HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 25, 2012, 01:59 PM
Registered User
jeb6684's Avatar
United States, PA, Gettysburg
Joined Mar 2011
346 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlocity View Post
Hi All,

Bought one of these from an RC group member. Set up with the power 10 and a suitable esc. All I can say is WOW. By far my favorite plane.

Just tons of fun. 10 flights on her over the weekend.
Glad you like it. I miss my T-28, I'm thinking of getting another one.
jeb6684 is offline Find More Posts by jeb6684
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 25, 2012, 02:07 PM
RC pilots do it in the air
marke14's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
114 Posts
Hey Max, where was that footage taken? It looks great!

Is your canopy super-clean or did you remove it to stuff the GoPro in there?
marke14 is offline Find More Posts by marke14
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 03:51 PM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,741 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marke14 View Post
Hey Max,
Is your canopy super-clean or did you remove it to stuff the GoPro in there?
I was thinking the same. Not even
Sumlight glare or reflection. Looks
Awesome. !!!
DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:26 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
United States, LA, Moss Bluff
Joined Nov 2008
8,222 Posts
Its got to be open, there would be some glare/reflection. At .11 look like some spray on the camera lens. And the canopy would have popped off in the crash, looks like the cowl came off.
robj is offline Find More Posts by robj
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 06:54 PM
I'm NEW
Maxxpain's Avatar
Redwood City, Ca
Joined Jul 2009
96 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaxFX View Post
I was thinking the same. Not even
Sumlight glare or reflection. Looks
Awesome. !!!
Yes, I tore off the wind shield and cut the canopy in half. I did one flight and man, the canopy was scratched bad, the glare was terrible plus it added a dull / low quality effect to the video. Just a mess and the time of day I filmed was super pretty. So ruined the vid. I re-glued the magnet in a new area plus the GoPro is right up against the 1/2 cut Canopy so it won't fly off at all. Then I use a normal canopy for non GoPro flights. .
Maxxpain is offline Find More Posts by Maxxpain
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 09:43 AM
What goes up, will come down..
United States, FL, Zephyrhills
Joined Jun 2011
138 Posts
I also out in a Power 10 but not wanting to replace the ESC, I just put the throttle curve back to 80% on my DX8. In doing so, it draws 29 amps at WOT. After 6 minutes of aggressive flying, the stock ESC is not even warm. I am turning a 10 X 7 X 3 Master screw prop.
Willie T is offline Find More Posts by Willie T
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 01:03 PM
Registered User
beercandan11's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Feb 2011
316 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie T View Post
I also out in a Power 10 but not wanting to replace the ESC, I just put the throttle curve back to 80% on my DX8. In doing so, it draws 29 amps at WOT. After 6 minutes of aggressive flying, the stock ESC is not even warm. I am turning a 10 X 7 X 3 Master screw prop.
thats a good idea. i sold stock esc for around $30 bought 45 amp one for around same price now i use 100% throttle
beercandan11 is offline Find More Posts by beercandan11
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2012, 10:54 AM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Guys,

You can't throttle manage an over amped power system. It's because ESCs use PWM to throttle the power output. The ESC always sees max amps. Go the Castle Creations site and look up the FAQ's. They specifically answer a question regarding adjust end points to lower amps.

Bill
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 30, 2012, 06:11 PM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,741 Posts
I thought this day will never came. I damage my very first part on my T. My elevator cracks on the hinges. I have the bad on my side that every flying trip my planes are under direct sun all day i think the covering on the elevator get toasted and cracked all the way were act as a hinge. Wow i have to admit since i started into rc planes back in 2005 this is the very first one that had last more than a year without replacing or modding or repairing any single bit.

New stab ordered. So 1 more year to come.
DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 07:19 PM
TEAM HILLBILLY
rdcskkrose's Avatar
USA, CO, Highlands Ranch
Joined Apr 2009
2,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaxFX View Post
I thought this day will never came. I damage my very first part on my T. My elevator cracks on the hinges. I have the bad on my side that every flying trip my planes are under direct sun all day i think the covering on the elevator get toasted and cracked all the way were act as a hinge. Wow i have to admit since i started into rc planes back in 2005 this is the very first one that had last more than a year without replacing or modding or repairing any single bit.

New stab ordered. So 1 more year to come.
I'd wrap your stab in blenderm and keep going. Save the new one
rdcskkrose is offline Find More Posts by rdcskkrose
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 07:29 PM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,741 Posts
Sorry my bad english. What is blenderm?
DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 07:54 PM
Registered User
beercandan11's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Feb 2011
316 Posts
Blenderm tape. Tape looks like it has fiber in it
beercandan11 is offline Find More Posts by beercandan11
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 08:38 PM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,741 Posts
Oh! Ok.
DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 08:48 PM
Foam, foam on the range....
didge's Avatar
Adelaide, Australia
Joined Feb 2009
402 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by beercandan11 View Post
Blenderm tape. Tape looks like it has fiber in it
No, that's not Blenderm. Blenderm is this stuff:

http://www.3m.com/product/informatio...ical-Tape.html

Sometimes sold as hinge tape.

Cheers
didge is offline Find More Posts by didge
Last edited by didge; Jul 30, 2012 at 08:49 PM. Reason: Spell "hinge" properly...
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:04 PM
Registered User
MO, USA
Joined Jun 2010
686 Posts
Guys,

I've torn the rudder from my Navy T-28. Looking online, it seems the way to repair it is to smear some glue on the edges of all 4 surfaces (fuse / rudder hinge on both sides), let the glue set up to get "tacky", then apply tape.

I've got ShoeGoo in the toolbox, but the reports of repairs seem to discuss UHU POR glue. Will ShoeGoo work in this application, or should I wait until tomorrow and try to pick up some UHU POR from a craft shop?

Or,are there other glues that work equally well?

Lastly, any reason to go with CA-style hinges over full hinge tape?
motoguy1 is offline Find More Posts by motoguy1
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article ParkZone T-28 Trojan RTF Review Jim Walker Electric Warbirds 879 Aug 11, 2014 10:08 PM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread - Part 2 monitor Parkflyers 2602 Jun 15, 2014 05:51 PM
Discussion Parkzone T-28 Trojan Thread Edge767 Parkflyers 6527 Jun 04, 2008 06:29 AM
Sold Parkzone T-28 Trojan, 480 960kv Motors (2) Joe in Dublin Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Jan 17, 2008 02:34 PM
Wanted Parkzone T-28 Trojan webejpn01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Oct 25, 2007 03:48 PM