HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 28, 2008, 09:24 PM
Canucklehead
GTA, Ontario, Canada
Joined Apr 2004
827 Posts
Question
Did Steve Fossett Fake his Death?

I'm surprised this hasn't been posted yet. British newspaper the Daily Telegraph is reporting that adventurer Steve Fossett might have faked his death. The base behind the story comes from Lt Colonel Cynthia Ryan of the US Civil Air Patrol.

Quote:
She said: "I've been doing this search and rescue for 14 years. Fossett should have been found.

"It's not like we didn't have our eyes open. We found six other planes while we were looking for him. We're pretty good at what we do."
She believed he may have faked his death due to personal problems. A number of anomalies have been noted with the incident.

Quote:
Only one witness, a pilot at hotel magnate Barron Hilton's flying ranch near Reno, claims to have seen him take off that day.

That witness claims Fossett asked him to prepare the plane for take off, even though he had never allowed anyone else to do this before.

Fossett also apparently claimed he was going to scout for locations for a land speed record attempt, but he supposedly took off with no emergency equipment.

The choice of plane was also a baffling one - a Bellanca Citabria Super Decathlon, which, according to risk assessor Robert Davis said was constructed from a steel and wood frame, but actually covered in fabric, making it easy to dismantle.
Fossett reportedly has a 25 million Pound life insurance policy from Lloyd's of London.

Richard Branson and Fossett's wife have dismissed the allegations as untrue. One local news network suggested he was possibly having an affair.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2462...own-death.html
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worl...th-claims.html