SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 02, 2008, 04:37 PM
Someone is going to get wet...
mudman1959's Avatar
The Mitt
Joined Oct 2007
1,023 Posts
Careful!
Spektrum DX6I Binding

I just recently bought a Spektrum DX6I and found out that the Male binding plug does not come with the radio. After talking with Horizon, I was told to put the binding plug that was supplied... Female, into the battery slot and connect my battery to any open channel slot. Make sure to have the motor disconnected before trying the binding process... runaways are no fun!!! Then Hold the trainer switch and turn on the radio, this is the same as if you were to do it as the manual tells you to do. I believe the seven channel radio came with both plugs. According to Horizon they will be changing the manual soon.... Lee
mudman1959 is offline Find More Posts by mudman1959
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 02, 2008, 05:25 PM
S.A.D. member
ivanc's Avatar
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
9,635 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudman1959
I just recently bought a Spektrum DX6I and found out that the Male binding plug does not come with the radio. After talking with Horizon, I was told to put the binding plug that was supplied... Female, into the battery slot and connect my battery to any open channel slot. Make sure to have the motor disconnected before trying the binding process... runaways are no fun!!! Then Hold the trainer switch and turn on the radio, this is the same as if you were to do it as the manual tells you to do. I believe the seven channel radio came with both plugs. According to Horizon they will be changing the manual soon.... Lee
My "seven channel radio" (DX7) also came with a female bind plug only. Needless to say the manual describes the use of a male bind plug only.

Ivan
ivanc is offline Find More Posts by ivanc
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 26, 2008, 09:50 PM
Registered User
Upstate NY
Joined Oct 2008
1 Posts
Binding DX6i

My Brand new Spektrum DX6i came with a male binding plug....I can not seem to get the radio and receiver bound. I read about every thread and nothing seems to work. Should I order the Female binding plug? Also I am totally new at RC helicopters.
CntryHwkHeliNB is offline Find More Posts by CntryHwkHeliNB
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2008, 10:14 PM
S.A.D. member
ivanc's Avatar
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
9,635 Posts
A female bind plug will not help you. Especially if you don't use or have a switch with a charge jack.

Unsuccessful binding is usually caused by not following the binding procedure. I recommend to ALWAYS use a charged 4.8V or 6.0V battery connected to any slot but the BAT/BIND. With the tranny off and the battery still disconnected:

1. Connect at least one servo (one servo is more than enough for initial binding) - for example to the THRO channel.

2. Plug in the male bind plug into the BAT/BIND port of the receiver.

3. Plug in the battery to any open channel. The receiver (satellite included if the receiver has one) MUST start to blink. If it does not then either you didn't follow properly steps 1 through 3 or the battery is not charged.

4. With the receiver on and blinking - center the sticks on the transmitter, put the throttle to its minimum position (all the way down) and engage and hold the trainer/bind switch (top left on the transmitter). While holding the trainer/bind switch turn on the transmitter. DO NOT RELEASE THE TRAINER/BIND SWITCH.

5. Keep holding the trainer/bind switch until the lights on the receiver come on solid. They will first turn off then will blink, turn off then come on solid. It may take one minute or even longer so be patient. Do not move the sticks while holding the trainer bind switch.

6. Make sure the servo works when moving the corresponding stick on the tranny.

7. Remove the bind plug before disconnecting the battery. Disconnect the battery, turn off the transmitter.

8. Turn back on the transmitter, connect the battery to the receiver. Wait for the light(s) on the receiver(s) to come on solid. Test the radio.

Try the above sequence and if it does not work let us know in which step it gets screwed.

Ivan
ivanc is offline Find More Posts by ivanc
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 28, 2008, 09:21 PM
FLY ANGRY
FIXXIN2FLY's Avatar
United States, IL, Roscoe
Joined Jul 2008
5,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanc
A female bind plug will not help you. Especially if you don't use or have a switch with a charge jack.

