HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 01, 2008, 12:18 AM
Joined Nov 2007
86 Posts
Discussion
Pitot tube install on a 50 sized heli

Hi Bill,

Count me in as another Eagletree fan! - I just purchased the V3 150amp, Speed sensor, brushless sensor, optical sensor, two temp sensors and suspect I am just getting started!

Here is a photo of my Pitot tube (and general) install on a 50 sized heli (Align 600E with Neu 1515 2.5D, I am hoping that there is no turbulence coming off of the tip of the canopy nose that could affect readings, otherwise I will have to install a brass tube flush with the nose. The sensor is inside the frame with no modifications since its an open "fuselage" and no ram effect - the last photo shows it behind the battery (about 2-3" in front of rear edge of canopy).

Is there a "best" method for a heli since I am also concerned with rotor downwash across the Pitot tube as well - any installation tips unique to a helicopter would be most helpful.

P.S. For the thermistor-type temp sensor, I am planning of using heat-conductive epoxy to glue it to a small aluminum plate and trap it between the battery strap and the battery itself - am I using the best sensor type for this application?

First test tomorrow!
blueviewlaguna is offline Find More Posts by blueviewlaguna
Last edited by blueviewlaguna; Jun 01, 2008 at 01:16 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2008, 07:26 PM
Joined Nov 2007
86 Posts
Hi Bill,

I hovered and did some full-power climbouts and have found a few concerns: