HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 17, 2001, 02:23 PM
Registered User
Seattle, WA USA
Joined Jun 2000
71 Posts
Computer Power supply for Foam Cutting?

Anyone ever use one? I'm kicking around the idea of a poly-hydral, white foam and tape speed 400 trainer for my son. I'd like to do it as cheaply as possible and have many computer power supplies available due to my job. I would think that 250 watts and 12.6 volts should work, but?

Thanks

Dave
dwood99 is offline Find More Posts by dwood99
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 17, 2001, 04:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2001
9 Posts
Computer Power Supplies work fine.
I use one to successfully cut foam.
I have found that 0.016" Guitar wire gives a good temperature for cutting foam. I have also tried 0.010" wire but doesn't work as well as it has a higher resistance therefore doesn't get as hot. The Guitar wire is approx. 3' long.

I actually have two pieces of guitar wire and use one for tensioning and also as a variable resistance. Just connect an aligator clip on the wire and slide it along to change the cutting temperature.
ans ASCII drawing of the bow

*------tension wire---------*
* *
*****************************
* *
*________cutting wire_______*

The * characters represent the wooden frame.
Tension wire is connected to a small turn buckle for tightening the cutting wire.

hope the info will help you.

Lyndon
LyndonC is offline Find More Posts by LyndonC
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2001, 04:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2001
9 Posts
Bad ASCII picture will try this


<img
src="file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20FrontPage%20Express/temp/wpe767F.jpg"
width="539" height="359"></p>

LyndonC is offline Find More Posts by LyndonC
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2001, 04:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2001
9 Posts
<img src="file:///C:/bow.bmp"
width="1024" height="768">
LyndonC is offline Find More Posts by LyndonC
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2001, 12:55 AM
Registered User
buckeyes1997's Avatar
columbus, oh, usa
Joined Jun 2001
426 Posts
but doesn't work as well as it has a higher resistance therefore doesn't get as hot.

actually the resistance is what makes it hot in the first place. if you were to use a superconductor it would prolly never get hot...hehehe.
buckeyes1997 is offline Find More Posts by buckeyes1997
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2001, 02:22 PM
Registered User
Seattle, WA USA
Joined Jun 2000
71 Posts
Hey LyndonC,

Thanks for the reply. I'll give it a try soon.

Dave
dwood99 is offline Find More Posts by dwood99
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply for foam cutting eran_k Foamies (Kits) 5 Mar 08, 2005 05:08 AM
computer power supply for foam cutting?? RCFlyer55 Foamies (Kits) 30 Jan 15, 2005 11:13 AM
ATX (PC) Power Supply for Foam Cutting? Jim Buzzeo DIY Electronics 40 Oct 14, 2004 08:18 AM
Pryamid 14amp Power Supply for foam cutting mt_100 Electric Plane Talk 11 Sep 14, 2003 11:40 AM
Help with power supply for foam cutting zbrubaker Foamies (Kits) 0 Oct 28, 2002 06:45 AM