HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale

Cermark 39" Katana ARF Review

Michael Heer reviews this beautiful three tone blue and white Katana from Cermark from arrival through assembly and into flight and likes what he finds.

Splash

Introduction

Wingspan:39"
Wing Area:314 sq in
Weight:26 oz.
Length:35"
Propeller:APC 11 x 5E
Servos:4 Hitec 55
Transmitter:JR 7202
Receiver:Berg 4L
Battery:Polyquest 3-cell 1800mAh pack
Motor:Cermark 2820/1200 brushless outrunner
ESC:Castle Creations Phoenix 35
Propeller:APC 11 x 5 electric
Manufacturer:Cermark
Available From:Cermark
Price:$99.99 Katana kit
Price:$59.95 Cermark 2820/1200 brushless motor

I have flown a couple flat foamie 3-D planes and an IFO but not being an indoor 3-D pilot, I usually fly them as a standard aerobatic planes with only a few 3-D tricks. I had been looking to get a scale 3-D plane for some time, and when I got the chance to review the Cermark One-Meter Series Katana, I jumped at the chance.

I am aware of three planes in the One-Meter Series: the Edge 540, the Yak 54 and the Katana. I knew what the plane would look like from the Cermark website, but it was even prettier in person when I opened the box. I will cover the assembly fairly quickly and then get out to the field and fly the Katana.

NOTE: This is Version 2 of the Katana. In this version, the wing has gone from a one-piece wing to a two-piece wing (as shown in this review). Additionally, the plane has gone on a diet: Thanks to laser cutting, it is considerably lighter then the first version.

Kit Contents

There is a low part count for this kit. The parts are all well made and light. The fuselage is potentially fragile if crashed, but the plane is designed and intended for experienced pilots so its light fuselage should not be a problem.