HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 23, 2008, 10:05 PM
saginaw michigan
Joined Sep 2007
27 Posts
Discussion
HZ supercub and PZ spitfire battery questions

Hello - I am new to this and I have been flying a supercub, and have a spitfire waiting to be flown. I did a forums search but couldn't find my answer.

I have two batteries for the supercub. When fully charged, one always has much more power than the other - is it just worn out? How long do these stock batteries last?

My PZ Spitfire has 3 stock batteries and no charger. Do I have to use a Parkzone charger, or can I somehow get a different charger and switch the connectors out? If so, what connectors do I need? Or would anyone just recommend a battery upgrade?

If someone could tell me how to get better flight times and power with stock motor that would be cool, thanks Ian
saginawian is offline Find More Posts by saginawian
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 23, 2008, 11:24 PM
Rocket Programmer
United States, AZ, Mesa
Joined Jul 2007
25,393 Posts
It is hard to upgrade a Super Cub - you're looking at a whole new flight system if you want to change anything. It can be done, but it's a complete overhaul. Many people take the opportunity to add ailerons to it if they bother to upgrade it.

If the batteries are exactly the same, and they have drastically different behavior, then one of them is probably worn out. Nicad packs can be 'refreshed' by draining them all the way down and then charging them up again - and I mean all the way down to zero power left. DO NOT do that with Lipos - it will ruin it forever.

Take your batteries to your hobby shop and they will help you find a universal charger that will work. You will likely have to solder a connector onto the charger, so you won't have to change the batteries, just put the proper plug on the charger.