HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by Dutchboy, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 03, 2008, 12:22 AM
Torin Segstro
Alberta, Canada
Joined Apr 2008
99 Posts
Build Log
HobbyZone Super Cub modification - Motor Mount Prototype

Hello RC Hobby Folks,

I'm new to the hobby of building RC planes, and after lurking for a couple of months, I want to share with the community my progress in learning this craft.

I had no idea what I was doing really, and decided to buy the Hobbyzone Supercub as a trainer and an introduction into this new world. Little did I know how addictive building planes could be.

So I flew the cub a dozen times. Crashed, replaced props, cowling, etc. The typical newbie. At this point, I was bored with just simply flying the Super Cub and wanted to "mod" it. I wanted to make it faster, carry cameras and maybe even a GPS. This is where the money started to fall out of my wallet at an alarming rate.

As you will see, I like to build things for the heck of it. So I decided to create a custom motor mount to upgrade my Super Cub to a brushless motor configuration.

A bit of history - About a year and a half ago, I decided to build a CNC machine out of aluminum. This took about a year to build by the time all was said and done, and was originally going to be used to create picture frames. However, I now I have a powerful tool that allows me to cut parts as well.

Here is my Super Cub Brushless Motor Mount prototype in ArtCad. This is a design that was meant to be cut out of aluminum or very ridget material like PCB board wafers. I went with aluminum because I had some scrap lying around. The video is of my final prototype being cut out of MDF for testing the fit.

My CNC cutting the prototype
Cutting SuperCub Motor Mount (0 min 31 sec)(0 min 31 sec)