Unsuccessful binding is usually caused by not following the binding procedure. I recommend to ALWAYS use a charged 4.8V or 6.0V battery connected to any slot but the BAT/BIND. With the tranny off and the battery still disconnected:

1. Connect at least one servo (one servo is more than enough for initial binding) - for example to the THRO channel.

2. Plug in the male bind plug into the BAT/BIND port of the receiver.

3. Plug in the battery to any open channel. The receiver (satellite included if the receiver has one) MUST start to blink. If it does not then either you didn't follow properly steps 1 through 3 or the battery is not charged.

4. With the receiver on and blinking - center the sticks on the transmitter, put the throttle to its minimum position (all the way down) and engage and hold the trainer/bind switch (top left on the transmitter). While holding the trainer/bind switch turn on the transmitter. DO NOT RELEASE THE TRAINER/BIND SWITCH.

5. Keep holding the trainer/bind switch until the lights on the receiver come on solid. They will first turn off then will blink, turn off then come on solid. It may take one minute or even longer so be patient. Do not move the sticks while holding the trainer bind switch.

6. Make sure the servo works when moving the corresponding stick on the tranny.

7. Remove the bind plug before disconnecting the battery. Disconnect the battery, turn off the transmitter.

8. Turn back on the transmitter, connect the battery to the receiver. Wait for the light(s) on the receiver(s) to come on solid. Test the radio.

Try the above sequence and if it does not work let us know in which step it gets screwed.

Ivan
Actually its the other way around. It IS the female plug that you plug into the rx for the binding process. If it was a male binding plug it would NOT plug into the rx due to the fact that the rx has three pins sticking up that you plug onto on each port.
FIXXIN2FLY is offline Find More Posts by FIXXIN2FLY
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2008, 09:27 PM
FLY ANGRY
FIXXIN2FLY's Avatar
United States, IL, Roscoe
Joined Jul 2008
5,023 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CntryHwkHeliNB
My Brand new Spektrum DX6i came with a male binding plug....I can not seem to get the radio and receiver bound. I read about every thread and nothing seems to work. Should I order the Female binding plug? Also I am totally new at RC helicopters.
If you are binding a rx with the pins sticking up you WILL NEED A FEMALE plug. You can order one or someone at your flying field may give you an extra one of theirs. Most folks using spektrum for any period of time at all have accumulated more than a few due to the fact that you get one (supposed to anyways) with every radio or receiver that you buy. If not you can always ask your local hobby shop for one, If theyre any kind of business people at all they will GIVE you one. After all your system is virtually useless without it. F2F
FIXXIN2FLY is offline Find More Posts by FIXXIN2FLY
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2008, 04:15 PM
S.A.D. member
ivanc's Avatar
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
9,635 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIXXIN2FLY
If you are binding a rx with the pins sticking up you WILL NEED A FEMALE plug.
. . .
In RC the terms "male" and "female" when applied to servo connectors are reversed. I'm an electronics engineer and yes, you're correct that the gender of the terminals (pins vs. sockets) determines the gender of the connector. But our servo connectors use housings of "opposite gender" to the terminals. For the non-specialist the housing determines the gender, that is why the servo connectors (at the end of the servo wire) are called male even though they use sockets (female) for terminals.

Ivan
ivanc is offline Find More Posts by ivanc
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by ivanc; Oct 29, 2008 at 04:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2008, 11:20 PM
Canadian Bacon
flypaper 2's Avatar
Kingston, Canada
Joined Jun 2004
13,172 Posts
To make your own bind plug, take an old servo connector and put a jumper wire across the two outside terminals and you have a bind plug.

Gord
flypaper 2 is online now Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2009, 10:11 AM
Registered User
Phnom Penh
Joined Aug 2008
9 Posts
[QUOTE=ivanc]A female bind plug will not help you. Especially if you don't use or have a switch with a charge jack.

