Closed Thread
Old Mar 28, 2008, 08:46 PM
Suspended Account
north Texas
Joined Feb 2008
84 Posts
Discussion
My new Aquacrafts won't go in reverse !

I am brand new to R/C boats--R/C anything. I have two right out of the box RTR boats: the Atlantic Tug and the Bristol Bay. Neither of them, in normal prop rotation direction setting on the radio, will operate in reverse ! The two work well, counterclockwise (naturally), but when I push forward the trigger on my transmitter they both stop and then begin a slow, noisy, and intermitted sputtering in the other direction; that's all. The Bristol Bay sometimes won't even do that. It stops, period. FWIW, the BB also runs alot louder and furiously than the tug does, in *forward.

I've monkeyed for two days with the throttle trim control, and everything else there is to look into (that I can think of), until by this point I am about to lose my mind. I'm very discouraged. Have I got $ 400+ of garbage or am I, ignorantly, to blame ? What am I missing, that has to be so obvious, that only a total noob would not get ?! To make matters worse, I have a third: the King's Ransom, in a corner, yet untried. So, I am in a bit of a panic. I don't want to rebox and send them back to Hobbico for warranty servicing. I can't (now) return them to Tower and Wholesaletrains. Surely both aren't having an ESC problem; what are the odds ? I am using 6 cell, 7.2 volt, 3000 NiMH batteries.
gatorgarfish is offline Find More Posts by gatorgarfish
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 28, 2008, 08:51 PM
Veni, Vidi, Feci
Motor City
Joined Dec 2004
12,355 Posts
I'm afraid it's typical. Many of us have tossed the stock ESC and radio and used "normal" hardware instead.
The Aquacrap (sorry, but what a deal they offer us...) radio and ESC seem to be biased "off center", perhaps in an attempt to limit reverse speed... but many/all seem to be so severely limited in reverse as to be unusable.

Pat M
patmat2350 is offline Find More Posts by patmat2350