HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 30, 2008, 05:06 PM
Joined May 2008
28 Posts
Discussion
What's the best micro heli for a beginner?

Hey all. I'm new here. I'm new to the rc helis...I have a lot of questions, so please bear with me. Maybe each person can answer a question or two, so that one person doesn't get stuck with all of my silly questions.

I've never owned an rc heli before, but I'm more than willing to learn to fly one. I don't know too much about them. So far from my research, I've learned that there are 2 to 7 channel models. The channels apparently refer to the control features supported between the transmitter and receiver. So...apparently on the two channels, one works the main throttle for up and down; and one works the rudder/yaw for turning the heli. It seems that going from 2 to 3 channel lets you adjust the pitch control - making the heli go forward and backward? 4 channels seems to add some kind of ability to go left and right. On up to the 6 and 7 channels seems to get into the stunt helis that have gyros and other stuff...most of which I can't afford right now. lol

Mainly I just want something to play around with, when I'm bored. I'm 25, but I don't think there's anything wrong with being a kid at heart, when you're at home relaxing. So...as opposed to what a 10 year old would do with it (spear it into a building after taking it outside and not paying attention)...I don't plan on having some major crash issue. We have a big, open yard with very few obstacles. I would be flying it indoors and outdoors...just depending on the day, the weather, etc. I've been looking at the micro helis here: http://www.raidentech.com/mirche.html (I have no idea if this is a good site to get them from, either...someone recommended it to me).