HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 30, 2008, 10:54 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,570 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by randall1959
Well, since my new radio hasn't arrived yet, and I have only ever used channel 6 for pan anyway, I decided to crack open my Prizm 7X and cut the wires to that pot and added a servo lead. Being mindfull of the position of the center wire, I then added the corresponding connector to the gymbal. Either it's because I am using a Futaba Gymbal on a Hitec radio, or something else, even at full deflection of the gymbal, I'm probably only getting 20 degrees of movement, total.
http://www.vimeo.com/1440198
On my radio, I've got all the epa's set out to 125% It also appears that the knob rotates much farther than the gymbal will allow it's pot to rotate so I'm going to have to look into some means of fixing that.
Just a thought... did you compare/measure the resistances of the gimbal pot and the flap pot?
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:04 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
No I haven't. Either way, the way this is working won't help much. I might have to go back to simpler 3 channel flight and use channel 4 in order for the gymbal to give me enough movement.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:09 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
The pot on the flap switch on the tx has .9 something and the pot on the gymbal has .3 something. There is much more resistance on the gymbal is what I'm getting. Like 3 times as much.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:16 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,570 Posts
Hmmm, that would explain the reduced travel.

if you can find a pot that fits your gimbal, or a different gimbal with resistance closer to what the flap pot measures, that would help...
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:25 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
I found the answer to my problem I got a servo extender from servo city
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:28 PM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Edmonton,Canada Eh
Joined Jun 2007
7,570 Posts
Ahhh yes, that would work.
galaxiex is offline Find More Posts by galaxiex
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:32 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
28,396 Posts
If you'd read the thread I linked earlier, you'd learn that you can't
measure the resistance of one pot versus another and have it mean anything
at all. It'll range from seemingly meaningful to completely baffling, even
if the two pots work identically. All that matters is the voltage between the
signal wire and ground when a voltage is applied across the outside two
terminals and the pot is moved. For the most part the gymbal pot and flap pot
should give you the same total range.

You either need a servo extender, as you found, or a programmable
digital servo (such as the Hyperion Atlas series). The latter
will give you *much* greater precision.

ian
Daemon is online now Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:47 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
Ok, but having said that, the one with the greatest resistance would allow less current to flow, which would also change things. The servo I have mounted in my Easy Star is probably there until I fly into something and break it loose The servo stretcher appears to be the least hassle to work with and less expensive. I'm not worried about great precision, just being able to look toward where I'm wanting to turn or to check out the area for hawks. Whether or not I read your thread in it's entirety, Daemon, I would probably still have tried this without the servo extender first, then went from there. If I had ordered the extender and found out later that I didn't need it that would have been twenty bucks more or less wasted.
In the meantime I'm working on a way to cut down this gymbal setup to just what's needed and I've really been able to cut a lot of the "junk" off it. Now I'm down to just one side of the entire gymbal setup. I've managed to retain the pot, the trim knob and the spring tensioner and the whole thing is only an inch thick as compared to that big plastic block.
I'm making progress
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:47 PM
Just trying to get a nut.
scrtsqrl's Avatar
United States, VA, McLean
Joined Oct 2006
6,387 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by randall1959
It also appears that the knob rotates much farther than the gymbal will allow it's pot to rotate so I'm going to have to look into some means of fixing that.
This is the problem solved by having the bungy choord arranged as in my video...Because of the mechanical advantage of the pot (it is closer to the "fulcrum") one needs only to move his head slightly to get end point to end point movement of the pan servo.
scrtsqrl is online now Find More Posts by scrtsqrl
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2008, 11:50 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
The bungee idea wouldn't have helped in this situation scrt. I had the lever all the way over and it only moved the camera ten degrees. I'm not running mine through the rudder channel. I'm running mine through the flap dial. That dial rotates almost 300 degrees. The gymbal rotates it's pot maybe twenty at most. The only other way to overcome that would be to use a gear setup to rotate the pot more.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:17 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
I ended up going to the front of the helmet I think. I tried various attaching methods, rods, levers and such on the back but couldn't get much movement and it was hard to move my head around much. So since I am only using pan, I removed the pot completely and put it on an L bracket, attached some fishing line to the arm, and tied a rubber band on the end of that and slipped it over my tx antenna. It actually does move the servo quite a bit more now but I still need more movement. I'm going to wait now until the servo stretcher gets here and also get one of those retractable things. They give em away to us at work for our keycards
I'll just have to get used to having this thing in front of me.
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:20 PM
Registered User
hoysome's Avatar
Alberta, Canada
Joined Jun 2008
817 Posts
your going with a servo stretcher, but a digital servo can also be programmed to do it
hoysome is offline Find More Posts by hoysome
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:22 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
But aren't digital servos rather expensive? How do you program them anyway?
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jul 31, 2008, 11:24 PM
Registered User
hoysome's Avatar
Alberta, Canada
Joined Jun 2008
817 Posts
potentially, im not sure how much a regular servo + servo mod for extra radius costs, as I bought a digital with a 400şmod already done on it
hoysome is offline Find More Posts by hoysome
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 01, 2008, 05:01 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Feb 2004
7,056 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrtsqrl
This is the problem solved by having the bungy choord arranged as in my video...Because of the mechanical advantage of the pot (it is closer to the "fulcrum") one needs only to move his head slightly to get end point to end point movement of the pan servo.
I think also that it works better on the front as opposed to the back because on the back, without some sort of rod to hold it back a ways, it's right on your neck basically and on the front, it's around six inches or so from your neck.
Anyways, I made progress today. Got my ID card retractor today and I'm getting ready to attach it to the switch. I also need to figure out what to put on the end of my tx antenna. Something rubber or plastic. I'll have to look through my junk drawer
randall1959 is offline Find More Posts by randall1959
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool I wonder if this works.... It's pretty cool Akura2 Motorcycles 2 Jul 10, 2006 10:33 AM
Wonder if they will send Dan Rather to cover this? 1987tc Life, The Universe, and Politics 1 Nov 05, 2004 09:21 AM
i wonder if this would work-yellow aircraft stingray electrified. birdseed High Performance 0 Mar 02, 2003 04:51 PM
I'm not sure if this is a good idea martin richards Life, The Universe, and Politics 2 Jul 04, 2002 10:56 AM
I wonder if there is a way to put power to this ? pcaffeldt Foamies (Kits) 1 Mar 17, 2002 07:46 AM