SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 17, 2008, 10:14 AM
Joined Jun 2008
13 Posts
Help!
Long-Range, Semi-Autonomous Spy Heli

I'm new to RC Helis and RC toys in general, so I'm looking for some advice. I would like to build an electric RC Heli, with mounted camera, GPS, laser, IR floodlights, etc. This, of course is the ultimate goal, I will start with a mounted camera first. I am planning to use a cell phone uplink for control and video transmission, and estimate my payload requirements to be about 100 grams at first, maybe increasing to 250 - 300 grams in the future, upon adding GPS and other components. I was hoping some of the more experienced members here could suggest how to approach this project and what choices to make in terms of components. Here are my objectives in the order of importance:

1) At least 30 mins of flight time (but the more the better).
2) Ability to hover without requiring control input.
3) Stealth (silent operation)
4) Price
5) Size (the smaller the better)
6) Easy to repair in a crash.

With all that in mind, and I know its quite a list, can you suggest any existing kits or complete models that could be used for my purposes. If not, what components should I use to build one. Sorry if all this sounds very n00b, but I'm trying to narrow down the areas for my research. Thanks for any answers.
avernix is offline Find More Posts by avernix
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 17, 2008, 10:48 AM
characters welcome!
United States, CA, Bear Valley Springs
Joined Feb 2000
26,322 Posts
avernix:

Welcome to RCGroups!

We have a large helicopter section here on this board with lots of people that can help you. I suggest that you take a look at the Electric Helis forum. Lots of great people and information there! I've requested that the moderators move this thread so that the Heli-specific gang can help.

mw
Mark Wood is offline Find More Posts by Mark Wood
Old Jun 17, 2008, 07:53 PM
Joined Jun 2008
13 Posts
Thanks Mark,