HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 03, 2012, 02:49 PM
jrb
Member
jrb's Avatar
Edina, MN, USA
Joined Oct 1999
11,433 Posts
FYI: both the Linear & Switching Radio Shack PS have an output ripple spec of 150 mV RMS.
jrb is offline Find More Posts by jrb
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 03, 2012, 05:01 PM
Registered User
choopi's Avatar
New Brunswick
Joined Feb 2006
1,251 Posts
Just a quick question, I got a 106b+ and when I charge 6s 4000-5000mah (big pack) after the pack are charged, I checked the individual cell for voltage, this what I'm getting
1-4.19
2-4.19
3-4.19
4- 4.15
5-4.29
6-3.99
this is an average voltage but usually 5-6 are the strange voltage. Is this normal? My pack are still in good shape, average 20 cycles each.
choopi is offline Find More Posts by choopi
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2012, 05:09 PM
can't buy vaporware
7oneWo1f's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Nov 2011
8,490 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by choopi View Post
Just a quick question, I got a 106b+ and when I charge 6s 4000-5000mah (big pack) after the pack are charged, I checked the individual cell for voltage, this what I'm getting
1-4.19
2-4.19
3-4.19
4- 4.15
5-4.29
6-3.99
this is an average voltage but usually 5-6 are the strange voltage. Is this normal? My pack are still in good shape, average 20 cycles each.
What are you using to check? If a cell checker, only take the first cell, then remove, and shift up, from ground to 6S. Hope that makes sense. Otherwise, try a DVM and see if your measurements are consistent.
7oneWo1f is online now Find More Posts by 7oneWo1f
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 03, 2012, 05:22 PM
Registered User
choopi's Avatar
New Brunswick
Joined Feb 2006
1,251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by N6145k View Post
What are you using to check? If a cell checker, only take the first cell, then remove, and shift up, from ground to 6S. Hope that makes sense. Otherwise, try a DVM and see if your measurements are consistent.
I checked on the charger itself, and it closer to 4.19 to each cell! I was using this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...itor_2_6S.html
and this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Analyzer_.html

Not so accurate I guess!
choopi is offline Find More Posts by choopi
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 10:44 AM
Registered User
United States, MN
Joined Feb 2011
4,376 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by choopi View Post
I checked on the charger itself, and it closer to 4.19 to each cell! I was using this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...itor_2_6S.html
and this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Analyzer_.html

Not so accurate I guess!
Did you read the description on your first link? Right on the page it says:
Quote:
This item is not accurate enough for precise cell balance checking. It is to be used to check battery charge status.
Lol they know what they are selling is crap.
grimbeaver is offline Find More Posts by grimbeaver
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 12:04 PM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,362 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by choopi View Post
I checked on the charger itself, and it closer to 4.19 to each cell! I was using this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...itor_2_6S.html
and this:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Analyzer_.html!
Did you get the same result on both? If so, you should check with a DVM on each cell and compare with the voltages displayed on the charger. Sometimes chargers needs to be recalibrated.

Fred.
flarssen is online now Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 04, 2012, 07:27 PM
Registered User
choopi's Avatar
New Brunswick
Joined Feb 2006
1,251 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flarssen View Post
Did you get the same result on both? If so, you should check with a DVM on each cell and compare with the voltages displayed on the charger. Sometimes chargers needs to be recalibrated.

Fred.

It's all good! It was the bat checker from Hk! False alert!
choopi is offline Find More Posts by choopi
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 11:05 PM
Team Hillbilly 🐘💨
bullittjeff's Avatar
United States, OH, Canal Winchester
Joined Feb 2010
960 Posts
Finally got a 306b from ep buddy and couldn't be happier. The balancing is awesome and precise. Nothing but good things to say here
bullittjeff is online now Find More Posts by bullittjeff
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 11:32 PM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,103 Posts
Hi All

I'm currently lookng at a new PSU as I just blew up my trusty 23A 300w unit.

Was looking on the progressiveRC site and found the PRC500 unit that could fit my bill.

Can this unit handle 2x 106B+ chargers each charging 6S@10A?

Cheers
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 11:40 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
United States, CA, Westminster
Joined Mar 2010
1,696 Posts
Not quite.
It says a 6S at 17AMPS.
I would think 2 chargers would be half that each.
About 8.5AMPS each charger.
TheWoodCrafter is offline Find More Posts by TheWoodCrafter
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 11:50 PM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,103 Posts
Thats what I thought. I did read that too but just wanted to ask the question as the chargers can only do a max of 250w at 13.5v

I wonder what its max watt/A is at 13.5v
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 12:04 AM
Registered User
So. Cal.
Joined Oct 2004
8,371 Posts
250 watts max. when input voltage >13.5V

Excerpt from manual:
mrforsyth is offline Find More Posts by mrforsyth
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 12:09 AM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,103 Posts
Sorry I meant

I wonder what its max watt/A is at 13.5v of the PRC500 unit

I think I have worked it out
Max A is 33A or 500W

So at 13.5 x 33A = 445W
And At 15v x 33A = 500W
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 12:15 AM
Registered User
So. Cal.
Joined Oct 2004
8,371 Posts
Ahhh, gotcha. Sorry about that.

I was under the impression that the PRC500 had output voltage fixed at 15V but I could be mistaken.

Mark
mrforsyth is offline Find More Posts by mrforsyth
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 06, 2012, 12:21 AM
Just fly
evltoy's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Glen Waverley
Joined Jan 2011
2,103 Posts
Mark -I never thought about the fix voltage on the PRC500! Sounds like this may not suit me.

If anyone has the time can they comment on this PSU and tell me if this would fit my needs.
http://www.radioparts.com.au/ProdVie...C+POWER+SUPPLY
evltoy is offline Find More Posts by evltoy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best charger/discharger $ can buy namancio Batteries and Chargers 30 Jan 31, 2010 03:52 PM
Power Pacer Battery charger/discharger ACE_McCOOL Batteries and Chargers 4 Oct 22, 2002 01:39 PM
NIB Hitec CG-325 Charger/Discharger/Cycler for 4-9 cells - $39! Jason M Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Oct 03, 2002 04:29 AM
WTB Good charger/discharger 10 + cells WickedFunRC Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 05, 2002 09:55 PM