HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 20, 2008, 12:06 PM
No guts no glory
pratorian's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2007
1,677 Posts
thanks for the tips thomas,

I'll see if I can mount one of the antenna vertically if it can help giving me better range.

As for the failsafes, I dont give the heli a very low pitch when the throttle is down so I'll set the failsafe to throttle off the heli wont just drop to the ground it should autorotate a little but anyways lockouts on a heli are always bad news I crashed my 3 trex because of pcm lockouts

I'll get one of those bnc angled adaptor its a great idea for the tx antenna

stupid wind is blowing again today forecast is good for later tonight and tomorrow so I should be able to test it out soon!

thanks
pratorian is offline Find More Posts by pratorian
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 20, 2008, 05:09 PM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
good, if possible mount the two antennas on the plane/heli as wierd angles as possible, like one vertical but not 100% vertical, and the other horizontal but not 100% horizontal, then your chance of hitting the "bad" spot is much harder :-)

remember to do the recommended range test on fpv planes
like explained in the manual:

RANGECHECK
Can be done just like conventional RC systems, in this case simply unmount the TX antenna,
then expect 4-10 meters of range, then check you have same (short) range with motor on/off,
and with video cams and video transmitters on/off, if no change, then mount TX antenna again and fly.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Last edited by thomasscherrer; Sep 20, 2008 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2008, 10:07 PM
No guts no glory
pratorian's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2007
1,677 Posts
the wind died tonight and I was able to test fly the trex 450 FPV with the new control system. I didnt want to push it too far on the first flight, the system worked perfectly! I crashed 3 trex previously on 72mhz pcm with the exact same setup at those distances so it looks very promising!

I am getting some anoying video glitches tho... I wasnt getting those before, could they be caused by the control system Thomas ? The 450 is soo small that there cant be alot of space between all the antennas. From the pictures I posted before, do you think there is anything I can change to fix the glitches ?

2.4ghz 500mw lawmate tx with 3dbi omni
8dbi patch for rx
powered by a seperate 3s lipo
kx 171 camera

here is the video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P__2gRsOruQ
pratorian is offline Find More Posts by pratorian
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 02:50 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
>I am getting some anoying video glitches tho...

yes I see

> I wasnt getting those before,

how sure about that are you ?
did you fly the same location ?
did you place the receiver antenna exactly same style ?
is it a circular ? or vertical/horizontal ? and placed correctly ?
you know if the video tx ant is horizontal and your video receiver patch is vertical
you have lost 26dB of the signal ! and that could explain it.
and video tx antenna ? nothing moved or changed ?
I suggest you point the video tx antenna straight up or down, and be sure your patch is vertical !

> could they be caused by the control system Thomas ?

that is possible if your distance from your UHF RC TX is located really near your video RX, try to seperate more and see if any change.
you can disconnect the helis motor wires, and try to walk arround with the heli with RC system on/off to see if any change in the issue, this will prove if the RC TX is jamming your video RX. for that test you might need a helper to walk arround with the heli and find a bad video spot and hold the heli exactly there, then you turn RC system on/off while looking on the screen,

> The 450 is soo small that there cant be alot of space between all the antennas.

on the heli the UHF RX system is a RECEIVER only !
so it dont radiate anything into your video system,
but maybe you have moved something by accident and that is why you have caused
the video tx to be less radiating or more directional ?

> From the pictures I posted before,
>do you think there is anything I can change to fix the glitches ?

I did not see the video tx ? and the video antenna ?
on your pictures, try to take a closeup picture of that ?

the video glitches you have looks like normal nullings from the ground.
you can try to locate your video receiver antenna directly on the ground and point it to the plane, if you have it on a stand to 1m over the ground, nulings will be a bit worse,
the most normal way to solve the nulling problem is to use a diversity video receiver/system.
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Last edited by thomasscherrer; Sep 22, 2008 at 02:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 03:40 AM
Registered User
Impulze's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jul 2004
712 Posts
I have made my first flight with the system, it works perfect. The only thing for me causing some noise in the picture was the pan servo(hs85mg). Somehow the videoTx is picking up noise from it. Will soon add some pictures of the plane and installation

Thomas: If i change model in the TX do i always need to renew the bindings?



//Matte
Impulze is offline Find More Posts by Impulze
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 04:37 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
>Thomas: If i change model in the TX do i always need to renew the bindings?

not if the other model uses same number of assigned servoes then the timing wil be the same, so the receiver will still be happy.

it is most normal to change model, for another plane ?
then you just have ANOTHER receiver mounted there,
then other model can use another number of servoes and use another timing,
it is stored in the receiver ! so you dont need to bind in that case,

BUT if you have only one receiver and reuses it in more planes !!
then you MUST bing to be sure the timing is stored correctly !
and also the failsafe must be right, imagine what can happen if that is all stored wrong
like when a receiver is taken from one model and put into another, be carefull and use it right as it is designed for.

