HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 17, 2008, 04:17 PM
Joined Apr 2008
13 Posts
Discussion
Anyone know where to buy a Scale B-24 Liberator kit?

I'm an intermediate modeler (I cant make my own electronics, parts, or molds is how I define that), & I wanted to build a Scale B-24 Liberator to honor my late father who loved them & worked on them.

I cant find a kit for one of these to save my life!!! I've searched these forums but I can't find one that links to a retailer.

There's 2 that are out there, but they are either RTF versions or very small & cheezy looking models.

I was looking to put 6 months to one year of work into this and was looking for something in the 6 foot wing span range, flaps, retracts, etc. You guys have any links or suggetions?

*It would have to be a kit, I am not adept enough to work from just a plan alone.
Caveman5150 is offline Find More Posts by Caveman5150
to remove ads between posts
Old May 17, 2008, 05:13 PM
Beaumont tx
Joined Oct 2004
3,740 Posts
I assume you want a flying version? Plans were published in the past few years -- either model Aviation or Model Airplane News. There's a Guillow version, smaller than you want, but accurate outlines; it does fly with a little care. Probably 2 engines electric, I would guess. You can use it as a basis and scale it up, which would give you a much more stable and easy-to-fly model. It would also handle the details you mention.

There's also a 1/48 Fiddlersgreen paper model in several versions, including the Strawberry Bitch.

If you are a kit builder, there's no reason you can't build from plans. The only difference is that YOU cut out the parts; any plans worth the name has patterns included. Xerox them, glue-stick onto the appropriate size wood, and cut out with knife or jig-saw; Delta has a good one for around $100.