SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jun 14, 2008, 01:15 PM
Florida
Joined Aug 2004
4,160 Posts
Discussion
High current Switch for starter motor

I need to fabricate a high current switch for a large starter motor (drawing about 35 to 40 amps). Power is a 12 volt Pb lawn mower battery. Since I have a number if the IRFZ44Mosfets (rated for greater than 30 amps) I am thinking the attached circuit might work. I have little or no experience in high current FET's so will appreciate any comments pro or con. If I need to parallel more than one FET, I plan to attach the added on ones at point X<Y and Z as indicated. Please comment, thanks Rodney
Rodney is offline Find More Posts by Rodney
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 14, 2008, 04:34 PM
CamLight Systems
New York City, USA
Joined Oct 2003
1,172 Posts
Looks pretty good. I always like to place the "kickback" diodes right across the MOSFET's drain-source pins to protect from voltage spikes created from any wiring inductance. It's the FET you're protecting so I like to place the protection there.

Looking at the datasheet for that MOSFET, I'd probaby start with 3 in parallel. Each one is rated to carry only 34A when hot and that's with a 10V gate voltage. Your gate voltage is lower than that (which doesn't turn it on as hard) and you'll be drawing more than 34A (MUCH more when the motor starts). A lot depends on how long the current is flowing and whether they're heat-sinked or not.
JohnMuchow is offline Find More Posts by JohnMuchow
Old Jun 14, 2008, 10:00 PM
Joined Nov 2007
913 Posts
I would eliminate the 4.7K and 22 ohm resistors, they don't really do anything. Also the 10K to ground should be a lower value to turn off the FET faster, something like 1K or less. You might think about putting a filter between the battery and input to the switch to eliminate any large voltage spikes. Also a large diode for kickback.