Old May 22, 2008, 11:08 AM
USA, NE, Minden
Joined May 2008
148 Posts
Discussion
Parkzone Spitfire and Hobbyzone Supercub Transmitters

Hello,

I have a very "noob" question I'm sure

I just got into RC aircraft and I LOVE IT! I started with a supercub and have now moved up to the parkzone spitfire which is tons of fun!! My question is, can I use the spitfire transmitter to fly the supercub? They are on the same frequency. What would I need to buy or need to do to make this work? Keep in mind I am very new to the world of RC

Thanks for your help!!
rohdem is offline Find More Posts by rohdem
to remove ads between posts
Old May 22, 2008, 11:57 AM
United States, NY, Queens
Joined Oct 2005
2,679 Posts
The SuperCub uses the proprietary 5-wire servos, while the Spitfire uses the industry standard 3-wire units. To fly the SuperCub using the Spitfire transmitter, you would need to replace the ESC/Receiver and the two servos. If you don't have any problems with your SC, its probably not worth the effort.

If you are looking toward the future and want to stay with the ParkZone planes, a great plane for you to consider next is the Typhoon. The Typhoon comes with a very nice 6-channel transmitter that can be used to fly numerous planes. Extra receivers are around $26. If you plan on going to brushless motors and LiPo batteries, its a chaep way to outfit your whole hangar. I currently have six planes that I fly with the Typhoon transmitter, including two that are equipped with retractable landing gear.
Leo L is offline Find More Posts by Leo L
Old May 22, 2008, 04:59 PM
High Wycombe, UK
Joined Apr 2008
439 Posts
Even though the RX is wired differently, Im pretty sure the TX is the same, you should be able to use either TX on either model if their on the same frequency.

Im using my spare Parkzone TX to fly my HZ Swift, it's basically just the same and works because the frequency is the same.
Radweld is offline Find More Posts by Radweld
Old May 22, 2008, 05:17 PM
USA, NE, Minden