HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 24, 2009, 12:23 AM
Is my CG correct?
discostu956's Avatar
Wollongong, Aus
Joined Sep 2009
5,096 Posts
Thanks Kit, already have another version, but thanks for posting that cause its a bit easier to read. You are now seeing my lack of understanding of electronics Should I just do it like they have the basic temp sensor on page 6? If so what size resistor should I use?

Thanks for help, I am very inexperienced at this side of electronics
discostu956 is offline Find More Posts by discostu956
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 24, 2009, 12:36 AM
kit
Registered User
USA
Joined Oct 2001
695 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by discostu956 View Post
Thanks Kit, already have another version, but thanks for posting that cause its a bit easier to read. You are now seeing my lack of understanding of electronics Should I just do it like they have the basic temp sensor on page 6? If so what size resistor should I use?

Thanks for help, I am very inexperienced at this side of electronics
It would easier if you would just use the LM35DZ. If you PM me with your address, I'll see it I can send you one in the mail. By the way, you can buy LM35DZ on Ebay.
kit is offline Find More Posts by kit
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 12:59 AM
Is my CG correct?
discostu956's Avatar
Wollongong, Aus
Joined Sep 2009
5,096 Posts
Thanks for the offer, really generous of you. I am in Australia so it wouldn't be worth it.

Reason I bought the 335......hmmm, remember I said I am not good with electronics Was at the electronics shop, said I wanted an LM35. he dug around, pulled out the 335 and looked on the spec sheet. Said this would be the same for what I am doing. I stupidly just took his word for it. It was only $3 or something, but now I am just being stubborn and determined to use it for something.
discostu956 is offline Find More Posts by discostu956
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 11:02 AM
Registered User
Slovenia (EU)
Joined Mar 2009
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gulio View Post
see the yellow tip?

The outer is - and the inner is +

Voltage on power supply when no charger is connected is around 15V so that shouldn't be the problem. Could it drop under load?

Guess it's dead.
V0RT3X is offline Find More Posts by V0RT3X
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 12:13 PM
Sir Jasper
zl3vml's Avatar
Christchurch - New Zealand
Joined Jan 2003
789 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by V0RT3X View Post
Voltage on power supply when no charger is connected is around 15V so that shouldn't be the problem. Could it drop under load?

Guess it's dead.
Yes if the power supply is faulty. You should try to measure the voltage with some kind of load on it. Something like two 12v car indicator bulbs in series, or say a 10 - 15 ohm resistor (minimum of 1 watt) across the 15 vpower supply should give you a pretty good indication.

If the voltage does not drop right down then it is probably the Accucell that is faulty which would be my guess anyway.
zl3vml is offline Find More Posts by zl3vml
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2009, 12:14 PM
Sir Jasper
zl3vml's Avatar
Christchurch - New Zealand
Joined Jan 2003
789 Posts
An easier test is just connect the Accucell to your 12v car battery and see what it does when you try and charge something.
zl3vml is offline Find More Posts by zl3vml
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 04:05 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
210 Posts
OK, I've got a new battery. Amp meter is giving me 12v with the deans connector. The Accucel is giving me "Connection Break" with both the Dean's connector AND the balance lead. It does this on Charge OR Balance.

The charger is working fine with a number of other batteries in my collection.

Any ideas?
maxwolfie is offline Find More Posts by maxwolfie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Slovenia (EU)
Joined Mar 2009
100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zl3vml View Post
An easier test is just connect the Accucell to your 12v car battery and see what it does when you try and charge something.
Tried yesterday and same thing. But I did try to charge through the balance connector right now and heard a pop and smoke came out.


lol

edit: Connection break now showing up.
V0RT3X is offline Find More Posts by V0RT3X
Last edited by V0RT3X; Nov 26, 2009 at 10:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 11:44 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2009
13 Posts
hello guys

i;m new into electric flying, so help me out
i just purchased this charger along some zippy flightmax lipo batts
from hobbyking.
my question is this, is the discharge connector on the zippy lipo batt
deans or bullet? or if neither, can anyone help me out with the link
to connect the accucel via output to the zippy batts?
I understand that in order to charge and balance, you should use the jst xh
and the output leads, just like the pic above.
i've got zippy batts, turnigy esc and motor, are these compatible (the esc and the batt?)

thanks and sorry but i've been into glow only
seisickj is offline Find More Posts by seisickj
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 12:20 PM
Canadian Bacon
flypaper 2's Avatar
Kingston, Canada
Joined Jun 2004
13,177 Posts
Depending on what size Zippy batts you get as to what connectors are on it. The balance connectors on the Zippy Flightmax and Rhinos have the same connectors as the Accucell. I use Deans on everything, so use them on the charger and whatever batts I get.

Gord.
flypaper 2 is online now Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2009, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
210 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxwolfie View Post
OK, I've got a new battery. Amp meter is giving me 12v with the deans connector. The Accucel is giving me "Connection Break" with both the Dean's connector AND the balance lead. It does this on Charge OR Balance.

The charger is working fine with a number of other batteries in my collection.

Any ideas?

Update: My Hobbyzone charger seems to be charging it just fine with the balance lead. What gives?
maxwolfie is offline Find More Posts by maxwolfie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2009, 10:55 PM
Registered User
Columbia, S.C.
Joined Aug 2005
92 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxwolfie View Post
Update: My Hobbyzone charger seems to be charging it just fine with the balance lead. What gives?
Try changing the deans/banana plugs on your charger.
Fly-n-3D is offline Find More Posts by Fly-n-3D
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 06:55 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2009
210 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fly-n-3D View Post
Try changing the deans/banana plugs on your charger.

But if it works with three other batteries...... ?
maxwolfie is offline Find More Posts by maxwolfie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 08:35 AM
Registered User
Columbia, S.C.
Joined Aug 2005
92 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxwolfie View Post
But if it works with three other batteries...... ?
It won't hurt to try.
Fly-n-3D is offline Find More Posts by Fly-n-3D
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2009, 12:30 PM
Sir Jasper
zl3vml's Avatar
Christchurch - New Zealand
Joined Jan 2003
789 Posts
My guess is the balancing plug on the lipo is wired wrong way round. Check the pins with your meter compared to one of the other packs that works for correct polarity.

I had to swop some of mine round, different manufacturers seem to have different plugs/wiring sequences.

Be "very" carefull when you pull the pins out of the balancing connector that you do not short them out. Put something over each one as you remove it.
zl3vml is offline Find More Posts by zl3vml
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New Bantam e-Station "Dual Balance Board" for BC-6 Charger & PB-6 Balancer RC Accessory Batteries and Chargers 13 Mar 05, 2008 07:30 AM
Making the charger lead for 6-330D ? rc-whirlybird Batteries and Chargers 0 Apr 03, 2005 01:56 AM
Ice Charger...Detects 12.6 voltage early asmokindeal Batteries and Chargers 17 Mar 23, 2005 11:04 AM
Whoops! On Orbit Charger - How do I balance LiPo packs ? lempert Batteries and Chargers 15 May 11, 2004 10:46 AM
Graupner Charger a Schulze 6-330? NewNCEGuy Batteries and Chargers 2 Jul 02, 2003 08:51 AM