HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 17, 2008, 09:25 AM
Urbana, Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
296 Posts
Discussion
Wing fence for Cessna 210, Ember&Citabria

Experimented by adding stall, wing fences to my Cessna 210 and Ember. I used 3mm Cellfoam for the fences. Tried different positions, slid the fences, to arrive at what I believe are the optimum positions for the two aircraft. The Ember fence is closer to the tip of the wing and the Cessna is even with the end of the horizontal stabilizer. The fence does not need to be glued in position.

Helps to reduce the stall speed and quicken stall recovery. Both seem to handle better in more wind. I am happy.

Will try the fence on the Citabria next. Also, am looking at different shapes and heights for the fences. As I am not an aeronautical engineer, I would ask for expert opinions and advice.
twoplanekid is offline Find More Posts by twoplanekid
to remove ads between posts
Old May 19, 2008, 05:54 AM
Urbana, Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
296 Posts
It has been two windy in Ohio to try any more experimentation until this morning. Put a smaller wing fence on the Ember. It did not seem to improve performance.

So, I went with the larger on the outside and the smaller towards the middle of the wing. Wow! Can now fly in a 10X 10 space and the Ember looks cool too!

Again, there are no permanent modifications to the wing. Just slip on the stall fences that can be removed anytime.
Old May 20, 2008, 08:18 AM
Shawnee, Kansas
Joined Oct 2005
598 Posts
I don't know what to think about your fences. I thought the planes flew great the way they were. I'm trying to keep my planes light but I guess I could try it and see for myself. Your Ember looks blue in that picture. I think it is just your camera but it looks cool anyway.
Ched is offline Find More Posts by Ched
Old May 20, 2008, 08:56 AM
Urbana, Ohio
Joined Feb 2008
296 Posts