
430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugeone View Post
I think the DX8 cannot output and input PPM at the same time.
You will need some kind of mixers, I know FMkit here sell such device, I ordered some, but they never worked properly.

-Hugo
I'd really hate to have to buy a new TX...

Will a Futaba do HT with the all in one googles & TLRS at the same time?
PnoT is offline Find More Posts by PnoT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Long range flight using new DMD 868Mhz RC equipment tron FPV Talk 500 Feb 25, 2014 02:22 AM
Idea Long Range RC pmarek UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 22 Nov 07, 2011 06:17 PM
Long Range RC Link? cloudy Radios 2 Aug 09, 2008 12:11 PM
long range radio system suggestions?? oracle_9 Thermal 15 Aug 09, 2008 10:44 AM
Discussion Long Range 2.4 Ghz Wireless RC Camera edplane Aerial Photography 8 Apr 18, 2008 08:24 PM