Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 27, 2008, 11:51 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,758 Posts
Oops - DP.
Jurgen Heilig is online now Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 27, 2008, 11:54 PM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,758 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamdavey
Yes - I know. He posted both above. My point was that he gets figures that are the lowest published that I have seen.
At least my figures are measured with various systems under the same conditions and at the place where I fly most - my local flying field.

I could increase my max. range by raising the tx from 1m above ground to 5ft off the ground, but would that be realistic? Who operates his tx at this height?

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is online now Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 07:16 AM
Registered User
TheFlyingAce's Avatar
Joined May 2008
70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kim
It is good upto visual ranges. Beyond visual ranges? Why do you care?

It's for med range FPV (2.5-3 miles)
TheFlyingAce is offline Find More Posts by TheFlyingAce
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 07:21 AM
Registered User
TheFlyingAce's Avatar
Joined May 2008
70 Posts
Thanks for the link!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danal Estes
Since you have downlink... how about flying a "Flight Log" capable RX,

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM9540

And watching the number of antenna/frame losses? You could easily see when you are hitting the limit of range before any problems occur.

You can verify range for all of us! (For you site/aircraft/conditions, of course)

You'd need the Flight Log (or an Eagle Tree that plugs into the same spot, or similar) and an AR9000 or AR7000 with the new firmware.
Wow! I had never seen that at the spektrum site! I'm gonna get it. I'll try to post my figures soon!
TheFlyingAce is offline Find More Posts by TheFlyingAce
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 11:20 AM
Registered User
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,759 Posts
"I could increase my max. range by raising the tx from 1m above ground to 5ft off the ground, but would that be realistic? Who operates his tx at this height? "

This is relavant - how?

The bottom line is the "test environment matters". Talking range test mode now I can get anything from 35 paces to almost 100 paces with my Spektrums depending on how the model is positioned - thats with the tx held normally of course.

The 35 is on a grassy area with the models sitting in the grass. The 100 paces is down my street, provided there are not too many cars in the way, with the model on a 12 inch plastic box. This street has multiple wifi networks and a municiple hotspot on a pole - so it isn't exactly quiet.

In the middle is where I fly my helis; I check with the heli on a wooded table ~ 4 feet I guess and get well over 60 paces (I can't rmemeber when it actually quits and treat that as my go/no go point) with a chain link fence between Tx and model.

So. about the only test results I give any credance to are the type Hilgert did in the early days (and some of the others mentioned in this thread), making sure he was in "free space". All the big numbers published are done that way and represent realisitic, "in flight" scenarios.

Personally, I can't fly accurately enough to get below 1 or 2 feet at 1000 yards - I must be getting old
teamdavey is offline Find More Posts by teamdavey
Last edited by teamdavey; May 28, 2008 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 12:18 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
9,687 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theacekid
Wow! I had never seen that at the spektrum site! I'm gonna get it. I'll try to post my figures soon!
I thought you were buying a Futaba 14MZ with FASST module None of the Spektrum stuff will work with that radio.
village_idiot is offline Find More Posts by village_idiot
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 03:54 PM
Registered User
TheFlyingAce's Avatar
Joined May 2008
70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by village_idiot
I thought you were buying a Futaba 14MZ with FASST module None of the Spektrum stuff will work with that radio.


Range tests prove that the Spektrum has a better range, for some reason, and I had placed my order for the Futaba, but canceled it because I decided to wait until my turbine project was underway (about 1-2 months), and besides, I decided to keep my Spektrum. I'm saving it for my younger brother, one I DO buy the FASST (or a JR radio which I was looking at today. It called my attention from the ad at the top of the page) Nonetheless, I will keep my Spektrum. Haven't gone to my local hobby shop lately (a lot of online ordering) But I plan to buy this nifty little gadget once I do!


P.S: I am in the process of changing my username!!!!!!!!!!!!
TheFlyingAce is offline Find More Posts by TheFlyingAce
Last edited by theacekid; May 28, 2008 at 03:56 PM. Reason: I now hate typos.
Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 04:25 PM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,721 Posts
I shall await
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 03:43 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,758 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFlyingAce
Range tests prove that the Spektrum has a better range, for some reason. ...
Well, my practical tests at my local flying field show different results:

Spektrum DX7 EU Version: 470m
Spektrum DX7 US Version: 700m
Futaba FASST: 1030m

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is online now Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 06:02 AM
Registered User
Manila, Philippines
Joined Jul 2004
1,203 Posts
Guys, Have read somewhere in this Forum, a guy able to test the range of Futaba Fasst system is more than 3.8 Kilometer, they even show the location of the Transmitter and receiver in Google Earth Map......I am really amazed......thats why been thinking of getting a Futaba Fasst system.

look like I have only 2 Choice, either Futaba Fasst or Spectrum DSS.

here is the forum that have range check a Futaba Fasst:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=831638
lazy-b is offline Find More Posts by lazy-b
Last edited by lazy-b; May 29, 2008 at 06:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 08:39 AM
Registered User
TheFlyingAce's Avatar
Joined May 2008
70 Posts
.......

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard hanson
I shall await


Yes, yes you shall.....


EDIT: P.S: Did you see my name Change?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
TheFlyingAce is offline Find More Posts by TheFlyingAce
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 08:45 AM
Registered User
TheFlyingAce's Avatar
Joined May 2008
70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurgen Heilig
Well, my practical tests at my local flying field show different results:

Spektrum DX7 EU Version: 470m
Spektrum DX7 US Version: 700m
Futaba FASST: 1030m

Jürgen

Actually, the post after you, has a range test in relation to the Futaba System with the 2.4 module. It shows that conclusive range tests go to about 3.8 KM, while one of the first links in this thread has a link to the futaba, which they tested at a range of 2.8 miles, or 4.5km.

Futaba Range Test: http://translate.google.com/translat...hl=de&ie=UTF-8

Rx7 Range test: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=783753



Now I am seriously confused


Thanks,

TheFlyingAce
TheFlyingAce is offline Find More Posts by TheFlyingAce
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Joined Apr 2000
1,759 Posts
Check post 20 and you might get a clue why published results vary so much.
teamdavey is offline Find More Posts by teamdavey
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:03 AM
Registered User
TheFlyingAce's Avatar
Joined May 2008
70 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamdavey
Check post 20 and you might get a clue why published results vary so much.

Oh, I see......test environment matters.....Thanks....
TheFlyingAce is offline Find More Posts by TheFlyingAce
Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2008, 10:25 AM
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
53859 Niederkassel, Germany
Joined Sep 2000
18,758 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFlyingAce
Oh, I see......test environment matters.....Thanks....
That's why I perform my own tests at the location I fly most, i.e. my local flying field and under identical conditions on the same day.

Jürgen
Jurgen Heilig is online now Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know anything about Jack Stafford kits? Randall Miller Electric Plane Talk 13 Jul 20, 2010 01:34 AM
Discussion does anyone know the transmitting distance of the dx7 nashiem Electric Plane Talk 6 Aug 27, 2007 02:57 AM
Does anyone know if HF-MODEL has a website? JimJams Scale Sailplanes 3 Oct 17, 2005 03:29 AM
Question Does anyone know who has the new wireless Lama in Stock? brucie1dog Coaxial Helicopters 4 Dec 10, 2004 03:05 PM
Does anyone know of an online shop that has gws 9x7 props. The Other Dave Parkflyers 3 Jan 04, 2002 09:33 PM