I recomment to check FS is stored correctly
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 04:54 AM
Registered User
Impulze's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jul 2004
712 Posts
Alright, I will only use your receiver in all my planes. Dont think i will go back to 35Mhz ever

//Matte
Impulze is offline Find More Posts by Impulze
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 05:16 PM
Registered User
Impulze's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Jul 2004
712 Posts
Some pics of the setup

The TX is secured with....dont know the name, in sweden they are known as cat strangler. Maybe ziptie or something...








//Matte
Impulze is offline Find More Posts by Impulze
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2008, 06:44 PM
Multicopter/FPV/UAV/HAM
_helitron_'s Avatar
Austria, Stmk., Neudau
Joined Jun 2006
823 Posts
Matte,

hey, great idea how you've installed the Rx in the Easyglider !

Erwin
_helitron_ is offline Find More Posts by _helitron_
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 03:54 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
cable ties, kabelbindere
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cable_tie
(cat strangler, what a terrible name)
not all your pictures works. come on fly it, range test it, beat the record !
win !
http://www.webx.dk/rc/uhf-link3/competition.htm
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 09:57 AM
No guts no glory
pratorian's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2007
1,677 Posts
I fixed the video glitch problem ! I forgot the unit on the heli was only a receiver so it had nothing to do with the glitch problem of course...

My camera wire was routed right next to the motor current wires, I attached the camera wire away from the other ones and it fixed my problem.

I flew the trex again yesterday, went a little farther this time, the control system works perfectly! Thanks again Thomas, this system is worth every penny.

Those of you who havent tried FPV with a heli need to try it, its increadible totaly different feeling than with a plane.

The video is shaky, I landed in tall grass on my first flight and bent the main rotor shaft, cracked a blade (that were already out of balance) so the trex was flying like s**t, but I was having way too much fun to stop flying!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAjj_fcVo4U
pratorian is offline Find More Posts by pratorian
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 10:25 AM
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
Danmark, Hovedstaden, Ballerup
Joined May 2007
3,221 Posts
cool ! good the video issue is fixed,
be carefull with the electric wires you are a bit close to them some times.
now test the range, dont be a girl :-)
lets hear about what kind of video and rc range you have now :-)
thomasscherrer is offline Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2008, 10:51 AM
No guts no glory
pratorian's Avatar
Quebec, Canada
Joined Sep 2007
1,677 Posts
I'll do some range tests today I'm at the airport and there is NO WIND AT ALL! its a miracle... I can fly about 10 miles north and I'll only be over blueberry fields so there is no risk of killing any babies.

I'll try 3 kms that's way further than I need to fly this trex anyways...

I plan on installing my 2nd receiver on the easystar and setup my ground station on the roof of one of my hangar (about 25-30 feet up) and do the real range tests from there I crashed my easy last week and the camera stopped working for some reason... weird it wasnt even one of my greatest crashes. I need to order a new camera then I'll go for the range record!
pratorian is offline Find More Posts by pratorian
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 07:01 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2006
361 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pratorian
I crashed my easy last week and the camera stopped working for some reason...
Did you crash it because the camera stopped working? I had something similar last year, and I suspected the battery because it was very cold and I didn't have an osd onboard that day.
(Maybe you meant that the camera stopped working because of the crash... )

Cheers,
Hartwig
hartwig is offline Find More Posts by hartwig
Last edited by hartwig; Sep 24, 2008 at 07:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2008, 07:50 AM
Multicopter/FPV/UAV/HAM
_helitron_'s Avatar
Austria, Stmk., Neudau
Joined Jun 2006
823 Posts
Hi Hartwig,

is your UHF system on the way to you already ? At the moment I'm just trying to integrate the system "professionally" in my R/C Tx tray .

Cheers,

Erwin
_helitron_ is offline Find More Posts by _helitron_
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Long range flight using new DMD 868Mhz RC equipment tron FPV Talk 500 Feb 25, 2014 03:22 AM
Idea Long Range RC pmarek UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 22 Nov 07, 2011 07:17 PM
Long Range RC Link? cloudy Radios 2 Aug 09, 2008 01:11 PM
long range radio system suggestions?? oracle_9 Thermal 15 Aug 09, 2008 11:44 AM
Discussion Long Range 2.4 Ghz Wireless RC Camera edplane Aerial Photography 8 Apr 18, 2008 09:24 PM