Unsuccessful binding is usually caused by not following the binding procedure. I recommend to ALWAYS use a charged 4.8V or 6.0V battery connected to any slot but the BAT/BIND. With the tranny off and the battery still disconnected:

Ivan - I am based in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. Today I walked into the local model shop and bought a Spektrum DX6i but I could not get the binding process done. Many thanks for the detailed steps that you provided. I got it working now. Now I have to learn to fly myself....
Rgds
daniel
dalkhaw is offline Find More Posts by dalkhaw
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2009, 08:09 AM
Friendly Neighbourhood Tooom
Tooom's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
197 Posts
Does this binding process not work if a servo is not plugged in?
Tooom is offline Find More Posts by Tooom
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2009, 08:43 AM
Canadian Bacon
flypaper 2's Avatar
Kingston, Canada
Joined Jun 2004
13,172 Posts
Yes, everything can be plugged in. Batt. can be plugged in anywhere but the batt. channel that is required for the bind plug.

Gord.
flypaper 2 is online now Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 05:00 PM
Professional RC Crash Pilot
eghershey's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
475 Posts
Similar problem
6100 receiver, DX6I transmitter- 2 servos and brushless speed control.
Seems like 90% of the time when trying to fly this airplane, I have to re-bind it to the transmitter.
I have 4 other planes, 1 other with the 6100 receiver and other recievers that never have a problem.
eghershey is offline Find More Posts by eghershey
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2009, 09:09 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,949 Posts
I've answered with a likely cause of your problem in your other post on this subject. But the answer is also here. See the post from ivanc October 2008 and follow his procedure carefully.
Daedalus66 is online now Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2009, 10:45 PM
Boeinator
Joined Jul 2009
1 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanc
A female bind plug will not help you. Especially if you don't use or have a switch with a charge jack.

Unsuccessful binding is usually caused by not following the binding procedure. I recommend to ALWAYS use a charged 4.8V or 6.0V battery connected to any slot but the BAT/BIND. With the tranny off and the battery still disconnected:

1. Connect at least one servo (one servo is more than enough for initial binding) - for example to the THRO channel.

2. Plug in the male bind plug into the BAT/BIND port of the receiver.

3. Plug in the battery to any open channel. The receiver (satellite included if the receiver has one) MUST start to blink. If it does not then either you didn't follow properly steps 1 through 3 or the battery is not charged.

4. With the receiver on and blinking - center the sticks on the transmitter, put the throttle to its minimum position (all the way down) and engage and hold the trainer/bind switch (top left on the transmitter). While holding the trainer/bind switch turn on the transmitter. DO NOT RELEASE THE TRAINER/BIND SWITCH.

5. Keep holding the trainer/bind switch until the lights on the receiver come on solid. They will first turn off then will blink, turn off then come on solid. It may take one minute or even longer so be patient. Do not move the sticks while holding the trainer bind switch.

6. Make sure the servo works when moving the corresponding stick on the tranny.

7. Remove the bind plug before disconnecting the battery. Disconnect the battery, turn off the transmitter.

8. Turn back on the transmitter, connect the battery to the receiver. Wait for the light(s) on the receiver(s) to come on solid. Test the radio.

Try the above sequence and if it does not work let us know in which step it gets screwed.

Ivan
Thanks so much! It works! I only got a male bind plug in mine and the manual says to hook it up to the "charge" plug which is a male plug, which doesn't work. This works very well.

Thanks!
cyclones38 is offline Find More Posts by cyclones38
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2009, 10:04 AM
S.A.D. member
ivanc's Avatar
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
9,635 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tooom
Does this binding process not work if a servo is not plugged in?
I might be a bit late answering this Q , but here it is anyways.

The bind process will work regardless of any servos plugged in or not. But if a servo (or more than one) is connected you can run the test (step 6) to make sure it responds to the transmitter.

Ivan
ivanc is offline Find More Posts by ivanc
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo Binding the Blade CX2 to the Spektrum DX6i (Blade 400) CallMeNick Coaxial Helicopters 102 Feb 25, 2014 08:27 PM
Discussion Binding the Parkzone 210 with a Spektrum DX6i marine_tanker Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Mar 29, 2008 01:13 PM
Discussion Spektrum DX7-binding an AR6200 without a receiver battery dpoles Parkflyers 2 Sep 08, 2007 05:15 PM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100 binding droid Scale Kit/Scratch Built 2 May 27, 2007 02:06 PM
Discussion Spektrum DX3 Binding issues pimp_squeak Car Talk 3 Mar 05, 2007 06:14 PM