HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 08, 2008, 03:05 PM
Houston, TX
Joined Mar 2005
706 Posts
Help!
Changed fuel to lower Nitro, engine dies at mid-throttle?

My local hobby shop has run out of the 30% Coolpower heli fuel I've been using for the past 2 years (they don't expect to get any more 30% this summer they said), so I bought 2 gallons of 15% Coolpower heli fuel instead. I knew I'd have to retune the carb on my OS 61 SXWC engine, but this has me stumped!!!

Everytime I get into the midrange (near half-throttle) the engine bogs way down and dies. I've tried resetting my needles (I have a 3 needle carb) to the OS recommended settings for initially starting an engine (2 turns out on high-speed needle, 2 turns out on idle mixture, and 1 turn out on mid-range needle) and it made no difference... can't get thru mid-range.

I also have 2 articles on setting up this engine/carb I printed off the internet which both suggest the same initial settings of 2 turns out on high-speed needle and 2 turns out on idle mixture needle BUT 0 turns out on mid-range needle (keeping it fully closed initially). That doesn't work either, engine still loads up and dies at mid-throttle.

So I'm about out of ideas here. The engine ran fine till I used up the last tankful of my Coolpower 30% heli fuel (for 2 years never had to do more than adjust the high-speed needle valve a click or two to adjust for weather conditions). I'm stumped on why this change to 15% nitro is kicking my butt.

Anybody got any good suggestions? I've spent a few hours already toying with the needle setting and nothing seems to make a difference. The plumbing in the tanks is good, I replaced the clunk lines just to be sure and the outside-tank lines are all in good condition. It has a header tank situated even with the carb level (carb needles are at about the midpoint of the header tank). Never had a problem before this!

Thanks!

- Michael
Michael211_2000 is offline Find More Posts by Michael211_2000