HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:24 AM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,158 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxfish View Post
Well it ain't no Radian!
I hope you were not expecting it to fly like a Radian!?

I went from a 3 channel Skyfly to a t-28. Twitchy would be about right. But got use to it real quick. First landing, real fast and hit a curb, broke the nose off. Said to myself...I can do this! Went home and got the other one(during the $100 ebay sales days, I had 4). Made 2 good flights. First roll ever I bailed out half way through and almost crashed. The good old days!

You'll still enjoy flying the Radian.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2012, 08:40 AM
Registered User
BlinkguY's Avatar
United States, NJ, Newark
Joined Nov 2005
1,882 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxfish View Post
Well it ain't no Radian!

UPS guy dropped it off, ready to go 30 minutes later.
Had to reverse two servos after rebinding my DX5.
Sort of a hairy takeoff, but I managed to keep it airborne.
2 clicks on elevator, 2 on aileron.

TWITCHY!

slow circuit
Got a couple of mistakes high, did a loop.
Did a couple of 1/2 throttle circuits of the field to get a feel for the ailerons - WOW!
Tried the rudder. WHAT? Scary. Don't do that again till I figure it out.
A couple more circuits, pretend I'm gonna land.
Approach...too far right - go round.
Approach, ground effect, nose drops and nose wheel hits first, but it recovers.
Take off, go round, land in tall grass, no damage.
Once more same thing.

I learned a LOT on the Radian, clearly. Enough to save my bacon. Got a LOT more to learn, CLEARLY!

Thanks for all your contributions to this thread....

Bro... Did you set up the throws on the servos?????? Maybe you have everything at 100% im i wrong?????

Just saying
BlinkguY is online now Find More Posts by BlinkguY
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 09:43 AM
build, fly, crash...repeat
marksp's Avatar
United States, WA, Redmond
Joined Apr 2011
1,525 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlinkguY View Post
Bro... Did you set up the throws on the servos?????? Maybe you have everything at 100% im i wrong?????

Just saying
+1 - when going from 3 channel to 4 channel, dual rates on ailerons are key!
marksp is offline Find More Posts by marksp
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 10:05 AM
Registered User
BlinkguY's Avatar
United States, NJ, Newark
Joined Nov 2005
1,882 Posts
exactly
BlinkguY is online now Find More Posts by BlinkguY
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 10:55 AM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,158 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marksp View Post
+1 - when going from 3 channel to 4 channel, dual rates on ailerons are key!
and expo....

robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:02 AM
Registered User
BlinkguY's Avatar
United States, NJ, Newark
Joined Nov 2005
1,882 Posts
Dont believe this guy!!!! Expo will make you crazy!! Hahaha... Just a joke!!!
BlinkguY is online now Find More Posts by BlinkguY
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:25 AM
Registered User
rgwilson's Avatar
USA, TX, Arlington
Joined Aug 2010
282 Posts
If you are using the DX5 I think you do have high/low rates fixed at 100% high and 70% low but I don't believe the DX5 has expo. So try flying with low rates until you get a feel for the plane. Its responds much faster than the radian glider does.
I'd try flying in low wind conditions (less than 10 mph) and about 1/2 throttle to get a feel for it. The T-28 flys very well at slower speeds and is very stable.
Check that all of your control sufaces are centered with your radio trims at center and check your CG. Remember to check it with the plane upside down, these things are great low wing trainers. Good Luck!
rgwilson is online now Find More Posts by rgwilson
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 12:57 PM
Registered User
United States, MD
Joined Jan 2012
112 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by walter3rd View Post
hoping to get in some stick time today and tomorrow before all hell breaks loose with this hurricane!
Yeah - Sandy is gonna be a mess - the average of the models has it knocking on our door. I bought %150 worth of energy (gas/propane/charcoal) for the coming power outages.

