HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 02, 2008, 11:12 PM
Joined Apr 2008
84 Posts
Question
covering any rc plane. sig 4 star kit

I am building a sig 4 star. I ordered from tower hobbies. Ok the one thing i am not so sure about is covering it. How do i do it. Also how do i do a multi colered one with stripes and everything. It looks so complicated but i just dont want just a solid coler. I wana mix 2 colors. So plz tell me how to do this???
jon1007 is offline Find More Posts by jon1007
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 02, 2008, 11:30 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,497 Posts
It's not hard.. just go slow.. and practice on some scrap pieces. To start with it's easier to have the color changes where there is support... ribs.. stringers, etc that run the length of the color change. here is a pic of mine for some ideas. The wing stripe is pin striping, the stars were stick on but I did cut the numbers using stencils and are ultracote and are my freq #.. For what it's worth, ultracote is easier to use and apply then monokote with less wrinkles, etc. On slab pieces.. start in the middle and work your way out to reduce trapped air and bubbles. in the wing... make small hole in each rib to allow heated air to escape.
This vid is a bit silly (fast) but shows you the basics.. it helps to have a gun to cover the open framed areas.
Balsa wing covering video (3 min 27 sec)(3 min 27 sec)(3 min 27 sec)(3 min 27 sec)
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Last edited by Thermalin; Jun 02, 2008 at 11:39 PM.
Old Jun 03, 2008, 08:49 AM
Joined Apr 2008
84 Posts
SO how did you do the multi colored wing?? did you first cover it all in white and then did red or just you cut pieces of red and put them on. Im really confused what you said about wing stripe.
jon1007 is offline Find More Posts by jon1007
Old Jun 03, 2008, 10:09 AM
EMB Jungle Jet Jockey
Georgetown, IN across the Ohio River from Louisville, KY
Joined Oct 2004