HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 20, 2008, 05:38 AM
Joined May 2008
8 Posts
Question
Power supply for receiver through controller ?

Hi I'm new to electric rc models, I just bought a Robbe Parabolic and have it almost ready to fly.
I was wondering about the power supply of the receiver via one battery. How do I make sure that I always have enough power for the receiver left. Is there some mechanism shutting off the motor? Once it does that, how much time do I have left?

Thanks for an answer or link to a thread where this question is answered.
tneuensc is offline Find More Posts by tneuensc
to remove ads between posts
Old May 20, 2008, 07:44 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,772 Posts
Here's a link to the Robbe Parabolic review which may be of interest.

The ESC, (Electronic Speed Controller), has a circuit that drops the battery voltage from 11.1v down to 5v for the receiver and servo.

The ESC protects the battery pack from dropping too low, (it can reduce the life of the battery if it drops below a certain level). To do this it switches the motor off but still supplies the Rx and servos.

Usually you can reset the throttle by moving the throttle stick to low and then back up to run the motor if you need to, but only for a few seconds before it will cut out again. It's so you could have a little burst of power if needed when landing.

Once the motor cuts out you should consider landing within a few minutes, but there is probably enough left in the battery for quite a few minutes, but land anyway just to be safe.

Good luck with the model and welcome to RCGroups.
eflightray is online now Find More Posts by eflightray
Old May 20, 2008, 07:52 AM
An itch?. Scratch build.
South Wales U.K.
Joined Mar 2003
13,772 Posts
One recommendation for all new to electric flight is to -

Switch the Tx, (transmitter), on first with the throttle low, then connect the planes battery.
After landing -