Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 11, 2013, 09:15 AM
Well, now that you know ...
Bigster's Avatar
Grafton, Massachusetts, United States
Joined Sep 2004
5,563 Posts
I also have the DS610's on my 71" Velox. That's my first plane of its size so I don't have anything comparable to compare them to, but I think they are crazy fast!
Bigster is online now Find More Posts by Bigster
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2013, 04:34 AM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,434 Posts
I run the DS610's @ 6V in my 600pro heli and they are nice servos. I have a flying buddy that ran them direct off a 2s Lipo in the 600pro for over a year without issues. If I had a HV tail servo I would probably do the same.
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 09:09 AM
Registered User
tacdriver's Avatar
United States, CO, Fort Collins
Joined Dec 2010
301 Posts
For what it's worth, I had bought some of the Solar servos to compare, and I bought some of the size that fits the 51. The Solars were rated at .10 response time, but they were not as fast as the DS610's. I pulled the cover off a Solar and off a DS610 to have a look, there is a clear difference in visual quality and the way they are put together (soldering, wiring routing, etc.) with the Aligns being clean and the Solars being chinese toy quality. I'm sure the Solars would work as there are people flying them, but after looking inside one I am selling them.
tacdriver is offline Find More Posts by tacdriver
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 09:46 AM
3DHobbyShop Addict
Alex Schauer's Avatar
United States, MN, North Mankato
Joined Feb 2011
4,537 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacdriver View Post
for what it's worth, i had bought some of the solar servos to compare, and i bought some of the size that fits the 51. The solars were rated at .10 response time, but they were not as fast as the ds610's. I pulled the cover off a solar and off a ds610 to have a look, there is a clear difference in visual quality and the way they are put together (soldering, wiring routing, etc.) with the aligns being clean and the solars being chinese toy quality. I'm sure the solars would work as there are people flying them, but after looking inside one i am selling them.
+200
Alex Schauer is online now Find More Posts by Alex Schauer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:46 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Allegan
Joined Aug 2012
685 Posts
Anyone got an orange fuse for sale? Mine spiraled into the ground today, turning the fuselage into shrapnel. I still don't know what happened. I was in a KE spin with plenty of altitude and it wouldn't recover.
TimmyC is offline Find More Posts by TimmyC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 09:59 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyC View Post
Anyone got an orange fuse for sale? Mine spiraled into the ground today, turning the fuselage into shrapnel. I still don't know what happened. I was in a KE spin with plenty of altitude and it wouldn't recover.
Ouch! Sorry to hear that man. If it wouldn't recover one of your servos might've locked up on you. So I'd check them all before you port them over to another aircraft.
turnerm is online now Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:31 AM
Registered User
tacdriver's Avatar
United States, CO, Fort Collins
Joined Dec 2010
301 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm View Post
Ouch! Sorry to hear that man. If it wouldn't recover one of your servos might've locked up on you. So I'd check them all before you port them over to another aircraft.
That's good advice. I think also some lockouts / brownouts are due to servo failures pulling down the voltage via high amp draw, rather than a true Rx/Tx issue. Of course that is tough to tell afterwards.
tacdriver is offline Find More Posts by tacdriver
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:45 AM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacdriver View Post
That's good advice. I think also some lockouts / brownouts are due to servo failures pulling down the voltage via high amp draw, rather than a true Rx/Tx issue. Of course that is tough to tell afterwards.
Yea, I know what you mean. I lost a 70" Slick coming out of a blender. I think that was complete signal loss though because my Ice 100 was beeping on the way down (they will beep every few seconds to let you know they are armed) but I had zero control.

It's rough watching a big plane like that just spiral the ground when there's nothing you can do to stop it.
turnerm is online now Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 10:50 AM
Registered User
United States, MI, Allegan
Joined Aug 2012
685 Posts
I don't know if it was signal loss or what. All servos work fine now.

