HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 14, 2008, 09:22 AM
Still a noob
London
Joined Mar 2008
90 Posts
Discussion
Saito 82a 4-Stroke Compression question and starting prob.

When I turn over the engine by hand there is virtually none (compression) I hear the piston rising but there is virtually no force needed on the prop to do it.

Is that how it is? (I'm new to glow) If memory serves this is how it was when I installed the engine anyway and it did run fine.

I ask because this is a new engine and after running it in (3 tanks, rich, 100% by the manual, used an optical tach) it no longer starts.

I have changed all hoses, plugs, reset needles to factory settings, blown through fuel hose to get small air from low end and more from high end. A tip I read here actually!

Glow start is good, fully charged etc.

I've tried everything I can think off to get this thing started.

Using an electric starter so any help on this would be great because I'm really starting to wish I stayed with Electric

Cheers Guys,

Alex
Axel40 is offline Find More Posts by Axel40
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 14, 2008, 10:02 AM
United States, TX, Weatherford
Joined Dec 2006
1,635 Posts
Well, is the glow plug any good? I have had glow plugs in four strokes get fouled in the second or third time I ran it because the oil content was so high. Had to keep the glow ignitor on just to keep it running, it was running so rich. So if it is not starting, your glow plug may be dead, open, or so coated with burnt oil it can not function.

Back to you original question, low compression. Since it is a four stroke, did you check the valve (tapet) clearance. If the gap has opened up, then the timing is off. Take the valve tappet covers off and check the clearance. Saito usually gives you the little feeler (go, no-go) gauges to make this adjustment. It also supplies the wrenches and the instruction manual gives the instructions on how to do this procedure.