HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 23, 2008, 09:03 PM
Joined May 2008
11 Posts
Build Log
SCRATCH Avro Lancaster Design & Build

After much deliberation, have finally decided to start a Scratch design and build project. Many aircraft considered, XP55 Ascender, XP54 Swoose Goose, Typhoon MkV, Mosquito to name a few. Was looking for something approachng a 3 meter wing span and decided on a 1:12 Scale Avro Lancaster. Foolish i guess, considering this is my first attempt at power scratch design and build and choosing perhaps one of the more complex WW2 Aircraft, (4 x IC engines - Mmmm?).

Am giving myself a year to complete, at the end of which, i could see it trashed within seconds of getting into the air but i guess that's the thrill of it.

General specification at this stage is that it will follow as close to the scale detail as possible with lots of working features. Full Control Surfaces, Navigation and Bomber Formation Lights, Moving Turrets and Guns, True to Scale Undercarriage and fully operational, working Bomb Doors and Bomb Release, finite internal detail, aluminium skins individually panelled. Tall order but someone has to do it. May as well be me.

Using a huge resource collection i have gathered over the past 4 months, will be modelling each and very Former and using Solidworks 3D modelling software to develop the model, allowing me to design, draw and virtually build the entire model before i start manufacture. For those that are interested, will be posting progress. Why bother? You may find it interesting and have a crack at the build yourself once i release the plans, (assuming the thing works of course).

Anyway, i wish myself good luck and feel as if i'm entering a new stage in my life, somewhat reclusive perhaps given the task that lies ahead, but one that hopefully brings great satisfaction. Or, should i just not bother?