HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 05, 2008, 04:26 AM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
Discussion
Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100?

Hello guys,

Does anyone know what the difference is between both the Spektrum AR6100 and the Spektrum AR6100E?

And they will work on cars right? No need to buy the expensive 3chan car RX right?


Thanks. Please respond ASAP.
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2008, 07:07 PM
Test Pilot, Stand Clear
eatmydirt's Avatar
USA, OH, Mt Vernon
Joined Mar 2007
1,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex
Hello guys,

Does anyone know what the difference is between both the Spektrum AR6100 and the Spektrum AR6100E?

And they will work on cars right? No need to buy the expensive 3chan car RX right?


Thanks. Please respond ASAP.
The only difference I can see is one has plugs on the end and the other has plugs on top.

Are you trying to run a car with a DX7? Just get an old DX3 or DX2 on ebay. The RX that those come with can take more of a beating than the air rx's. It's the perfect radio for surface vehicles.
eatmydirt is offline Find More Posts by eatmydirt
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 06, 2008, 02:07 AM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
Yeah I think the "e" must stand for end. I guess I'll just get the e one then as I can aways use it in the future with one of my helis.

I don't really want to get a DX3, they sure look nice though. I'm more of just a fun car user.


So the main difference is just toughness? If I was to pad the AR6100E well wouldn't it be fine?
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2008, 12:36 PM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
Bump, can anyone help me, I've got to get the RX soon. Thanks guys.


Would the AR6100E be ok in a car? The aerials come out the side (Non exposed), would they be okay still?
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 08, 2008, 02:39 PM
24 yrs. of Aircraft flying
epoweredrc's Avatar
United States, GA, Rockmart
Joined Oct 2004
5,722 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technex
Bump, can anyone help me, I've got to get the RX soon. Thanks guys.


Would the AR6100E be ok in a car? The aerials come out the side (Non exposed), would they be okay still?
those RX's are for airplanes, I fly planes but drive rc trucks also. I would not use one but if your that hard up go for it, i would get some foam pad and wrap it really good. They are made for park flyer planes but fly the heck out of my planes just held with velcro good luck.

Oh yeah, Don't tell the FCC what your doing, your not supposed to use air radios in surface toys and vise versa.
epoweredrc is offline Find More Posts by epoweredrc
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2008, 05:06 AM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
I understand, but I just wanted to know what the difference is before paying the extra 30 pounds (~60$)...

Any issues with reception?

I understand the car one has a longer aerial and is built more robust (I can fix that with foam as you say).


I mean if they survive heli crashes then they must be strong! Just vibrations I guess.

Thanks for your help.
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2008, 07:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2008
9 Posts
It will not work. The car transmitter is dsm...the 6100, 6100e are dsm2.

The car transmitter should work with a ar6000 though.
NitroDave is offline Find More Posts by NitroDave
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2008, 08:05 AM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
I'm using it with the DX7. Sorry should have mentioned. DX7 is DSM2 and will work with all RX's.
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2008, 04:59 PM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
Anyone? Please? Read above for info. Car is coming tomorrow, I need to order a RX from the USA so the sooner the better.

Cheers guys.
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2008, 05:54 PM
My Rhino
jjlaxdog's Avatar
Southern California
Joined Oct 2007
704 Posts
Buy the one that is not the e so that itll fit in the reciever box with the battery.
jjlaxdog is offline Find More Posts by jjlaxdog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2008, 06:26 PM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
Yeah I had a thought about that, I was going to pick up the e one as it would be more handy in helis if the car doesn't work out. Although I'm sure it will.


I'll get the standard one then. Any differences between the insides?
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2008, 07:37 PM
My Rhino
jjlaxdog's Avatar
Southern California
Joined Oct 2007
704 Posts
Not that i know about
jjlaxdog is offline Find More Posts by jjlaxdog
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2008, 11:24 PM
Test Pilot, Stand Clear
eatmydirt's Avatar
USA, OH, Mt Vernon
Joined Mar 2007
1,371 Posts
So how's that working for you Technex?
eatmydirt is offline Find More Posts by eatmydirt
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 12:40 AM
Registered User
oldschoolvdub's Avatar
Santa Maria, CA
Joined Oct 2007
332 Posts
OK so I'm confused. You are using the DX-7 to drive the RC cars...?
oldschoolvdub is offline Find More Posts by oldschoolvdub
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2008, 01:39 PM
LaurenceGough's Avatar
Reading, UK
Joined Sep 2007
6,371 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eatmydirt
So how's that working for you Technex?
Don't have it yet.


And yes, the DX7 is a great quality transmitter, one of the best.

I would have to use throttle/braking on the right stick and steering on the left, not a problem for me though. (due to left stick being non-spring)

Well guys any differences on the insides at all?
LaurenceGough is offline Find More Posts by LaurenceGough
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum AR6100 Rx versus AR6000 CTB Electric Plane Talk 41 Mar 22, 2008 12:21 PM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100 or AR6300 Rx in an SWII Kevlar Pod - Yes or No? donglass Hand Launch 6 Mar 05, 2008 12:54 PM
Help! Problems with Spektrum AR6100, I think xorbe Electric Plane Talk 4 Jan 10, 2007 08:18 AM
Help! Spektrum AR6100 issue or noisy ESC? xorbe Radios 6 Jan 09, 2007 07:53 PM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100 justs arrived at LHS trw43 Radios 3 Dec 23, 2006 01:27 PM