HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 18, 2008, 04:53 PM
Prop me up
New Mexico, USA
Joined Oct 2007
2,358 Posts
Discussion
Reinforce fiberglass fuse: glass, kevlar, or CF?

Hi, I have an Electrostreak with fiberglass fuse. I have read that the wing saddle is weak and can use reinforcement. Also, I want to put a wheel in the center of the fuse to land on, which should be reinforced.

Should I use fiberglass cloth and resin, kevlar cloth and resin, or some kind of carbon fiber cloth? And any pointers to the kind of stuff I should use?

Many thanks....

Jim
cloud-9 is offline Find More Posts by cloud-9
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 18, 2008, 05:38 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
I've used kevlar and cf and fg on some built up dlg's. Kevelar is very good for reinforcing small palces, (adding the wheel well), CF is good for long or larger areas.. pods,, along tops of spars (wind saddles on inside of fuse near the top of the saddle extending forwrd and back past the wing root). FG is good for all over strength.... Of course i'm no expert and this is advice is free...
Mike
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Old Jul 18, 2008, 07:41 PM
Prop me up
New Mexico, USA
Joined Oct 2007
2,358 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thermalin
I've used kevlar and cf and fg on some built up dlg's. Kevelar is very good for reinforcing small palces, (adding the wheel well), CF is good for long or larger areas.. pods,, along tops of spars (wind saddles on inside of fuse near the top of the saddle extending forwrd and back past the wing root). FG is good for all over strength.... Of course i'm no expert and this is advice is free...
Mike

Thanks....
Old Jul 19, 2008, 07:15 AM
Will fly for food
Maryland
Joined Sep 2004
8,424 Posts
Kevlar is very strong, but not very stiff.

Carbon fiber is very stiff and pretty strong.

Fiberglass is reasonably stiff and strong.

So decide what characteristics you need.