I do know that it sucks to have my favorite plane smashed all to hell.
TimmyC is offline Find More Posts by TimmyC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:22 AM
Registered User
Burke, VA
Joined Sep 2009
4,885 Posts
I finally got to see a 51" Slick fly for the first time yesterday. This thing definitely lives up to it's reputation. I have all the equipment for one in my Sabre-X and when I pile it in once and for all it will definitely be replaced by a Slick. Fly's big but responds like a smaller plane. I like this. Better start setting some moolah aside, I have a feeling the Sabre's days are numbered.
jetinteriorguy is offline Find More Posts by jetinteriorguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:59 AM
3DHobbyShop Addict
Alex Schauer's Avatar
United States, MN, North Mankato
Joined Feb 2011
4,537 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetinteriorguy View Post
I finally got to see a 51" Slick fly for the first time yesterday. This thing definitely lives up to it's reputation. I have all the equipment for one in my Sabre-X and when I pile it in once and for all it will definitely be replaced by a Slick. Fly's big but responds like a smaller plane. I like this. Better start setting some moolah aside, I have a feeling the Sabre's days are numbered.
Order one now before they go out of stock!
(But first maybe sell the sabre??)
Or plow it in to the ground intentionally
Alex Schauer is online now Find More Posts by Alex Schauer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 12:37 PM
Registered User
Burke, VA
Joined Sep 2009
4,885 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexjschauer View Post
Order one now before they go out of stock!
(But first maybe sell the sabre??)
Or plow it in to the ground intentionally
I'm in no hurry, I have plenty of things to fly. And now this time of year who knows how much opportunity there will be to fly. Right now I have 18 flyable airframes, and four more to build. Once I thin the herd I'll start getting more serious. But this is definitely on the list.
jetinteriorguy is offline Find More Posts by jetinteriorguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:06 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetinteriorguy View Post
I'm in no hurry, I have plenty of things to fly. And now this time of year who knows how much opportunity there will be to fly. Right now I have 18 flyable airframes, and four more to build. Once I thin the herd I'll start getting more serious. But this is definitely on the list.
Repeat after me...

My name is "jetinteriorguy" and I have a problem..."

I currently have a 71" Slick, 58" Edge, 57" SC, 48" Super Vyper, UMX 3D Sbach, UMX 3D Beast, QQ Edge, and a Crack Yak and I already get RC ADD every time I'm heading out to fly.
turnerm is online now Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:12 PM
Registered User
Burke, VA
Joined Sep 2009
4,885 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm View Post
Repeat after me...

My name is "jetinteriorguy" and I have a problem..."

I currently have a 71" Slick, 58" Edge, 57" SC, 48" Super Vyper, UMX 3D Sbach, UMX 3D Beast, QQ Edge, and a Crack Yak and I already get RC ADD every time I'm heading out to fly.
My name is Jetinteriorguy and I have a problem, not enough time to fly.
jetinteriorguy is offline Find More Posts by jetinteriorguy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 02:58 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,434 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyC View Post
I don't know if it was signal loss or what. All servos work fine now.

I do know that it sucks to have my favorite plane smashed all to hell.
Sorry about the plane. Did you have adequate power to your servos... Could possibly be a brown out. What BEC and servos you running? Free of binding? Also was it cold out... Tends to increase servo load.
bryansifsof44 is offline Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Need New 3d Plane from Previes gear. NoMercy 3D Flying 2 Jun 06, 2006 04:07 AM
New 3D planes from GWS? assib GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 4 Feb 24, 2005 12:34 AM
Sneak Peak At NEW 3D Plane from Dick Rankin thechosen1one Foamies (Kits) 5 Oct 11, 2004 01:27 PM
New 3D Planes from Fliton LTChip Parkflyers 1 Jun 19, 2003 02:17 PM
New "3D Aircraft" Discussion Group Proposal Tim H. Foamies (Kits) 1 May 02, 2003 09:57 PM