Let me ask this - I tried a bit of rudder again today. The slightest rudder causes the wing to dip a bit, but the nose drops drastically. Is this to be expected, or is there something else screwy with my CG or something? (It seems to match the manual)
paxfish is offline Find More Posts by paxfish
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 03:13 PM
Registered User
United States, MI, Bloomfield Hills
Joined May 2007
58 Posts
Help! Flew my T28 after replacing the fuselage. All servos going the right direction. DX8 Spektrum radio. When I do a loop, the airleron servo reverses. I have never heard of this. I have flown this plane over a 100 times. Makes no sense. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks, Les
lesbaron is offline Find More Posts by lesbaron
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 03:25 PM
Registered User
BlinkguY's Avatar
United States, NJ, Newark
Joined Nov 2005
1,882 Posts
just when you do a loop? are you sure?
BlinkguY is online now Find More Posts by BlinkguY
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 03:35 PM
Registered User
rgwilson's Avatar
USA, TX, Arlington
Joined Aug 2010
282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbaron View Post
Help! Flew my T28 after replacing the fuselage. All servos going the right direction. DX8 Spektrum radio. When I do a loop, the airleron servo reverses. I have never heard of this. I have flown this plane over a 100 times. Makes no sense. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks, Les
Check Spectrums web site - There is a firmware upgrade for the DX8, you might want to install it.
I don't know what firmware version you have but the latest is 2.06 which came out in September. It may be a bug in the firmware.
Here is the PDF with the update history and problems that have been fixed
rgwilson is online now Find More Posts by rgwilson
Last edited by rgwilson; Oct 26, 2012 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2012, 11:31 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,158 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbaron View Post
Help! Flew my T28 after replacing the fuselage. All servos going the right direction. DX8 Spektrum radio. When I do a loop, the airleron servo reverses. I have never heard of this. I have flown this plane over a 100 times. Makes no sense. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks, Les
how do you know this? a loop is just elevator. I know on mine with maxed out (super maxed out) throws, if I do a real tight loop it will snap out at the bottom. Almost crashed more than once.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 12:21 AM
that's gonna leave a scar
KCinNC's Avatar
United States, NC, Mooresville
Joined Aug 2007
3,516 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbaron View Post
Help! Flew my T28 after replacing the fuselage. All servos going the right direction. DX8 Spektrum radio. When I do a loop, the airleron servo reverses. I have never heard of this. I have flown this plane over a 100 times. Makes no sense. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks, Les
that's why i LOVE my DX7.....never had a single blurb after 4years of intense use !

i want a second DX7....as my first one is full
KCinNC is offline Find More Posts by KCinNC
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:21 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Hackney
Joined Aug 2011
217 Posts
Took my souped-up T28 out today and gave her a run on 5s. She's fast alright! heavy for sure, and a 2200 5s 30c lasted for not long at all, and came down pretty hot. May need bigger lipos i think. Fun though
stallion explosi is offline Find More Posts by stallion explosi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:31 PM
You're killin' me Smalls
BrownEyedFool's Avatar
United States, NJ, Hillsborough Township
Joined Sep 2011
1,606 Posts
Swapping out the stock motor for the 2820/07 upgrade from headsuprc.
The existing screws holding the stock motor to the plastic mount have what looks like red threadlocker on them, even though its only bolted to a plastic mount and has a fibrous red spacer/washer in there too. Should I be mounting the new motor with red threadlocker too?
BrownEyedFool is offline Find More Posts by BrownEyedFool
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article ParkZone T-28 Trojan RTF Review Jim Walker Electric Warbirds 879 Aug 11, 2014 09:08 PM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread - Part 2 monitor Parkflyers 2602 Jun 15, 2014 04:51 PM
Discussion Parkzone T-28 Trojan Thread Edge767 Parkflyers 6527 Jun 04, 2008 05:29 AM
Sold Parkzone T-28 Trojan, 480 960kv Motors (2) Joe in Dublin Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Jan 17, 2008 01:34 PM
Wanted Parkzone T-28 Trojan webejpn01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Oct 25, 2007 02:48 PM