Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 06, 2009, 07:57 PM
iCharger
junsi's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
1,080 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Bergman
Also are there any plans for the pc connection to control the charger?
Hello Bill,

Thank you for your appreciation. But sorry to say that now we do not have any plan for the pc connection to control the charger.

Regards,
Junsi
junsi is online now Find More Posts by junsi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 06, 2009, 08:07 PM
Registered User
Houston, Tx.
Joined Jan 2003
3,650 Posts
Thank for the reply Junsi, pc control is not that big of a deal when it comes to just charging batteries
Bill Bergman is offline Find More Posts by Bill Bergman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2009, 08:25 PM
I think I like vanilla...
grimgrinnin's Avatar
USA, AZ, Surprise
Joined May 2007
836 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by write2dgray
Nope, that shouldn't be it. What type of power supply are you using and what gauge charge leads are you using (both at battery and from charger)?

- David
Ding ding ding!
I re-wired my A123 pack with 10 gage wire, and it'll now charge up to 10 Amps.


Thanks!
grimgrinnin is offline Find More Posts by grimgrinnin
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2009, 08:41 PM
iCharger
junsi's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
1,080 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzalix
I can not get much from logview as my conection breakdown comes just few seconds after I confirm the number of cells and before the display show the charging process.

It happens too in the storage or discharge modes, balance chg, fast charge, etc.

I f i go for Monitor mode I can see that the input Voltage switches between 13,957 and 13,963 volts normally each 6 seconds, but not always each 6 seconds. It is a Ripmax Pro-Peak regulated power supply 13.8 volt 0-20 Amps.
Hello gonzalix,

Would you pls change a steady input power supply and have a try? Or you can use a Lead-acid accumulator. Pls tell us the result after you test it.

Regards,
Junsi
junsi is online now Find More Posts by junsi
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2009, 10:38 PM
Registered User
Sydney, Australia
Joined Feb 2009
27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostya
I am sorry...
Probably it was discussed.. But I could not find it...

Can I take this twin 2x3S->6S cable
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/...ead_(2_x_3S)6S_
to charge two 3S batteries with 106B+ charger?

Is there any reason not to do it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueAngel2000
You can use it, but not for more than about 2A charge current.
Thanks. Is it much slower then a single battery current? What current can I use for a single battery?
Kostya is offline Find More Posts by Kostya
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2009, 10:48 PM
Registered User
Melbourne, Australia
Joined May 2006
6,407 Posts
Up to 10A. The rate at which you charge a battery depends on many factors including the chemistry, capacity, quality, rating and your preferences to trade off speed of charging for battery lifetime.
kgfly is online now Find More Posts by kgfly
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2009, 11:41 PM
Registered User
Sydney, Australia
Joined Feb 2009
27 Posts
Oh, sorry
I was talking about 2200 mah 3S LiPo 20C battery. Really don't know what is recommended current for it.
Kostya is offline Find More Posts by Kostya
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 12:05 AM
Registered User
Slovakia
Joined Apr 2005
3,386 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostya
Oh, sorry
I was talking about 2200 mah 3S LiPo 20C battery. Really don't know what is recommended current for it.
Do You mean it really seriously?
I think that then You really should read the sticky at the top of this forum!
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209187
coro is offline Find More Posts by coro
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 08:20 AM
Registered User
Sydney, Australia
Joined Feb 2009
27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by coro
Do You mean it really seriously?
I think that then You really should read the sticky at the top of this forum!
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209187
Sorry for a stupid question. Read a lot in past few days. But not everything.
Thank you for pointing in a right direction.
Kostya is offline Find More Posts by Kostya
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2008
158 Posts
What is a reasonable charger temperature?

deleted
ayash is offline Find More Posts by ayash
Last edited by ayash; Mar 07, 2009 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 12:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2005
112 Posts
With the wire cutter feature, it seems we could use this basically as a variable power supply. For example I have some LEDs that need a very specific current. I should be able to use the 1010B+ to drive at a specific current.

I wouldn't be damaging the charger doing this would I?
magudaman is offline Find More Posts by magudaman
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 01:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2007
9 Posts
Quote:
Hello gonzalix,

Would you pls change a steady input power supply and have a try? Or you can use a Lead-acid accumulator. Pls tell us the result after you test it.

Regards,
Junsi

Just tried with a lead-acid accumulator and the problem persists.

Regards
gonzalix is offline Find More Posts by gonzalix
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 01:45 PM
Wyn
VoltMagic
Wyn's Avatar
Joined Apr 2007
101 Posts
Gonzalix, is there any possibility that the main charge leads (from the banana jacks at the charger) have an intermittent/poor connection somewhere? Perhaps this charger is more sensitive to alarm for this then other chargers.
Wyn is offline Find More Posts by Wyn
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 02:22 PM
Proud to eat Kraut ;-)
Julez's Avatar
Germany
Joined Dec 2003
5,194 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by magudaman
With the wire cutter feature, it seems we could use this basically as a variable power supply. For example I have some LEDs that need a very specific current. I should be able to use the 1010B+ to drive at a specific current.

I wouldn't be damaging the charger doing this would I?
Hi!

I tried this too, but it did not work. Before switching on, the charger produces a small voltage like 0.5V. When it senses current then, it ramps up the voltage.
But .5V is not enough to power any LEDs, so no current.


Anyhow, I was at the field today and charged a couple of A123 Packs, and I like the 3.09 update a lot. The fan is quieter now, and I did not get any errors, too.

Thanks, Junsi!

Cheers,

Julez
Julez is offline Find More Posts by Julez
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 07, 2009, 02:31 PM
ProgressiveRC
write2dgray's Avatar
Seattle, WA
Joined Dec 2006
1,996 Posts
Yes, I have noticed as well that the fan speed is GREATLY reduced or turned off completely now with v3.09 during all of the different charges I have performed. Internal temp. is still kept well under control. Excellent job Jun-Si!

- David
write2dgray is offline Find More Posts by write2dgray
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best charger/discharger $ can buy namancio Batteries and Chargers 30 Jan 31, 2010 02:52 PM
Power Pacer Battery charger/discharger ACE_McCOOL Batteries and Chargers 4 Oct 22, 2002 12:39 PM
NIB Hitec CG-325 Charger/Discharger/Cycler for 4-9 cells - $39! Jason M Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Oct 03, 2002 03:29 AM
WTB Good charger/discharger 10 + cells WickedFunRC Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 05, 2002 08:55 PM